Triumph TR8 Reviews from North America - Page 3 of 4

1982 Triumph TR8 3.5 Rover

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Rover Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88600 kilometres
Most recent distance119200 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A cheap head turner; gets more looks than a Ferrari

Faults:

As one should expect, the bloody thing is over 23 years old; an old car will have problems.

Typical power steering leak. As well as just about every seal and gasket needed to be replaced for reliability, due to its age.

Hey, you'd do the same if you had an American machine of the same vintage.

General Comments:

As stated by others, and on the excellent web site http://www.tr8.com, this machine is a blast to drive.

Of course if you let the car sit for 10 years, you will have problems later.

The engine is very quick, provided one keeps up on the maintenance (oil changes, lube, etc.) religiously.

These motors don't like dirty oil, and will reward you with a damaged camshaft as well as gummed up internals. Expensive.

The good thing about the parts is that a lot of the engine ancillaries are American, and can be updated with better seals, alternators, aluminum radiator, neoprene bushings, uprated brakes, uprated struts, etc.

One just needs the time to fix it properly, and with all the wealth of info on the net, this makes it much easier, as well as inspirational.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

17th Jun 2004, 20:55

Looks by who? Most people can't tell the difference between a TR-8 and its more pedestrian sister the TR-7.

You want a car that gets looks, get a TR-6!

28th Jun 2004, 09:35

A TR6?! Why? they are everywhere.

A TR8 is truly a rarity. My FI is one of 600.

When properly maintained both internally and externally a TR8 is the best sporstcar value out there... it turns the head of most people I drive by... especially the TR6 owners as I pass them... gets 'em everytime...

Oh yea... and my Dad's Miata...

29th Aug 2004, 22:13

TR6?

Dime a dozen... not as fast, not as comfortable, not in the same league!!

Handles like a coal cart... slow to boot!

15th Sep 2004, 07:47

He's talking about head-turning potential, dummy.

A TR8 looks like a TR7. A TR6 looks like a TR6.

20th Oct 2005, 13:13

Pip pip good sir... For it was said and thus was spoken: The TR8 is a new breed relegating to the synchronicity of Roman empires, yet exuberant in it's simplicity. I can't name another without exerting good faith, and quiet whisky. Thus a possible quagmire of strolling boundaries has been hitherto forsaken. I salute you all, and congratulate you on a day well broken.

Anon.

3rd Apr 2006, 18:07

A TR6 is, as appropriately pointed out, a dime a dozen. Uncomfortable, undependable and underpowered.

Looks? Try parking a TR8 with a TR6, see which car people look at, talk about and want to see under the hood of. It ain't the 6 as we say in the South!

It is however, unfairly compared to the TR8. It's a fine car for what it is and was, but its not in the same league with a TR8 or even an MGB V8. ANY measurement of comparison you use that is subjective will show the TR6 as the loser. And yes, I have and love both.

15th Dec 2009, 10:56

Did someone say park a TR6 and a TR8 next to each other and see which one gets the looks? I can't even take my TR6 to a gas station if I'm in a hurry. It draws crowds of other people fueling their cars. Nobody driving a wedge is getting that attention, and I actually plan on buying a TR8 someday.

14th May 2011, 14:50

Run with the Boxsters? Let me guess, you have never driven a Porsche Boxster.

1978 Triumph TR8 Coupe 3.5 liter

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired31560 miles
Most recent distance32431 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Best Sports Car Bargain On the Planet!

Faults:

Power Steering rack had to be replaced.

Seat's had to be recovered.

New shock absorbers.

General Comments:

A fast car that handles well.

Better suspension bushings and springs and you can corner with anyone.

A little head work, a 4 barrel Weber and it goes like an F-15.

13 inch tires should be the first thing to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2003

14th Jan 2008, 13:00

2nd TR8 that I have owned. In stock form -- slow, but the best buy you will ever find in a sports car. My first adjustment was to detox both and remove as much stuff as possible to give working space and to clean up. Next put Spaxs front and rear. new coil springs not always needed. I have seven rides and the TR8 is now my favorite.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews