Opel Meriva Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Opel Meriva 1.6 16 V Easytronic 1.6 Ecotec Engine from Singapore

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Ecotec Engine Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Good car and Fun to Drive

Faults:

1) Squeaking sound at the brakes.

2) Some creaking sound at the central instrument panel at times.

3) One of the door locking knob sunk in about 1 mm, but still working fine

4) Cranking Sound at the hand brake shaft when passenger getting in or out of the car if lever not pulled up fully.

General Comments:

Despite of the flaws that I had mentioned above, the Meriva is genrally a fun car to own. The FlexSpace System is excellent and the design of the car is nice with no sharp edges. The car is compact and modern looking. Although the interior looks ageing (black all round), but build quality is excellent! The engine is responsive and soundproofing of the car is good. The car is generally quiet even under hot and humid weather in my country. Air-con works well at all conditions. safety features of this car is good with 4 stars rating for crash test.

View is not as good as other cars in general due to the large A frame, but still acceptable. I enjoy driving this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2004

17th May 2008, 03:47

I am a owner of a 4 years 2 months old Meriva 1.6 in Singapore. My car no. is SFH 526L.

Since day 1 when I took possession of the car, I had endless problems with the 'jerky' transmission. Many attempts had been made by the agent to rectify the fault to NO avail.

On the second year, 2 rear windows mechanisms failed, and I was told that it cost S$700.00 a set to replace. "They don't repair the mechanism", and NO stock! I had to send it to a local mechanic (@ S$150.00) who replaced the plastic slider with an improvised metal piece, and it's working fine. I choose not to repair the other side to show my friends, and in case someone like your goodself wish to see it.

Last Sunday 11/05/08, my car died on me on the Expressway (TPE). The 'F' sign appeared, and the transmission cannot be engaged. Tried to restart the car to no avail.

Towed to the agent, and was told that the 'Clutch' system is faulty. First bad news NO stock! Approx. 2 weeks to order parts. Second - cost about S$3,000.00+ for the parts only.

I had brought this transmission problem to GM Singapore, a Mr. Jimmy Ng (same name as me), but he could not rectify the fault, less give a satisfactory answer.

I asked "Why would GM or Opel produce a car transmission that jerks?"

Regrets!

Jimmy Ng.

6th Aug 2008, 05:20

I am the owner of an Opel Meriva, The quality of this car is inferior compared to cars like VW and other german makes. At 90,000 KM had to replace the Air Con Compressor, at 105,000 the back passenger door hinge guide has broken off inside and cannot be welded so requires a new door, back window passenger left window has shattered, now requires new front brake discs.

Will never buy a General Motors Product Again Ever.

14th Sep 2012, 11:59

Hello sir,

I've been reading your comment about the Meriva Cosmo car. I had the same problem 2 days ago. The car showed the "F" signal, and they've told me the transmission has broken. I said to myself, maybe you could give me some advice on how to deal with the car, since we share the same problem?

Best Regards.

2004 Opel Meriva NJOY 1.6 16v from Serbia

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance2200 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Spacious car. Enjoy to drive and ride

Faults:

Broken vertical seat height adjuster

Open door detector failure.

General Comments:

First impression: It's spacious

Second impression: It's spacious

Meriva is very nice car to drive and very comfortable. All controls are soft as well as suspension. Meriva is not a sporty car, it's a car to enjoy your ride. Front seats are very comfortable. Back seats are too flat. Drivers position is high so all-around visibility is very good, except in the front-left cause A pillars are very tick. Back seats can be transformed in number of ways thanks to Flex Space system. I like configuration with two seats on the back and third used as an armrest. Interior is just like in other Opels - black&silver with no design experiments. Manual A/C works well and manages to keep temperature on acceptable levels even on very hot days (over 35C) and four people inside. I have CDR 2005 radio/CD and 6 speakers (4 in the front doors and 2 in the back doors). If you buy more expensive radio/CD you can get 8 speakers (two more on the back).

I have 1.6 100hp engine and it's minimum for very heavy car like Meriva (1350kg). Don't expect to win city car races. However, the engine is quiet. Consumption is about 10L in the city, 7L on the road and 8L on the highway with 140kmh average.

If you wonder how Meriva has so much interior space with only 4.04m length - take a look at the wheel base (2,6m), but also, check out the motor space. Friend of mine made a joke: so, you didn't have enough money so got your Meriva without engine?

Load area is large enough, but if you need more space, back seats can be folded down or even just moved forward. The best thing is 60L compartment below boot floor.

I'm quite satisfied with my Meriva.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

2003 Opel Meriva Enjoy 1.6 from Portugal

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Palio

Summary:

Practical, secure and with brilliant flexibility

Faults:

Some parasitic noises in the plastics, near the date/temperature central display.

The final price had a deviation of +800€ from the agreed one when ordered, due to an abnormal increase in the base price from the manufacturer. Very annoying.

A standard item (at the time of the order) was missing. Apparently it is now (only now!) an optional item. Very annoying.

General Comments:

The Easytronic robotized gear is marvelous at its simplicity and smoothness.

It seams very secure, handling very well all kind of roads and weather.

Very comfortable to up to 4 people (I have two small kids).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

2003 Opel Meriva Cosmo 1.6 16v from Portugal

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carOpel Meriva

Faults:

The car has too many plastics.

General Comments:

The Opel Meriva is a family car, for travel. The motor 1.6 16v is good, although at lower rpm it's a bit slow, because of its weight.

It's very comfortable, it has a lot of space and it's very versatile.

The design is very modern, although the rear needs a spoiler to look even better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews