1990 Toyota Corolla GL 1.6

Summary:

Reliable and sturdy

Faults:

- In 1991, when Mt Pinatubo erupted, the red paint faded and the car became white.

- The muffler of the car fell once.

- Alternator broke four times in 3 years.

- Has been plagued with overheating problems.

- The engine burns oil most of the time.

- Fixed the aircon thrice in 4 years.

- Replaced the timing belt.

- Paint is already faded and has lots of rust.

General Comments:

A reliable family transport. It has been to many places, and we consider it our best car ever. The first Toyota we ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th April, 2010

1998 Toyota Corolla GLi 1.6L gasoline

Summary:

Practical daily ride

Faults:

The car doesn't have a standard CD player.

There was a time when the wheels were miss-aligned (wheels always go to the right).

I wish it was never sold.

General Comments:

The eighth generation of Corolla is known here as the "lovelife type". It was first introduced here in 1998, and had a facelift a year later.

The car has a good performance and is reliable; that's how Toyota is.

It is a good looking car; that's why I liked it.

It's sad to see it gone, and replaced with a bigger Toyota Revo.

I should have made it my back-up car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2008

1997 Toyota Corolla XL 1.3

Summary:

Good!

Faults:

The secondary clutch and the clutch master easily gets worn out. The electrical wires especially on the auxiliary fan for the air-conditioner easily get damaged.

General Comments:

This car, probably,has the most quiet engine I've ever had. Though it is not a power steering car, the steering wheel is soft. It is fast and very reliable on long distance driving. However, the windows and door mechanism must be improved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2006

1983 Toyota Corolla GL 1.3

Summary:

The 1983 Corolla is like a good pair of old shoes.

Faults:

In 2003, the engine had to be rebuilt and overhauled for the first time since the car was bought brand-new in 1983.

In the twenty-one years of its existence, it rarely gave this owner major problems.

Only the radiator and factory air conditioner failed a couple of times.

General Comments:

The Corolla is a very reliable car. The 1.3-liter engine proves to be a durable workhorse.

Suspension parts are still factory-original except for the tie rods and of course, the routine replacement of shock absorbers.

Despite not being equipped with power steering, the Corolla steers well on curves, and can be parked with ease in tight spaces.

The Corolla has been driven on several occasions on trips where the car was kept running for 14 hours straight at variable speeds and subjected to extreme road conditions. In all these long trips, the car never broke down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

2000 Toyota Corolla Gli 1.6 DOHC 16v

Summary:

A Full Powered Medium Sedan

Faults:

Nothing went wrong except for the misaligned antenna.

The air condition would take long to cool the cabin.

General Comments:

This car is absolutely quiet on the road, you wouldn't know your doing above 100 Km/h unless you look at the speedometer. There's no wind noise at all.

The 1.6 Dual overhead cam 16V gasoline engine is indeed fuel efficient, super quiet, accelerates effortlessly and is powerful for a medium car. Handling is great.

The gear ratio (transmission) is well engineered for a medium size sedan.

Suspension is quite stiff, but still gives the corolla a comfortable ride.

The Alpine in-car Sound System sounds great!!!

The service is very good and the Toyota mechanics are very friendly.

I would highly recommend a corolla for everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

1982 Toyota Corolla DX 1.3 petrol

Summary:

As reliable as one true friend

Faults:

Rust started to show on the rear side during the second year.

General Comments:

The car is durable and reliable.

Fuel economy is great.

However, the cabin is cramped and the air conditioning is not cold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

8th Jan 2009, 20:42

I do have a 1980 DX Corolla Liftback and must admit the engine's very strong.

22nd Sep 2009, 10:07

I have just caused the repair of my DX 1983. All the rusty parts were removed, and almost 8 sheets of 16-galvanized steel were used. It is worth the work and expense. It's durable and parts are available, especially the 4k engine. I prefer to use it against than my other newer model cars.