2013 Toyota Camry V 2.5 gasoline

Summary:

A sedan that has the 5 star hotel feel!

Faults:

We discovered a scratch on the right rear window of the car 3 days after we purchased it. It accidentally happened during the installation of the tint.

Just the usual PMS every 5000 km at the Toyota dealer

General Comments:

We got this car as a replacement for our old 1999 Mitsubishi Galant, which we'd had for 13 years (up to late 2012), and ever since then we have been satisfied with the car.

Performance of this car is excellent! This car is mated with a 2.5 engine, and the pick-up and the response are very good. Passing through a nice stretch of road, Skyway on-ramp, or flyover is effortless and without struggle. This car is fun to drive on the expressways and country roads, but not in the notorious traffic jams of Metro Manila. Unlike our other Camry, a 2004 model, it has a 2.0 engine and it requires effort to experience the performance of the car.

This is the most comfortable car we have ever had. Leg room at the back is wide and spacious, and it's great for relaxing. It also has reclining seats and even has sunshades at the rear windshield and at the rear windows. It is not just relaxing, but also comfortable and luxurious. You’ll really feel that you are in a boardroom of a big company or a luxury hotel like Manila Peninsula. The air-conditioning of this car is excellent! Just put it at the lowest fan speed and you will feel lots of cold air.

I just don’t like too much the radio of this car. I wish it had an LED screen that comes with Bluetooth and GPS. It is only available in the top of the line 3.5 model. At least there's iPod connectivity.

We really like this car! Even though this car has only been with us for 15 months, it has served us very well and it will last with us for at least another 10 to 15 years. Whenever relatives or friends would ride in this car, they feel comfortable and enjoy the ride to wherever we go. Beautiful girls in school love it because they say the car is nice to look and ride in. In the school that I go to, there are many nice cars that park in the parking lot, and I’m one of them. This car has been to numerous special occasions like weddings. Taking this car to exclusive places such as posh hotels or just the shopping mall is a pleasure.

The after sales service of the car is very good. Doing the annual PMS at the Toyota dealer is excellent and efficient. We even received free coffee while waiting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2014

8th Sep 2014, 16:18

In the USA, these aren't compared to luxury resorts or boardrooms. They are considered ordinary, boring cars. At school, people would think you are boring. They are great cars - the engines are very durable - but we consider it one of the most dull, boring and ordinary cars around.

9th Sep 2014, 19:43

USA-manufactured Camrys are seen locally as practically utilitarian. In many places around the world, the Camry is a big car, often plushly trimmed. In these places where traffic can be downright insane, the Camry is a luxury car - the space, the seat comfort, even the quietness inside. At a certain point and time, maybe 10-15 years ago, I remember reading that the Camry was sold in the UK for GBP22,000 - about the same as getting a baseline 5-series BMW or Audi A6. Of course, no-one would pay that money for a Camry only to get reliability.

24th Sep 2014, 11:54

The Camry here in NZ is a taxi. Not a very respectable car. Every Tom and Harry has one. Reliable, but just a big size Corolla with bigger engine.

2004 Toyota Camry G 2.0 VVTi

Summary:

A poor man's S-Class or Rolls Royce

Faults:

Actually, all the problems that I will mention are not really serious.

November 2008 - The right rear window did not want to go up. Took it to the dealer and it was fixed within 30 minutes.

Early 2009 - The lock of the rear right stopped functioning. Fixed by Toyota in an hour.

August 2011 - We couldn't unlock the glove compartment of the car. All we could do after taking it to the dealer is to use the glove box without locking it.

October 2011 - The suspension acted up. Our mechanic took care of the problem.

Other than the problems stated above, the car only goes to the Toyota dealer every 5000 km for its Preventive Maintenance Check-up.

General Comments:

This car was only partially ours for 6 years. We only use it from time to time when we are forced to. For most of the time my grandmother and my auntie used it. When my grandmother passed away in November 2008, we had more time with this car, mainly Fridays, because our other car ('99 Galant) cannot run because of the number coding scheme, but most of the time my auntie uses it. When she passed away in April 2010, we had no choice but to take the car.

This car is meant to be chauffeur driven. I wish this had a 2.4 engine instead. My uncle owns one (although two years older) with that engine. He said it has a very good pick up. The pickup of our Camry is not so good. You struggle when you have to overtake a slow moving vehicle, enter a flyover or expressway on ramp, or go through winding roads.

Of all the cars we have ever had, this is the most comfortable we had. The leather seats are comfortable and the legroom for everyone is wide and spacious. The air-conditioning is also very good. It cools the whole interior in no time!

In June of 2012, we transferred the original Kenwood stereo to our Galant before disposing of it. Now it has a Pioneer radio with USB to connect my iTouch/iPhone, which was in our former Galant.

I would like to say that we really like this car. It's very reliable because it has served the whole family very well for more than 9 years already. The car is really nice on the outside and inside. It looks like and feels like a Lexus. It feels so nice to bring this car to an exclusive place like a 5 star hotel or any special occasions like weddings and debuts. When some of my classmates and friends rode in this car, they loved it because it is a good looking car and is very comfortable! Our relatives and family friends love it too! The car has been to numerous weddings and debuts.

The service at the Toyota dealership is excellent and efficient. They keep a record of past services and the parts that need replacement like the brakes. During the last PMS, it was done within the day. Keep up the good work!

Even though we just ordered a brand new Toyota Camry with a 2.5V trim, which will have a higher level of luxury, comfort, technology, and performance, we will still be keeping this one for several more years to come. It seems our family has already fallen in love with the Camry nameplate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2013

2nd May 2013, 23:43

"It looks like and feels like a Lexus."

Rolls still puts Lexus to shame when it comes to styling and road-presence.

3rd May 2013, 10:11

Rolls Royce and Bentley are also ostentatious, flaunting wealth. Not always desirable in my opinion. Also they are large, hard to maneuver and park, especially in a city environment. With security etc an issue, my pick is a new Mercedes.