1987 Trabant 601 P601S De luxe 0.6 595cc 2 cylinder-2stroke

Summary:

The Trabant is actually a very effective and admirable design of efficiency

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with any of my Trabis, which I import into Canada. www.trabant.ca

General Comments:

One person can could lift the motor out of the car themselves, or that one could disassemble a Trabant down to the last screw, and then put it back together in there own garage, and not surprisingly it would work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

9th Jun 2004, 11:14

Could you take one apart and import it into the US in pieces?

9th Nov 2014, 03:02

You probably could.

A better question would be, why would you do this?

1987 Trabant 601 Delux 601S

Summary:

I think it's a great and fun car to drive

Faults:

On one of my Trabants, the rear axle broke off while I was driving.

I drove for 10 more km like that with no problems. It was an old 1972 Traby. Still runs great.

General Comments:

This car brings a smile to faces around the world, and I will always have a least two of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

9th Jan 2005, 12:16

I have a trabant here in Germany, and I love driving it so much. There is never a dull moment, and I've met lots of people as a result of having it. How in the heck are you guys driving them in America? I want to bring mine back, but it looks impossible until it is older than 67.

3rd May 2011, 13:35

The problem is, Trabants are smelly, underpowered, cramped, unsafe, and have poor handling.

1966 Trabant 601 2 cylinder 2 cycle

Summary:

Reliable communist relic

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Brought the Trabi back from Hungary legally in 1997 (because of US EPA emissions requirements, car had to be manufactured prior to 1968). Car is registered, has yearly inspection sticker in Texas and is insured. Is driven to work. Has reached speeds of 55 MPH. Because of its age, needs periodic replacement parts that we buy on trips to Hungary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

3rd Jul 2008, 15:42

Wow you drive this thing in Texas? Nice.

3rd Jun 2009, 21:41

In Texas? Where at? I'm looking for one to use with my U2 tribute Mysterious Ways in Austin.

www.mysteriouswaysband.com for more info.

1990 Trabant 601

Summary:

Simple is best...that's why I STILL drive a Trabant even in the USA!

Faults:

Since importing my Trabant to the USA in April of 2000, the only repairs required were new spark plugs every 6 months and a new battery. There have been no breakdowns or repairs needed and I understand that I am the ONLY person in the United States to have a Trabant registered AND driven daily as my only motor vehicle.

General Comments:

I replaced all 4 tires with Dunlops simply because I shipped the car from Germany fitted with snow tires. I spend $14 a month on regular unleaded gasoline which I mix 50:1 with Wal-Mart 2-Cycle Outboard Motor Oil and a lead additive. I live in the Ozark Mountains of Northern Arkansas and find my Trabant to be an excellent "in-town" car, but not well suited, due to speed limitations, for extensive hill climbing or long distance trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

24th Jul 2002, 09:26

I am looking for a Trabant to purchase here in the USA. If you could help me by telling me where you got it, how you got it over here and, I think I might be mistaken, but isn't 2-cycle illegal for autos?

Ryan (antifa7@yahoo.com)

14th Feb 2003, 02:52

I don't know about Trabants, but owners of DKW:s, which the Trabant engine is based on, says that their engines last longer when they drive on 4-stroke motor oil.

Though it will smell HORRIBLE!

1974 Trabant 601 2 cylinder

Summary:

The car is deserving of becoming a quirky classic

Faults:

Since purchasing the car the only thing to go wrong were:

1. The Battery had to be replaced.

2. One front ball joint had to be replaced.

AND

3. The gas tank had to be replaced due to rust after prolonged storage.

General Comments:

The Trabant has become a cult-auto and so regardless what minor, or for that matter major quirks it may have, owners will love them anyway.

The Trabant is so primitive in design that even a non-mechanically inclined person stands a good chance of figuring out why it won't start. Should repairs be necessary, they are also very easy to make.

Fuel consumption is amazingly low. I spend less than $20 a month for fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

11th Jul 2001, 23:11

How did you legally register a Trabi in the US? Even "Car and Driver" couldn't do it!

31st Jul 2001, 22:11

I would like to buy a Trabant and bring it to the United States but have been told that U.S. Customs will not allow one to be imported here. Would someone please email me with the rules and what to do to avoid any trouble?

Sonny@aic-fl.com.