2000 Suzuki Esteem GL 1.6


Reliable and extremely cheap on gas


Replaced tires at 170,000 km.

Replaced lower control arms at 180,000.

General Comments:

Excellent car! Wonderful on gas, and extremely reliable (that's why I bought two!). The only reason I had to let the first one go (also a 2000) was because it was written off in an accident. I had that one for 2 years, and only changed the oil. The second one, I replaced the tires and the lower control arms. No other issues. Oil changed regularly, this car has given me some great years, but alas, another accident has meant that I will have to let this car rest.

Great handling in the city; okay handling at 110+ kmh. Fun to drive, really has a lot of zip. Love driving this car. If Suzuki still made it, I would buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2012

2000 Suzuki Esteem 1.8 gas




- right front shock absorber makes huge noises on even the smallest bumps - not changed yet

- radiator leaked had to be changed

- windshield is broken - not changed yet

- water infiltrations at right front door

- pretty big rust spots not pierced though

- back drum brake release spring sprang from its place.

General Comments:


I absolutely love the fact is an estate car. I needed a lot of space since I used to move my stuff to my new place. It is pretty easy on gas, not huge amounts of power though.


- radiator for 1.8 is only made by the mother company. The dealer asked 515 CAD just for the part. My mechanic used a second hand 1.6L to adapt it. It cost 180.

- rusted pretty early I guess.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2008

25th Sep 2008, 14:01

Update : I am now at 150000km.

The GOOD : Used the car during holidays. Enough space for camping equipment. Fuel consumption is good.

The BAD : During winter the right-door handle broke.. The windshield now has 2 big cracks. The dealer asks 500CAD for the windshield, just the price for the part. There is an engine oil leak from the seal between the engine and the transmission. The mechanic asks 600CAD to change the seal. Haven`t fixed those yet. But I still plan to keep the car.

15th Oct 2010, 14:59

At present time it looks like the radiator is available on eBay for less than $100 from many sources.

2000 Suzuki Esteem GL 1.6L


I couldn't be more happy with this car!


Only one thing has gone wrong with this car, and that's the Rear Bank O2 Sensor. It was a simple/cheap fix.

General Comments:

Fantastic little car. This is the second one I've owned, same year, same model, just a different colour. The only reason I had to get rid of the first one was because some guy t-boned me.

It handles very well, nice and zippy (enough for me...I'm not a sports car type of guy), my friends love it, and it's great on gas. Took this thing on many road trips, and have never had a problem with it. I live in Canada (Winnipeg...a very cold part of Canada), and it's stood up to -50 Celsius weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2008

2000 Suzuki Esteem




This car is a lemon I have had to fix it about every 6 months.

General Comments:

This car is junk and I will not get another Suzuki again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

4th Feb 2007, 04:41

You are right, my Suzuki esteem 1999 manual transmission broke three times, first at 45000, second at 57000, third time at 70000, now is junked for a year on my garage.

27th Aug 2009, 00:37

Yes, the Esteem 5 speed trannys have been a big problem. However the later model years (after 2000) seem to be a lot more reliable. Please don't refer to a car as junk unless you can describe what the problems are. Thanks.

6th Sep 2009, 19:16

Great car, we have owned Suzuki's for 16 years now, they are all great.