2005 Isuzu KB Series LX 3.0 turbo diesel


Reliability defined is Isuzu


Just one oil leak; nothing more than that.

General Comments:

Amazing. I mostly do long distance driving, have got 265/R16 tyres on, and it gets me 12 kms per liter.

In the last 7 years of ownership, it has never broken down on me. It has had most of its major services at the dealer, and it's still going strong.

My son has a KB D-TEQ with about 80000 kms, and has had no problems yet.

I would recommend Isuzu to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2012

28th Dec 2012, 15:22

She has now got 380000kms on her, and still no problems

2002 Isuzu KB Series KB 300 turbo diesel


It forfills my needs, and I made the right choice at the time


Universal joint worn out once. Not unusual for a pick-up. Easy fix.

Both hand brake cables broke.

Replaced some front disc pads - no abnormal wear.

Replaced rear brake pads once.

Replaced battery once.

Replaced water pump at 210 000km.

I do my own servicing every 10 000km, and take it to dealer or independent workshop for major services.

No (or very little) smoke at the moment. Little (or no) oil usage between services. Considering servicing the injectors soon.

General Comments:

Comfortable combination between a workhorse and family car.

Easy on long trips.

Although not as refined as newer pick-ups, it works for me, and it will last many more years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2010

2009 Isuzu KB Series 250 D-Teq Le




Calipers - The calipers have had to be replaced at every service. Yes I drive on a dirt road that is not very well maintained 90% of the time, however I feel this a bit extensive. I would like to know if anyone has had the same result, and what the outcome has been?

Shock absorbers - have had to be replaced before 65 000km's.

General Comments:

I really love the car. It has awesome space, it rides really smooth, although I do find it a bit of a slug when I want to overtake vehicles doing 140km/h. Nonetheless, it is fantastic.

I get an average of 13km/L when driving 120km/h. It runs really smooth, only getting up to three thousand revs when doing 130km/h. I drive the car really hard, and enjoy a smooth ride on really bad dirt roads.

I would have preferred suicide doors to get into the back (it's a cab and a half), but other than that, I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2010

12th Nov 2010, 12:40

Hi there.

I have purchased a 2009 KB 250 D-tech D/cab with 43000kms on 2 months ago, and am now standing on 56000kms. None of the above problems, brakes or shocks.

I have encountered a problem with the idling... there is a flat spot that occurs when the engine is hot. GM have "sorted" it out, but I came back from Ellisras today and it seems to be back again. I get 10.5 km/l with the aircon on and foot to the floor, and 11-11.5 km/l at 110/120 km/h.

1997 Isuzu KB Series KB280LE D/T D/C


Disappointing and expensive to maintain


Oil seal front crankshaft 67,000 kms.

Right hand power window not working properly - since day 1. Dealer could not fix.

At 95,000km's injectors had to be replaced. Could be quality of South Africa's diesel, but surely an inferior product of ISUZU.

Driving shaft - off centered and transfer hub seal perished - reconditioned at 108,000 km.

At 125,000km the key on the front part of the crankshaft was worn out with the result that timing was completely out. Crankshaft has to be re-welded and machined, pulley replaced and oil seals. Total cost R7,000.00 (US$1,200.00)

Also new clutch and pressure plate at 125,000km.

General Comments:

Some dealers said it it is a manufacturing fault, but General Motors refused to offer any assistance saying it has more than 100,000kms on the odometer.

Engine noise terrible.

I will most certainly not buy an ISUZU vehicle ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

1984 Isuzu KB Series LE 1.8 petrol


This reliable vehicle is a pleasure to drive and I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone


When I first got the vehicle it was in a very poor condition (at least two pistons were cracked, the crankshaft had seized and the body was covered in surface rust).

Since I overhauled the engine and resprayed the body I have had very few mechanical or rust-related problems.

When I first started driving it long distance the gearbox seized (only once) and it was relatively cheap to replace.

I have replaced the clutch cable two or three times and the accelerator cable once.

The bench seat has been re-stuffed once. Other than that it has remained in a decent condition.

The hazard lights stopped working and need to be repaired.

At the moment it is quite heavy on fuel, but I am changing to radial tires and getting the fuel system checked.

General Comments:

This vehicle has performed remarkably well considering its 20-year age.

I have driven this vehicle across my country (South Africa) at least eight times with very few minor problems.

Parts are readily available and not too costly.

It handles like a dream. I have 205R14C tires which make it seriously hug the road.

The cab is in almost-new condition (including original carpeting, dash and steering wheel). The only things I have replaced are the knob on the gear-lever and the stereo system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

1997 Isuzu KB Series KB 200 Standard 2.0 Fuel Injection


Isuzu could be a lot cheaper to run


Noisy suspension requiring replacement of ball joints 2 times at 90,000 and at 130,000 Km

Clutch kit replaced 2 times at 80,000 and at 130,000 Km

Starter replaced at 75,000

Exhaust System replaced with stainless steel type at 54,000 Km.

General Comments:

The truck is very fuel efficient with the best consumption of 8.4 Liters per 100 Km and is quite fast

It has been a benchmark in comfort

However, the engine noise very intrusive into the Truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

24th Sep 2007, 10:16

I own a '97 Isuzu KB 200 with about 300 000 memorable kilometers underneath it. However, it has been a bit twitchy on the road recently. The problem occurs when it's traveling at speeds above 80 and 110 kph. It swings from side to side, although there are no cross winds. Should I replace the shocks or the steering system?

Overall, it's a beautiful machine designed to go on forever. Very economic, very fast, but a little lazy in muddy conditions unless carrying a load.