Dacia Logan Reviews from Romania

2006 Dacia Logan Preference 1.4 MPI

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.4 MPI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres

Summary:

It's a simple car, but reliable and if you take care of it, it will take care of you!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it, thankfully.

The brakes needed to be changed because they started to wear off, but that was very cheap to change.

The big problem on it that at some points there can be seen a little beginning of rust! That is the biggest problem with it, but thankfully the rust is still minor, and it's rusting where the car was hit once!

General Comments:

Its 1.4 liter engine is quite lazy at low RPM, but if you push it above 4000 RPM, then it accelerates quite good for its 75 horse power!

Very pleased with the car, it's comfortable, and the costs are very cheap! You can easily find parts to it, and they are very cheap as well!

The engine is running great, never had problems with it, and overall the car never had problems at all!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2013

2006 Dacia Logan Ambition 1.5 dCi turbo diesel

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.5 dCi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85570 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Built to last

Faults:

Starting at 50000 km, and from then on the front lights fail from 5000 km to 5000 km.

The device that usually help you to tune the front lights up and down is inefficient.

General Comments:

Other than that, I really have no complains. It is really a very well built car.

I drove it all around Europe, and I really had no problem with it. It is a matter of confidence right now because I have the confidence to drive it anywhere. Absolutely anywhere.

I expected to change the suspension or steering parts at 40 or 50000, km but now I have 85000 km and something and have absolutely no problem.

The key to have no problems with the diesel engine is to use only good fuel, and to change the fuel filter at 20000 km.

I changed the brake pads at 28000 km for the first time, and today 30/01/2009 at 85000 km I replaced them for the second time.

It is the best investment in a car I ever made. I live in Romania and this vehicle is made for countries like mine.

I also have an Mercedes E class 230 petrol engine (I bought it new in 1994), but of course it's a lot more expensive to run (have problems with the suspension and steering every 50000 km and with fuel - I have changed 6 fuel pumps because of bad fuel), and I also have a Fiat Panda 1.3 multijet 2006 (small and ideal in a city).

With the Logan, I have the comfort of a big vehicle, reliability, low costs, low consumption... and as I say, I will buy for sure a new one after I sell this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2009

27th Jun 2009, 14:22

How can you downgrade from Mercedes to Logan?

2007 Dacia Logan Ambition 1.5 diesel

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance28000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

Overall it's a great car

Faults:

The car still hasn't showed any faults.

General Comments:

The car isn't very fast (0-100 km/h in 15 seconds), but I didn't expect it to be.

Fuel consumption is around the 5 l / 100 km mark.

The car has to be serviced every 10000 km or full year and the checks (oil change, and filters are included in the check) are very inexpensive (between 100 euro and 150 euro).

For the price I paid, 10000 euro, the car is very big.

The seats are comfortable. In the back there's room for 3 adults. And the trunk is very big.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2008

2005 Dacia Logan Ambition 1.6 Mpi 90 Bhp

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Mpi 90 Bhp Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance22500 kilometres

Summary:

The worst car made byDacia after the '90 and the 2000 1310 models

Faults:

No central locking working (one door was not shutting by central locking; needed to be close manually). Repaired in warranty period.

Cooling radiator leaking. 3 months after I bought it. Repaired under warranty.

Weak brakes even with ABS (Not well dimensioned for the car weight and dimensions). Construction fault.

Water leaking inside at the windows if raining or washing the car. Never solved.

Many detail problems like electric windows not working. Repair one problem, and another problem appears.

I sold the car because I could not pass the periodical inspection, and the service could not help me. They told me that this is not their job to help me with this problem.

The list may continue.

General Comments:

The only thing that was good regarding this car was the engine. Otherwise it is a piece of crap. Very poor performance, very poorly built, poor quality, cheap materials, a lot of detail problems, bad technical support. Good engine (old timer in fact) on a bad car.

The stability is poor. Suspension was noisy after 10000 Km. Believe it or not, Solenza and SuperNova are better cars, probably the best cars built by Dacia after 2000 (after 1990 in general).

Also, if you buy a Logan and want to resell it, its value decreases dramatically (from 9000 Euro down to about 6000 Euro) a loss of 3000 euros in JUST 2 YEARS! While the Solenza & Supernova are quite expensive, they are better as far as reliability (however even those are having problems, but the Logan is a big flaw). Hope the Sandero is better! But I don't think so. I own now Chevrolet Aveo, which is far better than Logan at the same money. Never had trouble with it, and it has 12500 Km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2008

7th May 2009, 09:51

In 42000 kilometers, none, but absolutely none of the problems you have mentioned appeared on the car. Allow me to doubt the superiority of Supernova/Solenza related to Logan. No electric windows problem, no leakage whatsoever, no water inside the car, the power train is very robust, trust me, I was running the car on forest roads and it is reliable.

Maybe you had bad luck, but I doubt that your Aveo is better than the Logan. And you don't get it for the same money.

My second car was also a Logan, Prestige 1.6 16v. No problems also, and the car had a bad treatment from me.

Now I intend to buy the 3rd Logan, the only first option being the new Megane3. If not a Megane, then a Logan for sure.

21st Apr 2010, 11:21

Now I've sold my Aveo. It had 65000 km. I just got bored of it, but gave me no troubles, my only big problem with the Aveo was the low dynamic performance.

My aunt still uses it, I sold it to her. Now, I own an Opel Astra H 1.7 CDTi. Also a good car.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews