Toyota Corolla Reviews from Pakistan

2009 Toyota Corolla GLi 1.3 petrol/CNG

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol/CNG Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Previous carToyota Altis

Summary:

Best choice for everyday motoring in Pakistan

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far, just the routine recommended maintenance and replacements by the dealer.

There is one manufacturing fault with the car; its AC compressor makes unwanted sounds at low revs.

General Comments:

PROS:

The car has a quiet cabin.

Very economical both on petrol and CNG. Does more than 160 km per cylinder in local driving, and 190 plus kms on long routes with air conditioning.

Can sustain the rigidity of the local roads and tracks. Has got suspension seemingly designed for Pakistani roads and tracks.

Has got very good resale value. Often now and then people keep asking if I wanna sell it.

Due to VVTi, produces massive torque at low revs.

Has got improved brakes as compared to the previous version. You just need to carry out its routine service and maintenance as recommended by the manufacturer.

Has improved ride and seats as compared to the previous Corolla. The dampers feel softer and so do the seats compared to the previous Corolla.

It's wider than the previous version, hence more stable on the road, especially at higher speeds.

CONS:

AC compressor sound as explained above in the problems.

High price.

Average tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2010

3rd Jun 2011, 10:57

I think it's a better choice than the Honda City. I had an option from my company to choose either, and I chose the Corolla XLi, and never regretted my decision for a moment.

The City might be more sporty looking, but I chose graceful looks over a sporty toy :)

2000 Toyota Corolla Limited 2.0 diesel

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance950000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I'll love and remember my 2.0D limited always

Faults:

Nothing wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Very great, and new models of Corolla do not compete with it. It covers 16km/litre diesel. It's really fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2009

1982 Toyota Corolla GL 1.3 petrol

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Stylish, cheap, reliable and a classic

Faults:

Side windows of my car are loose. I hate the noise when the window is rolled down and I close the door.

It is a common old liftback problem, I hope I get someone to fix it for me.

Dashboard cracks, I met a person who reconditions the dashboards and he will make it brand-new.

Driving seat was broken from the foundation, I got it fixed.

General Comments:

This model has been my childhood fantasy car.

Its looks are great even if I park it with a brand new Corolla I still find it more attractive.

The only problem I see in this car is with its side windows, these windows are pillar less and therefore with the passage of time their alignments become faulty. Otherwise it's an all rounder, and time has not really done any serious harm to it.

These cars were built to last, I know this and I therefore only buy old cars, they never let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2008

6th Nov 2008, 12:29

I have an '82 Corolla here in Thailand with the same little 1.3 liter OHV engine. Great little car and I love it, but it does have an awful clattering noise when I first start it up. The oil light stays on during this clattering, usually for about 10 seconds, and then everything is fine and smooth. It worries me though.

30th Sep 2009, 03:47

Well I have the same problem of the oil light staying on for say 7-8 seconds.

Changed the original oil filter with the latest oil filters of Corolla 2002-2005, which is much smaller in size, but has the same circumference and size hole, and the problem of the oil light is gone.

Technically speaking the light indicates a weak oil pump. But since in the case of these 4k engines I think this is normal.

I have the car since 1988 and the problem is there from always, which I have recently corrected by using a small filter.

30th Sep 2009, 17:02

Wow, original poster here.. Thanks so much for your advice. I'll try to get them to do that next oil change. It's also somewhat reassuring to know that this problem is commonplace. Perhaps it doesn't mean my engine will be destroyed in a matter of months!

Anyway so far the little car is soldiering on, though during rainy season it has developed another small problem - the passenger side floorboards get filled with water when driving for any length of time or at any speed in the rain!

9th Oct 2009, 12:09

I'm sorry, I posted just above that I was the original poster - I'm not, I was the first replier. Anyway, today I did as you suggest and put in the smaller oil filter from the newer Corolla, even though the people at the shop disputed me a lot, saying it wouldn't fit, wouldn't seal, etc. As it turns out it seems to have fit/sealed OK - I've checked for leaks twice today.

However it doesn't seem to have ended the oil-light-and-rattling-sound at startup.. it may have reduced it slightly though.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews