Opel Meriva Reviews from Singapore

2004 Opel Meriva 1.6 Easytronic

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Easytronic Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance2100 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Perfect car, but takes time to learn how to drive because of Easytronic

Faults:

1. Handbrake must pull in full when park on sloop (this is dangerous)

2. Car jerks when slowing down during Automatic mode (any one has this experience?)

General Comments:

1. I was advised to shift to Neutral gear when parking. But using handbrake alone to hold the car is dangerous on a sloop (I hit a Nissan Sunny in front of me because the car was still moving!). Can any one advise me whether I can keep at Drive mode when car is stopped and parked ?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

16th Feb 2005, 03:44

The Easytronic transmission is not a full automatic transmission and has a specific way of shifting. Check with Opel/Vauxhall's web site on this transmission works because apparently Easytronic does not have a Park mode.

9th Mar 2005, 02:52

I drive a Meriva myself and when I got my car, the Opel salesperson told me that parking in gear is OK. In fact, he recommended parking in gear when on a slope.

Also remember to turn your wheels to they point to the kerb. This way, if the car rolls for whatever reason, it will be stopped by the curb. Assuming of course that you're parking beside a kerb!

15th Mar 2005, 01:25

The Meriva is actually a manual gear box, hence it will not run smooth when in auto mode. Similarly, the jerking before coming to a stop is probably due to the down shifting of gears back to 1. I an driving a Meriva and encounter this problem too. In fact this is the most irritating problem with Meriva, but if you get used to it, it should be fine.

As mentioned in one of the comments, I always engage to neutral as there is no Park mode. the best solution is try not to park on slopes, which I think Singapore you can hardly any parking on steep slopes.

23rd Sep 2007, 12:00

I've found that it is possible to park in gear with the Easytronic gearbox.

Park up in Auto or Manual, leaving it in 1st gear, and pull the key out without switching back to neutral.

The car will stay in gear (you can take the handbreak off and it will rock slightly).

This isn't an ideal solution, but I use this when parking on steep inclines as a backup should the handbreak not hold.

Note however, the manual doesn't discuss this, and says to always park in neutral, so I can't vouch for this being the correct method.

Having said that, I've not been on a hill yet where the handbreak doesn't hold the Meriva, but I suppose it depends on the load you're carrying.

23rd Jan 2009, 11:48

Opel Meriva CDTi. Anyone with oil leakage from oil filter??? Told there are particular ways of fitment?? Please comment if you have had this problem?

Many thanks

H.

2004 Opel Meriva 1.6 16 V Easytronic 1.6 Ecotec Engine

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Ecotec Engine Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Good car and Fun to Drive

Faults:

1) Squeaking sound at the brakes.

2) Some creaking sound at the central instrument panel at times.

3) One of the door locking knob sunk in about 1 mm, but still working fine

4) Cranking Sound at the hand brake shaft when passenger getting in or out of the car if lever not pulled up fully.

General Comments:

Despite of the flaws that I had mentioned above, the Meriva is genrally a fun car to own. The FlexSpace System is excellent and the design of the car is nice with no sharp edges. The car is compact and modern looking. Although the interior looks ageing (black all round), but build quality is excellent! The engine is responsive and soundproofing of the car is good. The car is generally quiet even under hot and humid weather in my country. Air-con works well at all conditions. safety features of this car is good with 4 stars rating for crash test.

View is not as good as other cars in general due to the large A frame, but still acceptable. I enjoy driving this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2004

17th May 2008, 03:47

I am a owner of a 4 years 2 months old Meriva 1.6 in Singapore. My car no. is SFH 526L.

Since day 1 when I took possession of the car, I had endless problems with the 'jerky' transmission. Many attempts had been made by the agent to rectify the fault to NO avail.

On the second year, 2 rear windows mechanisms failed, and I was told that it cost S$700.00 a set to replace. "They don't repair the mechanism", and NO stock! I had to send it to a local mechanic (@ S$150.00) who replaced the plastic slider with an improvised metal piece, and it's working fine. I choose not to repair the other side to show my friends, and in case someone like your goodself wish to see it.

Last Sunday 11/05/08, my car died on me on the Expressway (TPE). The 'F' sign appeared, and the transmission cannot be engaged. Tried to restart the car to no avail.

Towed to the agent, and was told that the 'Clutch' system is faulty. First bad news NO stock! Approx. 2 weeks to order parts. Second - cost about S$3,000.00+ for the parts only.

I had brought this transmission problem to GM Singapore, a Mr. Jimmy Ng (same name as me), but he could not rectify the fault, less give a satisfactory answer.

I asked "Why would GM or Opel produce a car transmission that jerks?"

Regrets!

Jimmy Ng.

6th Aug 2008, 05:20

I am the owner of an Opel Meriva, The quality of this car is inferior compared to cars like VW and other german makes. At 90,000 KM had to replace the Air Con Compressor, at 105,000 the back passenger door hinge guide has broken off inside and cannot be welded so requires a new door, back window passenger left window has shattered, now requires new front brake discs.

Will never buy a General Motors Product Again Ever.

14th Sep 2012, 11:59

Hello sir,

I've been reading your comment about the Meriva Cosmo car. I had the same problem 2 days ago. The car showed the "F" signal, and they've told me the transmission has broken. I said to myself, maybe you could give me some advice on how to deal with the car, since we share the same problem?

Best Regards.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 2 reviews