Triumph TR8 Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 4

1981 Triumph TR8 Drophead 3.5 V8

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34456 miles
Most recent distance51232 miles
Previous carBMW Z4 Roadster

Summary:

There isn't a better buy around!

Faults:

So far no problems except to replace the seat covers which were terrible, even when new.

General Comments:

I got rid of my Z4 because I got tired of getting trashed by a 55 year old lady in her TR8 Coupe.

Out ran me, out handled me, even beat me at an auto cross.

So now I have an 81 DHC bought from the original owner.

Replaced the 13" wheels with 15" mini-lites. Refreshed and upgraded the suspension. Changed the two SU's for a Weber 4 BBL. on an Edlebrock manifold and put a stainless steel exhaust on it.

She Flies!!! I don't know where these guys are getting their information, but the only car I haven't been able to run with was the Z8. Everything else mentionmed and others that were not... BEATEN in every way.

I also have about $14,000 dollars in change from my trade to the TR8 AND its more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

22nd Jun 2012, 21:27

I can't believe a word of what you are saying, way over the limit of believability.

15th Oct 2012, 14:48

Put the crack pipe down... I have a TR8 that blows the doors off a Z8. The only car that gives me a run is my supercharged Mustang. Stop the HATING.

1980 Triumph TR8

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired900 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

This car is a blast to drive, but I wouldn't own another unless I bought it with the engine upgrades

Faults:

In the first year I owned this car, the pop-up headlights stopped popping. When the mechanic was testing the circuit, he left one light unhooked. This caused the wiring harness to short, and required extensive rewiring.

Gaskets and seals had minor leaks.

Distributor would die for no apparent reason. finally replaced with an after market ignition.

Transmission grease gradually leaked out. Inspection hole on trans gives false reading. Rebuilt transmission.

Carburetors would not idle down. Had to rebuild. Next time will replace with 4-barrel.

General Comments:

I have essentially owned this car since it was new. Even with the problems I've had, I still find it hard to consider selling it.

This car is very fast. I can't believe it is only supposed to have 135 hp. It hits 95+ mph through the quarter mile, and has a top speed of 125+ mph (top up).

I would recommend to anyone considering buying a TR8 to replace the carburetors, ignition and exhaust. Also, never touch any electronics unless you disconnect the battery first. (saves replacing burned out wiring harnesses)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

6th Jan 2005, 20:52

Hmm, wouldn't it be easier to just not buy a TR-8 in the first place?

You don't seem to have kept yours running enough to have put many miles on it...

6th Sep 2006, 13:54

I bought a TR8 in 1999. It would die for no apparent reason. After putting in an after market distributor (5 years ago), the TR8 has never failed me. The car took a few months to sort out all minor issues. The fun factor for the price can't be touched. I have about 7k into my car, it is a fun weekend car on nice days. Plus it can take a Miata and it isn't a dime a dozen Miata...

10th Dec 2007, 20:04

Ah, yes, the distributor. Went through a lot of rotors on my '80 TR8, for some reason the rotor would develop fractures, or just shatter, particularly when it was inconvenient. Replaced the whole distributor with one from a junked '66 Buick, just dropped right in, worked like a charm ever after.

16th Jun 2008, 15:20

Bought my TR8 in salvage condition. Has been extremely "challenging" to put right, but it runs like a scalded dog. I didn't even bother with the Strombergs, having had experience on my TR6. I would recommend putting in aftermarket ignition (available any local parts house), Four barrel and new intake (for 215 Buick) also available by catalog. For the money, the Falcon stainless exhaust is a good buy. Now I want a cam and headers. As far as the fellow who made the ugly comment about just not buying one... get a soulless Honda. You will be thrilled.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews