1992 Opel Rekord GSI 3.8 V6

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

One major fault on the GSI models was the fact that you can't get a replacement clutch kit.

General Comments:

Beautiful car, still own one to this day and it's running strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2014

1993 Opel Rekord 380CD 3.8 V6

Summary:

Excellent and great fun

Faults:

Air condioner needed to be regassed at 106000, never worked properly.

L/H exhaust manifold cracked at 153000.

Crank pulley replaced at 173000 km.

General Comments:

Very torquey from low revs all the way to 5000 RPM.

Interior still in excellent condition, no marks or cracks on leather seats, carpets still like new, interior can definitely withstand time and weather. Paintwork still good, full of stone chips though.

It's a vehicle that is a pleasure to own, thirsty when driven hard, but handles well. I fitted 205/65/15 tyres that improved the economy, and the speedometer is now only 2 km out. Will not easily get rid of this vehicle. LOVE IT TO BITS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2011

26th May 2013, 08:32

I too own a CD 380i. The problem that I have is that my speedometer jumps around all the time, and I'm not sure what the problem is. Can you advise?

Must agree with you that this car is an absolute pleasure to drive. It's heavy on fuel if driven hard, but what the hell.

You can mail me at shamiel.samuels@uct.ac.za

Brgds

Shamiel Samuels

0789245994

1980 Opel Rekord GL 2.3

Summary:

They don't build cars like these anymore

Faults:

Manifold gasket kept blowing even after being skimmed and would only last for 1500kms. Now that I replaced the manifold, it seems fine and hopefully not just time being.

I believe that it is fitted with and original carburetor. I experience that the vehicle does surge on pull away.

General Comments:

My Rekord is still badged as a Chevrolet. It belonged to an old lady who drove really little. After 28 years it only has 91 000km on the clock. I could not believe my eyes when I went to inspect the vehicle. It even still had the original blue water pump fitted when I bought it.

The car is mostly still in original condition and the back seat hardly sat on... No not for that!

I have received numerous offers on the car and am wanting to keep it though for sentimental reasons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2008

18th Aug 2009, 09:35

Nice that you enjoy this car so much, I own a 1991 S.A. Rekord 200i and like it for all that it is.. (own a few german Rekords as well).

Do you have some info on the 2.3 liter engine? I would like to see some pics of your car too (very curious, I'm an Opel Rekord fan!).

Thanks!

Ps: I found out that it is very hard too find a workshop book on these S.A. Rekords as well on any technical info on the web.

13th Jan 2010, 07:31

Seeing that my dad once owned the 2.0 GL way back, I received a workshop manual in 1992. I shall gladly send photo's to you, should I have an e-mail address provided by yourself.

We could even then exchange photo's of the vehicles.

1992 Opel Rekord GSI 3.8

Summary:

Really great and fun to drive

Faults:

Pick up on crank pulley packed up at 150000km.

Started jumping out of reverse and clutch went at 160000km. Could not find reverse idler from agents, thus not repaired, car is worth approx. R15000.00 and new clutch kit from agents cost over R7000.00. Had Clutch and pressure plate rebuilt, but now it shudders.

Very little rust under rear windscreen, had repaired in 2005.

Seats have worn badly, headrests started falling apart. Had all repaired as well.

Speedometer has never worked properly, first jumping up and down all the time, now the needle stops at 40km when not going and never goes higher than 110 km.

Air conditioning is really weak and the car never really cools down inside on a hot summer day.

General Comments:

This car goes extremely well. She does approx. 140 km/h at 2400 rpm. I tow a boat and sometimes a caravan and never have I driven a car with so much torque.

She is fun to drive and handles really well.

I think this car was only built with these specs in South Africa with a Holden 3.8L V6 from Australia and a Borg Warner T5 V8 Gearbox.

Spare parts are a problem because you only get them from the agents and most parts are no longer available. Second hand parts are also a problem because very few of these cars end up in scrap yards.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

30th Apr 2009, 07:02

I also have a GSi 92. On my car the crank pulley went and also the diff, but I sourced an LSD for cheap.

Just one correction, the engine is not from Australia, but rather a Buick LN3 engine. ;)

1989 Opel Rekord GL 2.0i

Summary:

When I'm on my deathbed I'll get up, take it for a spin and go lie down for the last time

Faults:

The head gasket went while my dad still had the car, roughly 120000k's ago. The mechanic where we had it fixed forgot to put oil and water in the car. After my dad drove home he topped up the oil, but didn't check the water. Only after a +/- 2000km trip a day or two afterwords did the engine go, but still drove home the rest of the way. The block was bored slightly and crank was cut.

Afterwords head gasket went two times. Gasket spacer was inserted last time and runs fine now.

Viscus fan broke. Runs with engine now.

General Comments:

Interior still looks very good. Just exterior has dents and rust spots that has not been looked at. I'm saving money to redo the entire body.

Extremely comfortable seats.

Excellent road holding considering 175/80/14 tires.

Even with heavy, solid body, still performs very well.

Gets a lot of respect for doing some awesome first-reverse-firsts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

18th Aug 2009, 08:06

Do you still have this car? These things are great!