Ford Fiesta Reviews from Portugal

2000 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.25 Zetec

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.25 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Good!

Faults:

The heat from the A/C stopped working.

General Comments:

It was a pretty good car in its price range. Apart from the A/C malfunction, nothing went wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2012

1997 Ford Fiesta Van 1.8 diesel

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100010 kilometres
Most recent distance189950 kilometres

Summary:

Very easy to own and maintain, but certainly not the quickest car of its line

Faults:

Power steering cracked in the first year, but was fixed under warranty. Never bothered me since.

Timing belt was replaced at 140000, mainly out of precaution.

Fuel lines were cracked, but were replaced and never bothered me since.

Clutch pump replaced at 165000 km. Part was €70 from Ford.

Fractured alternator at 174000 km. Seal due to overuse of bad ball bearing. Attribute this to personal abuse. Replaced with rebuilt alternator for €281. Worked fine since.

Clutch disc and pressure plate replaced at 175000 km. Replaced for €170 total.

General Comments:

Of all the used cars I've purchased, this one has last me the longest (almost 6 years now). It's far from being plush or luxurious, but if you need something to get you from point A to point B every day and that is very fuel efficient as well as very low cost in terms of maintenance, this is the car for you. It's not the most comfortable car out there, but it's not as cramped as a Land Rover Defender either.

It's engine, a 1.8 Endura DE Diesel engine, has some fairly decent torque and is very well built in terms of reliability, but don't expect to be in any races with this engine as it's very sluggish climbing hills. Also, remember to change the timing belt every 60000km. This is a very serious recommendation if you wish to keep the maintenance cheap and keep the car on the road and not at the mechanic.

Most of the problems are pretty much attributed to wear and tear of just about any used car, and nothing really out of the normal. If you can look past that detail, you'll be pleased with it's incredible reliability and easy upkeep.

In general, a good buy, but just remember that you are getting a used car and there are ALWAYS precautions to take into consideration before buying, regardless of the make and model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2009

1992 Ford Fiesta wave 1.1

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

I like it, it's reliable. It's an economic car

Faults:

Light fuses occasionally stop functioning, easy to replace.

Steering started making a strange squeaking noise.

Starter motor became noisy.

Reverse gear hard to use sometimes (since 80 000 km).

General Comments:

I would recommend this car as a economic vehicle. It's dirt cheap, and if you take good care of it, it can last for a lifetime.

It's a very simple car, almost no electronics, no luxury, no performance (it's a slow car).

I don't like its handling, you should go slow on this thing. Under-steers very easily. Not very stable.

But I like it. It's very reliable, I've had it for 120 000 km (got it with 80 000) and the only things I had to replace were the normal parts that wear out (oil, brakes, some light fuses, tires, etc).

I can make 5.5/100 km very easily. It won't go beyond 140Km/h anyway.

I would say for it's class it's one of the best models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2006

27th Aug 2006, 13:43

I just got a Fiesta Wave and I have that same squeaking noise. Did you ever find out what it was?

1992 Ford Fiesta Wave 1.1 1.1

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres

Summary:

High Performance

Faults:

After 3 months after I bought, the main oil bomb, that stop function after 20.000Kms in my hands. After that there was no more things that I can say about it that gone wrong.

General Comments:

Defenetly...the best car I had. Not a fast car, but enougth to sprint to 175 Mks, extremly agile on the corners and a very comfortable car to be with a girlfriend! the end of the Fiesta was against a Tractor. I sincerely miss it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2004

1994 Ford Fiesta Newport 5 doors 1.1i cat.

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1i cat. Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres

Summary:

A nice car!

Faults:

Change exhaust silencer at 17500km:

Premature wear on front tires (Firestone F560) at 20.000km.

No problem in the direction alignment or wrong tires pressure, and so I install two new front tires (Goodyear GT2).

Change exhaust silencers and pipe at 38000km.

Change tires at 50000km and install Yokohama S306.

Change exhaust silencer at 65000km, and check catalyser condition (OK).

The side mirror fixation is too fragile, I don't recommend wash Fiesta '94 in wash stations.

General Comments:

It's a great car!

Very Comfortable, easy to drive, not a race car (140km/h) but is very economic (17 km/liter) in an ordinary utilization.

Requires attentive maintenance, to avoid premature degradation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

2001 Ford Fiesta Techno 1.25 16v

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.25 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance25200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

The hot hatch of its class

Faults:

There is a rattle from the left speaker.

The right electric window is slow when closing.

General Comments:

The engine is powerful for its class, it has a true 16 valve character. It sometimes surprises bigger cars when overtaking. Fuel consumption can be quite high for a car of this class when pushing the revs.

The suspension is well tuned for stability and corner handling/grip. On the other hand, it is not a very comfortable car.

The cabin is well built, but it is a little dated in design and available space. It is a noisy car above 140km/h.

Stock tyres (in Portugal Continental SportContact 185/55R14) offer a lot of grip and feedback, both in wet and dry. Since they are now out of production, I'd like to know a good substitute.

Front lights have an adequate power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2002

16th Sep 2005, 04:24

Greetings.

I also own a 2001 Ford Fiesta 1.25 Techno. I agree with the main features you mentioned. I my case, in high revs he is a fuel eating monster (9 liters or more - 2 gallons).

But with time I learned that using lower revs with the adequate use of the accelerator pedal the fuel consumption decreases to a more reasonable 5 or 6 liters (1.2 UK gallons). But there is something strange. In lower revs, the car sometimes, starts to fail and then powers away. Initially, I was scared. Now it is better.

But, although this minor problems, it is a great car. It even surprises more powerful cars. Of course it doesn't has a chance, but it is fun to see others face, with tuned cars, to see a 1.25 liter Fiesta pull off. After 200 meters or so, others pass ahead.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews