Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews from Singapore

1991 Mercedes-Benz W124 200E 2.0L petrol

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired324000 kilometres
Most recent distance363000 kilometres

Summary:

Feels like it could go forever

Faults:

Transmission had to be overhauled after 6 months because the gear kept slipping while moving off. Was better after the overhaul.

The modified electric fan broke and smashed into the radiator and both had to be replaced. The electric fan was replaced with a used Volvo 960 fan. Solved the overheating problem.

The trans valve body gave way 9 months after the overhaul. Can't be faulted since I did not replace that part. replaced with a 16 valve trans valve body. Car now starts off in first gear.

Fan belt and belt damper had to be replaced due to a squealing noise.

Most recently, changed the noisy rear axle to the 16valve type, changed the fuel pump, fuel accumulator and distributor. Changed some bushings, engine mountings and hoses.

General Comments:

As this was my first car, I did not know much of the faults to look out for. after having made all the changes, the car is now quite good.

Many people call the w124 bullet proof and I would like to qualify that this is not entirely true. While it is a very good car, care and effort has to be put in to maintain it, especially if the previous owners have not done so.

The interior is still in good condition. However, the exterior is due for a paint job soon. Thinking of changing the current two-tone white and grey paint to a single colour, gunmetal silver.

The engine is still strong and I have managed to go up to about 200 km/h. However, normal highway and city driving gives me only about 450 kms per 60 litres of petrol. A check revealed that the engine has lost its compression and I may need to do a top overhaul.

Has anyone here done a top overhaul before? If so, would it be advisable to change the timing chain at the same time?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2009

18th Apr 2009, 12:58

Hi.

I am looking at a used 200e, but I am concerned about the high cost of repairs. May I know where you usually service your benz?

Or if you can email me at zeeeze@yahoo.com, that will be great bro!

22nd Mar 2010, 13:05

Hi!

I know it's over a year ago since you posted this, but I just want to tell you that if you have to do a head overhaul, ALWAYS replace the old timing chain with a new one...

1991 Mercedes-Benz W124 200E 2.0 petrol

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

Still one of the best rides around

Faults:

Valve stem Seals worn

Head Gasket leaking

Radiator Clogged

Thermostat

Serpentine Belt and Tensioner worn

Engine Mounts worn

Transmission Shaft coupling worn

Fuel Pressure Regulator faulty

Fuel pump faulty

OVP Relay faulty

A/C (kilma) Relay faulty.

General Comments:

Changing many parts at this mileage was to be expected.

However, it has given me good service once they were replaced.

The interior trim is starting to seperate from the backing, but there are no cracks in the dash and seats are still firm.

It handles very well, and the air-conditioning is still very cold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2006

1989 Mercedes-Benz W124 E200 2.0 petrol

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Deserved Icon of reliability and quality

Faults:

3rd Party Car alarm a bit temperamental.

Driver's electric window stopped.

Very slight clicking noise at certain speeds

Rear view mirror replaced - S$35.

Front Wiper replaced S$17

Replaced Mercedes E200 lettering for S$20.

General Comments:

I sold my last W124 and within 5 days bought another! The former was a 1986 UK import with sunroof - sold for S$10K with 23 months left of COE. (non-renewable. The latter is a S17,000 1989 Cycle and Carriage original, love to bits by the former car-dealer owner... who ran out of money. (COE till 1998 but renewable).

This car is in seriously good condition. amazing solid and straight for a 2-year old car - let alone a 16 year old car.

So much sharper than the former W124 (due to an original suspension set up - rather than some messed about sports suspension).

MBTex upholstery smells clean and fresh.

Ice cold aircon and powerful engine.

I am tempted now to buy a convertible 320CE 1993 model for S$75,000. Fortunately the owner is refusing to sell for tles than $88,000. (It was $400,000 new some 12 years ago!!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2005

23rd Sep 2005, 03:56

I used to own a 1989 Mercedes 200e which is an 8 valve fuel injected version. These cars are very solidly built. Have taken the car out on long distance trip to Malaysia and can say that the handling is very good and w/o any annoying rattles.

Only setback is that the engine is somewhat underpowered especially at pick up speed and fuel consumption is a tad on the high side. However, spare are relatively cheap and if you have a competent outside mechanic, he can save you quite abit of money. However, once the problem area fixed, it should last you a long time since these parts are often of high standard since it's for Mercedes.

All the best to your new car.

1st Mar 2007, 06:31

Now March 2007 - car still perfect.

White RH indicator light fell off. Replaced for $24 from Tye Soon.

Interior still looks fresh at 18 years, paint holding up well.

In last 2 years replaced rear bumper twice since it caught on a tree stump... About S$300 including paint - a one-day workshop job.

Of my 4 vehicles this is the most reliable.

19th Aug 2007, 09:44

Just hit 394,000km.

Running as smoothly as ever - except that the fuel tank sensor broke... So there is a knocking around in the tank with the remaining piece of flat sloshing around in the petrol. Mechanic will fish it out next week.

All else is running well. 16 Months of COE left. Will probably renew the COE for around $17K.

>>>> a good 2 years of ownership.

3rd Mar 2008, 07:04

A very reliable car Driving one for six years. COE ending November 2008. Thinking of renewing because no other car can be so reliable even if the car is new. Drove to Genting for a few times even when it is 18 years old. No major problems.

31st May 2008, 03:58

Arpil 2008 - Sold the car for $5000.

It had 400,000km on the clock.. 19 years old.

It was running perfectly.

Sadly - the new owner - did not top up the water.,.. and ran it with it overheating for over an hour!

I think the car engine will never be the same... (Hope he does not blame me for selling a lemon!)

I can recommend these vehicles. Super low asking prices ($5K to $19K) now due to high Petrol prices (S$1.75/litre).

Best to buy a 1993 Masterpiece with 1-2 owners.

1986 Mercedes-Benz W124 200E (Carburetor) 2.0L

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired289999 kilometres
Most recent distance300500 kilometres
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Summary:

The 'Queen' of the Mercedes Range

Faults:

Head Gasket Blew so a Top Overhaul had to be carried out at 295000kms

General Comments:

My god I've driven 15 different cars including the newer version C180 Merc.

They don't build cars like they used to this 1986 W124 Carburetor (2.0L) purrs like a beauty a little sluggish when she starts which I hear needs to be started on its second gear (All the W124 autos fm 1986 thru 1990).

It looks and feels like a 'queen' what ever happened to the personality of cars these days? Car cost me S$50,000 with 9 years left to drive in Singapore and I feel this is great bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

7th Mar 2007, 06:04

How do you know if the Engine Gasket Head is going to blow out on you, any prewarning?

C W Teo.

Chengwoon@yahoo.com.

10th Jul 2008, 10:17

Running noticeably hotter than usual is generally the first sign of head gasket failure.

Having MG Rover on the back acts as a premonition rather than a symptom.

1986 Mercedes-Benz W124 E200 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres

Summary:

In Singapore - the obvious choice

Faults:

Slight leak from rear window, after 14 years some rubber and plastic needed replacing. This vehicle is a UK import taken to Singapore and with 6 owners, it looks like a 1995 masterpiece.

General Comments:

Fantastic car for $35,500 with 2 years COE left. Complete fake - built 1986 looks 1995. Brand new paint, leather and wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2000

26th Jan 2001, 02:14

8 months later - still love my car.

Now 200,500km (on second speedometer).

Very reliable for a 14 year old car - almost better than my VW beetle.

3rd Dec 2003, 10:18

Progress report:

Now at 250,000Km on second speedometer (bought with 190K Km on 2nd speedometer) as reliable as ever - Just tyres servicing, and smaller moving parts (brakes, radiator, battery). COE renewed 5 years to March 2007. so only worth S$16K with 3.5 years to go. Will probably find a home for it in Malaysia in 2007!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews