Opel Meriva Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Opel Meriva CDTi 1.7L from Netherlands

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.7L Manual
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance81000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Good

General Comments:

I've had this car for 3 weeks now and I'm pleased with it. It accelerates quickly enough, and is stable enough to drive it at top speed (185 km/h on the display) on the highway. It has a lot of room inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2007

2006 Opel Meriva 1.5 dci 1.5 from Belgium

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carVolvo V50

Summary:

It's an expensive car for what it's worth

Faults:

We have this car as a leasing-car at work.

We got 5 of them, and after 2000km, one of them already needed to fill up his oil again! It was completely empty.

Because the car isn't large in width, and it's rather high, it's very dangerous to drive more than 120km/h on the highway (car starts floating with the wind)

The engine is also not powerfull enough to make acceleration on the highway.. But this will be better when there's a better engine inside.

General Comments:

* Expensive car for what it's worth

* Bad control when making higher speeds

* Not enough acceleration (engine related)

* Engine really drinks diesel! > only around 680km with full tank.

* advantage : the modulation of the back seats is nice when you want to take a lot of stuff with you (much space)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

5th Dec 2006, 08:28

As far as I know, there is no 1.5dci engine in Meriva. There are 1.3 CDTI and 1.7 CDTI diesel engines available. Also, it's known that some cars are more sensitive to strong wind than others, but let's not exaggerate about how dangerous it is to drive over 120km/h.

31st Mar 2007, 03:06

I must say that I feel the review on this vehicle is harsh, it is a vehicle that does not have very much competition in my country and we only have the 1.7 diesel. In terms of economy I am unable to comment, how ever I found the drive to be fun and the car is responsive, it may be influenced by wind, but I thought it still had a very good road handling and was ready to do more at 120 km/h.

4th Feb 2008, 16:02

A meriva is my daily driver and I never had problems with the wind. I use it to go on vacation from France to Spain and I never felt that the wind was an issue.

23rd Sep 2008, 08:32

Don't buy an Opel and complain that its not a BMW.

2004 Opel Meriva 1.6 Easytronic from Singapore

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Easytronic Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance2100 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Perfect car, but takes time to learn how to drive because of Easytronic

Faults:

1. Handbrake must pull in full when park on sloop (this is dangerous)

2. Car jerks when slowing down during Automatic mode (any one has this experience?)

General Comments:

1. I was advised to shift to Neutral gear when parking. But using handbrake alone to hold the car is dangerous on a sloop (I hit a Nissan Sunny in front of me because the car was still moving!). Can any one advise me whether I can keep at Drive mode when car is stopped and parked ?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

16th Feb 2005, 03:44

The Easytronic transmission is not a full automatic transmission and has a specific way of shifting. Check with Opel/Vauxhall's web site on this transmission works because apparently Easytronic does not have a Park mode.

9th Mar 2005, 02:52

I drive a Meriva myself and when I got my car, the Opel salesperson told me that parking in gear is OK. In fact, he recommended parking in gear when on a slope.

Also remember to turn your wheels to they point to the kerb. This way, if the car rolls for whatever reason, it will be stopped by the curb. Assuming of course that you're parking beside a kerb!

15th Mar 2005, 01:25

The Meriva is actually a manual gear box, hence it will not run smooth when in auto mode. Similarly, the jerking before coming to a stop is probably due to the down shifting of gears back to 1. I an driving a Meriva and encounter this problem too. In fact this is the most irritating problem with Meriva, but if you get used to it, it should be fine.

As mentioned in one of the comments, I always engage to neutral as there is no Park mode. the best solution is try not to park on slopes, which I think Singapore you can hardly any parking on steep slopes.

23rd Sep 2007, 12:00

I've found that it is possible to park in gear with the Easytronic gearbox.

Park up in Auto or Manual, leaving it in 1st gear, and pull the key out without switching back to neutral.

The car will stay in gear (you can take the handbreak off and it will rock slightly).

This isn't an ideal solution, but I use this when parking on steep inclines as a backup should the handbreak not hold.

Note however, the manual doesn't discuss this, and says to always park in neutral, so I can't vouch for this being the correct method.

Having said that, I've not been on a hill yet where the handbreak doesn't hold the Meriva, but I suppose it depends on the load you're carrying.

23rd Jan 2009, 11:48

Opel Meriva CDTi. Anyone with oil leakage from oil filter??? Told there are particular ways of fitment?? Please comment if you have had this problem?

Many thanks

H.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews