1997 Daewoo Cielo Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1997 Daewoo Cielo SLX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance93100 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

I am very happy that I bought this car

Faults:

Radiator fracture discovered at 60,000 km. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

When I first saw this car I was a bit hesitant. The Korean cars were all so cheap compared to the local made Australian cars. But when I found out about the free care where Daewoo pays for all the servicing for the first three years I was sold. It would be in Daewoo's interest to make a good car.

I have not been disappointed. For over four years I have driven this car it has never failed to start first go. It has never let me down. It has been great to have such a reliable car.

It may not be the sportiest car on the road, but it can travel comfortably at 140km when I get to open it up out on a country road. It is good on the petrol as well.

I am so happy with my Cielo and Daewoo, that I have just bought a brand new Leganza.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2001

30th Oct 2006, 02:31

The little car is up to 105,000 km now. Had to have the head gasket changed over at about 90,000. Need to replace the exhaust which is still original, but rattling a bit. Driver’s seat is sagging a little and plastic mat on floor is starting to wear through.

Otherwise it’s still a reliable car that is still going strong and in 10 years has never left me stranded. Service is taken over by GM Holden here in Australia and the local dealership seems to be doing a pretty good job of it.

After almost 10 years I am still happy with this car.

13th Nov 2008, 06:12

So two years further on and the cars still going fine. The interior visor clips have broken but I have replacements on order. Spare parts seems to be not an issue. I had a small accident and needed the front bumper fixed. All the bits were freely available brand new.

I just had the 120,000 km book service done. I'd not had it serviced for two years due to low km’s. Needs a gasket for the head cover and the reverse light switch has failed. Also the window wipers have some surface rust on the arms that I should really deal with. Apart from that no other problems.

Still starts every time, very economical on the fuel and feels solid to drive. Quite exceptional for an 11 year old car.

1997 Daewoo Cielo GLX 1.5 DOHC 16v from South Africa

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

Coil in the distributor blew at 70,000km.

L/H window (power) stopped working at 80,000.

Water pump went at 105,000.

General Comments:

Performance with the 1.5 16V engine is adequate, but most 1300s will blow you off.

Fuel consumption is from 7l/100km to 9l/100km. This is driving fairly hard.

The car is serviced and repaired by myself, so I can't comment on dealer service. Parts in South Africa are very expensive from the dealer.

The car's forte is cruising on the open road. At 120km/h the motor is turning at 3100 RPM which makes for relaxed and quiet motoring. Just be prepared to down shift on the hills to maintain momentum.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 00:24

I am surprised at the comments about performance - my 1.5 drills most BMW 316i's that I come across, and flies up hills at a great rate of knots. I think it is called a Cielo 150 because that is its cruising speed! Mine (two of, one for me, one for my wife) have been serviced by the agents, maybe they know some tricks.

9th Oct 2003, 08:39

My Cielo is now on 234000KM, but it still goes. The only major problem I have is, Taking off fast as in pull the car, after a while when I get to a stop street the rev drops below half (-500rpm),and starts smoking like it's cutting out and then cuts-out, but eventually it comes right after a while. The dealer has since told me it's generating too much electricity, i got it tested and the electricity if fine. anyone with a solution to this problem would really be appreciated. Otherwise she goes like a boeing.

22nd Mar 2004, 05:27

My GLX did me in at 48000.Timing belt gave in and damaged all the valves. Well I still cannot understand why it lack permanent revs-Always above or below 1000rpm.The headlights are really poor and change of Bulb makes them even poorer.

The auto window switch was a failure on part of the Manufacturer because I have two door windows dead already at 78000.Otherwise it's a great car worth the comfort.

Benjah.

1st Dec 2004, 16:49

I have a GTX model and it has done 100.000kms no problem, now I changed the engine and put a Vauxhall 2ltr 16 valve!.Now the car flies, not that with the 1.5 dohc the car was slow (190kms),but now I can take it up to 240kms!

10th May 2013, 18:47

Take out the immobiliser! It worked for me. I had the same problem.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews