1996 Opel Astra 1.6i petrol

Summary:

A legend

Faults:

Fantastic car. Had oil pressure issues, and has had a cabin leak in the front, which still eludes me; I was told she would needed to be stripped and thoroughly checked.

General Comments:

Fantastic car, besides the oil pressure problem, serviced her once, and had no problems since. Light on fuel. Will miss her when I get a later model... Have grown quite attached to the old girl.

The car handles well, with my Pirelli Pzero 17 inch alloys, hugs the road like a go cart. Slower to pick up speed in the lower gears; 4th gear terrible, 5th gear is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2011

1993 Opel Astra IE 160

Faults:

Nothing other than usual running things like spark plugs or gaskets, but other than that it's great.

General Comments:

This car handles great.

It's light on fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2008

1999 Opel Astra IE 200 Euro

Summary:

This car is a poor man's mercedes!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The car is really fast and road handling is excellent. There's always enough power available, can clock 210km/h fairly easily, but can be noisy. Fuel consumption is relatively excellent, can get over 600km on a full tank (very impressive for a 2 litre engine).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2006

10th Sep 2012, 08:11

I have sincerely enjoyed driving my Opel Astra 1.8L Ecotec engine. She is definitely a beauty on the road; fast and definitely furious. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone with an affordable budget.

Great Opel.

1999 Opel Astra CDX 2.0 16v

Summary:

Great car, very underrated!

Faults:

Cam belt tensioner needs replacement every 40000km or so (becomes very noisy), Air conditioner pipes runs too close to exhaust manifold and as a result mine had to be replaced at 120000km's.

General Comments:

Brilliant road holding & handling, excellent economy for a 2,0l. Very comfortable car on the open road. Very good performance especially once it's going over 120km/h. Quiet - easy to exceed speed limit without noticing!

Running costs & services are on the expensive side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

2005 Opel Astra Sport 1.8

Faults:

Passenger window cannot be operated from the driver console. The vehicle has been in the workshop for a week and a half, still the problem is not resolved. The irony is, that this was a demo vehicle that was driven by the manger for new car sales!

General Comments:

The sales and after sales service has been extremely disappointing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

2005 Opel Astra 1.6 Enjoy 1.6 Twinport petrol

Summary:

Great Car, Great Price

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Great hatch-back. The 1.6 Twinport is some-what underpowered for driving in town and from robot to robot. On the open road it runs beautifully. Nice solid quiet drive. The fuel consumpsion is great (7.5l/100km). Car is packed with luxeries.

Overall great value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

1998 Opel Astra Euro 200iE 2.0 petrol

Summary:

The most car you can get for the money

Faults:

Air conditioner compressor replaced under warranty at 80000km.

General Comments:

Most car you can get for this money. If it was a 1.6 or 1.8 I might have sold it by now, but the 2 litre engine gives it real character. Pulls from low low down, huge torque, and makes the car feel much bigger than it is.

Handling is average, the chassis is a bit wobbly and steering a bit slow, but grip levels are good. Lots of safe understeer if you overdo it.

Very comfortable, no major rattles or squeaks even after 125000 km. Gets a bit noisy at 130+ km/h, could use a 6th gear, more than enough power for it. Hits 200 fairly easily.

More than enough room, done several long trips with 4 people in car, and even loaded up, performance on the open road is lovely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

3rd Jan 2007, 03:48

I agree. The car is a pleasure to drive. My father bought the 200iSE EURO and it now has 240K km and he still does not want to sell it.

I have the 200iE EURO with 124K km and the only problem I have is that my gearbox is very tight. It does not seem to catch the gears very smoothly - especially 3rd. I had the same stiffness on my 160iS Kadette, but not as bad as on the 200iE.

Are there any remedies? Is my problem unique?

18th Jan 2010, 19:04

Wow, I've had the same problem with my 160is. Certain days gears feel tight, but reliable and fast none the less. I'm only writing this cause I'm thinking of the 200ise as my next car. Gotta love it.

21st Apr 2012, 06:24

I have a 200 IE Euro. Had the motor redone, so oversized pistons, Vernier pulley, exhaust system.

The car runs like a dream. Fuel consumption is very good. I've done from Nelspruit to JHB in 1 hour and 30.

13th Jul 2013, 15:55

Hey, where did you take your car for the redo; I definitely need to do my car as well. I drive the 200iS euro 1998 model; I have bad oil leaking, bad vibration, my power steering oils leaks as well; in short, I need to take it for a redo. Please assist with details. You can send them to jason.pienaar3@gmail.com

Thank you.