Daewoo Cielo Reviews from South Africa - Page 2 of 2

1997 Daewoo Cielo GLX 1.5 DOHC 16v

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

Coil in the distributor blew at 70,000km.

L/H window (power) stopped working at 80,000.

Water pump went at 105,000.

General Comments:

Performance with the 1.5 16V engine is adequate, but most 1300s will blow you off.

Fuel consumption is from 7l/100km to 9l/100km. This is driving fairly hard.

The car is serviced and repaired by myself, so I can't comment on dealer service. Parts in South Africa are very expensive from the dealer.

The car's forte is cruising on the open road. At 120km/h the motor is turning at 3100 RPM which makes for relaxed and quiet motoring. Just be prepared to down shift on the hills to maintain momentum.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 00:24

I am surprised at the comments about performance - my 1.5 drills most BMW 316i's that I come across, and flies up hills at a great rate of knots. I think it is called a Cielo 150 because that is its cruising speed! Mine (two of, one for me, one for my wife) have been serviced by the agents, maybe they know some tricks.

9th Oct 2003, 08:39

My Cielo is now on 234000KM, but it still goes. The only major problem I have is, Taking off fast as in pull the car, after a while when I get to a stop street the rev drops below half (-500rpm),and starts smoking like it's cutting out and then cuts-out, but eventually it comes right after a while. The dealer has since told me it's generating too much electricity, i got it tested and the electricity if fine. anyone with a solution to this problem would really be appreciated. Otherwise she goes like a boeing.

22nd Mar 2004, 05:27

My GLX did me in at 48000.Timing belt gave in and damaged all the valves. Well I still cannot understand why it lack permanent revs-Always above or below 1000rpm.The headlights are really poor and change of Bulb makes them even poorer.

The auto window switch was a failure on part of the Manufacturer because I have two door windows dead already at 78000.Otherwise it's a great car worth the comfort.

Benjah.

1st Dec 2004, 16:49

I have a GTX model and it has done 100.000kms no problem, now I changed the engine and put a Vauxhall 2ltr 16 valve!.Now the car flies, not that with the 1.5 dohc the car was slow (190kms),but now I can take it up to 240kms!

10th May 2013, 18:47

Take out the immobiliser! It worked for me. I had the same problem.

1997 Daewoo Cielo L 1.5 Petrol

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.5 Petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Repeated tappet cover gasket oil leaks.

Oil sensor switch leak. Idling irregular. Repeated attempts to convince dealer to fix idling and stalling when pulling off have fallen on deaf ears. Ignition leads replaced free of charge at 65000km. Didn't solve problem. Very poor after sales service in general. R/H front window winder seized. Driver seat locks in position at times. Brake fluid and cooling liquid not replaced as per service schedule.

Dealer unable or unwilling to adjust front wheel alignment. Problems right from the start. L/F tyre replaced at 10000km due uneven wear. Had to eventually have proper wheel alignment done myself at independent dealer.

General Comments:

Car purchased new with 3 year/100 000km maintenance plan (was included in purchase price). Haven't paid a cent for services as yet;(maybe the cause of poor servicing). Has been very reliable, and economical. Avg fuel consumption over life of car 7,5liter/100km.

Overall quite happy with the product, but disgusted with the service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 1999

12th Jun 2001, 02:01

I own a 1997 150iL 5 door Hatch. To date it has done 146000 km's.

Had to redo the front brakes.

Blown head gasket at +/-80 000km's (fixed under warranty).

Fairly happy with my local dealer whom I bought the car from.

Still going strong despite the high milage and uses no oil.

Overall impressed by the reliability of car.

27th Jan 2007, 14:16

I have had a cielo 1500 cc 1997 for nearly 2 years now. consumption has been great on the open road. 15km/l. town driving obviously not as good. things that have needed attention are.

Water system - man oh man. I eventually routed the heater loop out of the equation as a pipe had cracked behind the firewall. I just hooked it up into the surge tank. problem solved.

The clutch cable just went the other day - it was the plastic/rubber parts of the cable - just perished. check them out.

Trying to find out info for my new water leak - where the I think water temp. sensor plugs in. at the bottom of the motor on the right. 3 prong plug.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 4 reviews