Honda Civic Reviews from Philippines

2008 Honda Civic

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

General Comments:

The first and last time I rode in a Honda Civic (2006-2011 model) was way back April 6,2010. It belonged to my late uncle's family and we used it to go to his grave. Me, my mom, and my auntie rode in that car from Makati all the way to Himlayang Pilipino, which quite far, although the traffic wasn't that bad. The car is generally comfortable for us. We're used to executive saloons like the Camry, which have roomy interiors, but this car has good legroom considering the fact that it's a compact sedan. This car is also modern because of the layout of the dashboard. This car also has a good radio and is very easy to use.

Until now, they still use this car and they are satisfied with it. They wouldn't replace this with the current model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th December, 2013

1993 Honda Civic 2DR- 1.2

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance96200 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Great value for money!

Faults:

Been happy generally with the car, except for the air conditioning. I've basically changed everything except the compressor. (hopefully it will last longer).

Also, brake cylinder needed replacement after around 40,000kms.

Paint job is in excellent condition. Still on original paint and other OEM parts since day 1. No rust spots anywhere, despite my not having rustproofing.

General Comments:

Fantastic to drive and cheap to maintain. And it has never broken down on the road these past 12 years that I've owned it.

No rust anywhere. Although the interior could have been much better. I may finally change the seats, after a friend complained - it was a long 2 and 1/2 drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

2005 Honda Civic VTI-S 1.6L VTEC 3

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6L VTEC 3 Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12505 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great for everyday driving, but murder on the racing scene

General Comments:

The car handles decently; with a stable suspension system and quick responsive steering.

It has a decent transmission, with a semi-short throw shift already installed.

However, its acceleration is quite sloppy.

And it needs the whole basic upgrade package to run on par with the older civic models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

15th Aug 2007, 02:49

My Civic VTi-S 2005 model has a very good engine. It runs fast compared to other brands of cars with the same size of engine.

The design is perfect. The seats are very comfortable for the driver and passengers, especially for filipino size.

Fuel consumption - economical.

From: Iligan, Philippines.

2003 Honda Civic VTi-S 1.6 liter 16-valve, inline-4 SOHC

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 liter 16-valve, inline-4 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

If you want comfort, space, and excitement, then this car is for you, if you can afford it

Faults:

Seats are rock-hard. Seats have been changed immediately after I bought this Civic.

4-speed auto gearbox has shift shocks on uphill climbs.

20,000kms- Brake feel suddenly becomes vague and braking distance travel is long. Problem: Front disc and rear disc becomes unbalanced. The problem took 2 days to fix. They changed both discs.

General Comments:

I like this car because it's sporty, easy to drive, and has fruity engine noises.

What I DON'T like is the engine-

Output: 130hp/6,500rpm

Input: 149Nm/5,000rpm.

It's thrashy, very thrashy. I always have to rev it past the 3,000rpm mark just to gain around 20km/h.

It also took forever to reach 90km/h on the highway.

Auto gearbox has shift shocks when going uphill, but it's good on straight roads.

The chassis absorbs humps, bumps and potholes well. I only feel a thud in the car. But as the potholes and humps are the worst of its kind, the car subjects the cabin up to the point when the it quivers violently.

The steering of this car is great!

It has excellent feedback and shows almost no understeer. It's easy to maneuver too.

It also has almost no body roll in slaloms or in gently leaning curves.

Seats are rock-hard, so I changed them immediately after I bought it.

Driving position is very good and comfy. The controls are logically placed and easy to operate. There's lots of space in the front, and a much bigger and wider space at the back, because of the flat rear floor, instead of the other cars' center bulge, but this sacrifices luggage space.

The car is also too expensive- priced at 825,000 Philippine pesos.

If you want a car that's spacious, comfortable and exciting, then go for this, if you can afford it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

20th Nov 2007, 03:24

It is nice that there are chances like these where we are able to read comments about a certain type of car. I am actually attracted to a certain car now. Honda Civic VTi 2003 model, automatic transmission. The age is 45,000 kms. There is one for sale. I test drove it. I found the gas pedal heavy to depress. And also the steering heavy. Well I am comparing it with my Honda Civic Lxi 2000 which I find light to steer and its accelerator pedal is light to push. I'm a lady by the way. Question: Is there a way to adjust so that the car would be light to gas and steer? What are my options.

1993 Honda Civic Esi 1.6 gasoline

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65671 kilometres
Most recent distance99500 kilometres
Previous carToyota TOYOTA

Summary:

An fast and reliable car, which is easy to maintain

Faults:

My air-conditioner compressor conked-out and the cooling coil already had leaks. I replaced it with OEM parts, but the A/C system couldn't handle hot tropic weather.

General Comments:

Basically an easy-to-maintain car. Just be religious with its maintenance like tune-up change oil, plus replace all fluids periodically, this car could last for another five years.

The cabin space is spacious compared to its counterparts. The driver's seat is very comfortable and provides a nice view of the road. However, the armrest could have come as standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

1993 Honda Civic ESi 1.6 SOHC

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

The camshaft pulley broke at 115000 km.

The driver's side power window won't automatically stop when you try to raise your window.

The driver's side power mirror malfunctioned.

The front seat sagged.

General Comments:

The power is awesome for a 1600 car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews