Mitsubishi Lancer Reviews from Singapore

2006 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.6

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carProton Tiara

Summary:

Perfect car and best car if you measure performance / investment

Faults:

Loud engine sound

Poor sound proofing at 4K RPM and/or 130km/h and above

Floating after 160km/h.

General Comments:

Good handling at the speed below 160km/h, aftermarket strut bar, shock and springs are needed to improve the handling of the car.

Good engine performance, easily overtake cars from similar CC. Be the champion if drag race with any car from same CC. (stock condition)

Comfortable and quite for such performance, other models car tends to be noisier at that speed and performance.

Nice interior, modern and yet simple, looks very elegant yet sporty.

Good looking exterior and easy to be added on the kit to make it even more fierce.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

10th Aug 2007, 20:23

How could you think it was unusual to feel the car float at that speed and play that as a negative..

The car isn't made to do 160km/hr everyday.

14th Jan 2011, 09:38

Do you know why your car jerks? I also own a Lancer 2005, but has no problems. It is also an auto, and has done up to 146000.

16th Apr 2011, 11:03

Yes I agree with you since it's happened to me.

I have a Lancer EX 2008 model with 84000 km, and now the bearing has damaged. For that, the authorised agent in Abu Dhabi is asking me to pay around AED, 20000.

I will never recommend anyone to buy a Mitsubishi car in my life.

3rd Feb 2012, 09:28

I have the solution for you.

Don't spend any money! I had the same, and was told many stories that I have to change the gear box.

Check the socket of the sensor. It is next to the left front wheel. You will see that they are only in bad condition. Clean, or better, change them, which will cost you about 20USD.

Mitsubishi gear box in the years 2006 - 2008 are very good, and even in competition with Toyota. Mine has 150'000 Km already, and I kick the baby to 5000 RPM regularly. Before 4000 RPM, there's nothing to give anyways.

Cheers.

30th Apr 2012, 04:48

I drove a lot of cars. The Lancer 2006 is very great, but not designed for speed. I tested 160 Kph with a Peugeot 206, perfect, and an Avante with 180 Kph, wonderful.

But the Lancer could not make 130 kph with the same feeling of safety.

Still, I like my Lancer, and I'm still driving it.

1998 Mitsubishi Lancer GLXi 1.3

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Bad sound isolation

Faults:

Loud road noise heard in the cabin. Worst belting ever had, getting noisy and " gheet " sound from the belt especially during rainy days or early morning. Change the belt many times, but comes back again after a while.

Fuel consumption is not very good for urban drive (with reference of 1.3 liter engine)

When going on highway, it takes long time to reach 140 Km/h.

Never never drive fast on the wet surface, tends to float when going through a pool of water even if with a good tire.

General Comments:

After all not a bad choice for a 1.3 liter class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2003

15th Nov 2003, 00:35

I don't agree with this review. My car is also a Lancer (same model), and I would like to explain some of the comments shown.

1. Slow to reach 140 kph - It's a 1.3 engine, so in terms of engine strength, what would you expect? Even more, when you carry 5 people in it.

2. Gas consumption not good - City driving is different because of the traffic situation (stop and go situation, wherein your attained speed will stop soon because of traffic, thus wasting gas). Driving habits also play a part in consumption.Plus, if you carry heavy loads in a "weak" engine, you would get poor consumption.

3. Floating in water on road at great speeds - Its called "aquaplaning"...it's a natural thing to happen if you're going fast. Cars have a tendency to "float" when passing by a puddle of water at great speeds. Even good tires can be victims. Its not the car, but its more of a natural thing, like when no car no matter how great, can stop immediately, but because of the laws of physics.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 2 reviews