1991 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 1.8 petrol

Summary:

A Merc is a Merc

Faults:

Auxiliary fans (2) shorted each other out due too bad wiring. This was sorted out at $40 (wiring work) before anything major happened. Cooling is now superb.

Stalled at a stop-light and could not restart. Called for roadside assistance and realised later that I tried to restart the car in "Drive". The car was not towed.

The car seems to be in very good condition even though it's 11 years old. I guess I'll find out more as I go along.

General Comments:

As my previous car was a very reliable workhorse ('93 Daewoo Racer GSi - reviewed twice by me; 1999 & 2002), I half expect the 190 to be a lemon (I got it cheap!!!). But surprisingly, it seems to be in good working condition and has been well maintained.

Having had 3 years experience with the Daewoo, and 3 years before that with an Alfa Sprint, I am prepared for the worse should it decide to happen inn the next 60 seconds.

Parts are surprisingly very, very cheap (probably due to the availability of OEM parts) and I'm glad to be able to get used parts at a nearby wrecker dirt cheap!!! Yup, that's the story of my life.

My wife and kids love the car cost it is really comfortable.

I look forward to driving it everyday because it's fun looking at traffic through the 3 point star that sits on the bonnet...

So much for the Integra...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

1984 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.0

Summary:

2 year European call option. Excellent!

Faults:

10 owners left the car in quite a state!

Changed all interior - $1500, wheels, tyres - $450, major service, brakes discs, exhaust bits, steering bits, mountings... all for about $1000. Now like new or latest 1993 model.

No faults since these changes.

Slight smell of petrol from somewhere.

General Comments:

Excellent car.

Faster than a W124.

Can abuse it and it still is so civilised.

This car is the most effective car purchase in Singapore at S$17,500 with 3 years COE left.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

26th May 2014, 21:57

I also have a 1984 190E 2.0 and am in the process of renovation. It only had 19K miles when I bought it, but it had been ridden hard and put away wet. I started on it about 4 years ago and still have 25% to go. I so agree with you about the 190E, it's virtually indestructible.

1990 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 1.8 petrol

Summary:

Sensible

Faults:

Air conditioning, new compressor.

Radiator.

New tyres.

Small bits of plastic, easily replaced in Singapore.

Petrol pump.

General Comments:

Fantastic car. Shame to scrap - but rules say 10 year old cars must be scrapped.

Do not choose white paint unless you have a maid.

Great at 200,000km and could do much more. Still looks like new. Very reliable and drives like a new car. But parts keep on having to be replaced, But that makes it feel like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

12th Oct 2002, 05:11

I too own a Mercedes Benz 190-E, year 1990 and the car is doing just fantastic. Sitting inside this speedster makes you feel like you have a total command on the road yet you are safe inside there. The only areas which need careful handling are the tires, lubricants top up, brake disc pads and that's it. Given a chance this 2.3cc automatic on full throttle can zip past many newer ones... Replacements have taken place which includes, petrol pump, fuel distributor and ECU unit besides spark plugs which are periodical.

Worth spinning the devil once...

20th May 2003, 01:44

Sadly, the most common (or only) variants of the 190e are the 1.8 and 2.0 here in Singapore.

I've heard from a Merc friend that a couple of 2.3s and 2.5s made it here, but have since been scrapped as per local regulations.

Recently saw a 2.3-16valve for sale in the papers.However, the sticker price on it was a little ridiculous.

By the way, I drive a 1.8 and by no means does it feel underpowered as when I drove my friend's 200E.

Probably has to do with the power to weight ratio...

1991 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 1.8

Summary:

One of Mercedes' finest efforts, not repeated since

Faults:

Fuel pump relay stopped working and resulted in engine dying at odd times especially while going up slopes.

Accelerator wire broke leaving me stranded in Lane 1 travelling at 5 km/hr!

Aircon conked out recently.

General Comments:

Yet, despite the above, it is still one heck of a car. It grips the road well, handles well and is tremendously composed even when driven aggressively.

Its comfort is supreme especially the body hugging seats. Driving with the 3-pointed star pointing the way forwards is a different feeling. Also terrific solid thumping doors!

In short, a comfortable and solid sporty prestige bargain - I strongly recommend it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2000