1987 Volkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

I only wish it could be brand new again.

Faults:

General wear and tear maintenance things: brakes, brake-lines, springs, shocks, gas tank was a recall and fixed at no charge by dealer. I drove the car every winter but three in Michigan and Maine and am paying the price for that, since it is a rust bucket even tho it is in mechanically excellent shape. The brights indicator went a long time ago and would cost $2 but tons of labor so I live without that. Mechanically it has been wonderful.

General Comments:

The car drives like a dream and kicks butt on passing and cornering.

It is fun to drive and has held up everywhere but rust-wise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2008

1987 Volkswagen Scirocco 16V 1.8 PL

Summary:

Classic VW, Blast to drive !!

Faults:

I Picked up this little jewel on Ebay and drove it home from LA to Las Vegas. The timing belt broke in my driveway when I got home from the 4.5hr drive and bent 8 intake valves. This Scirocco 16v must have know that I was going to take her apart and rebuild.

General Comments:

Total blast and a fun toy! I love kicking some Civic A$$ at red lights. I like the fact that Kids and Adult kids still drooool over this car from time to time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

11th Mar 2010, 14:06

I had a 86 VW Scirocco; the motor mount some how cracked the chassis???

1987 Volkswagen Scirocco 16V 1.8 16v

Summary:

Reliable-but-finicky

Faults:

Bought it with leaking head-gasket and OVER-HEATING problem in 2006. But I wanted it... no head warpage, no block warpage, just elbow grease and a Bentley Manual. This car was from Long Island NY and has more than 175,000 miles, maybe 200,000 - odometer stopped working around 1992. Replaced all sensors in head to make sure. New water-pump, alternator, and Timing BELT. All electrical grounds OK and checked. Transmission OK with slight grind into 2nd.

General Comments:

Pretty agile, not too much faster than my '91 8V GTI. But, you can't beat 7200 RPM and the build quality. My sport seats are not worn, no interior deterioration, just worn-in and comfy. Couple oil leaks and you have to monitor everything mechanical for possible break-down and/or trouble- like any 19 year old car. Been my DailyDriver since 5/06, nothing serious since. Monitor engine temp and oil leaks, otherwise, not much diff from any other 75-92 watercooled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2007

1987 Volkswagen Scirocco 1.8 16v

Summary:

I will never sell this car

Faults:

I have had to replace a few fuel injection sensors on the engine. This has been more precautionary than anything else (not trusting 18 year-old sensors). The exhaust has broken welds twice.

General Comments:

Having always owned old Detroit muscle, I decided to give in to my fiance who is a Volkswagen "nut".

I have been pleasantly surprised with the performance.

Gas mileage ranges from 33 to 34 MPG in mixed driving. Not bad for a car of its age.

I always get a laugh out of parts store employees who have no idea what a Scirocco is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2005

19th Aug 2005, 02:12

You could fit a VR6 engine in your little Scirocco. Do that and you can smoke anyone in a 2001 Civic who thinks your car is junk.. we'll see who's laughing then. Plus, who wants to be driving the same car you see everyone else in at a stoplight? Not me!

24th Jan 2006, 05:04

Kids are kids... you can usually tell by the exhaust if it's a kid or not... these with the 130HP cars with the exhaust sounding like some cheap noise kill me...oh, but I have NOS lol... come on get a grip... might even be a nice car, but cheap cheap and cheap as hell.

1987 Volkswagen Scirocco 8V 1.8L 8v

Summary:

A nimble little econo-pocket rocket

Faults:

I have had very few problems with my Scirocco. The fuel tank was leaking when it was above 1/2 full. After some haggling and running around, I got a dealer to replace the whole tank for free under a recall. The hardest part was finding a dealer that was willing to do it. I offered one guy some money under the table, and then once the keys were in my hands, asked him what kind of fruit basket he wanted. VW of America informed me that these dealers are under contract to do these types of jobs.

Currently I think I need a new ignition switch, new relay for the rear wiper and maybe a better ground cable for the battery.

The mods that I have installed include the following :

4 to 2 exhaust manifold from an MK1 Rocco.

Tech Tonics dual down pipe, catback 2 inch exhuast, & DynoFlow muffler.

14 inch GTI *snowflake* wheels (stock was 13in.)

Euro headlights (so much brighter)

Momo steering wheel and hub.

Kamei golf ball shift knob.

Just got a new suspension too, but went the more economical route. I put KYB gas shocks and left the original stock springs.

General Comments:

I love this car.

It drives like a dream and is perfect for NYC. Parking is easy to find and it doesn't look too attractive to a thief. I gotta get a low temp fan switch because it gets hot in stop & go traffic during the steamy Summertime jams.

The body is pretty clean too with just a couple of minor rust spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2003