Opel Rekord Reviews

1992 Opel Rekord GSI 3.8 V6 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1992
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Manual
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

One major fault on the GSI models was the fact that you can't get a replacement clutch kit.

General Comments:

Beautiful car, still own one to this day and it's running strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th March, 2014

1993 Opel Rekord 380CD 3.8 V6 from South Africa

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 kilometres
Most recent distance195731 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Excellent and great fun

Faults:

Air condioner needed to be regassed at 106000, never worked properly.

L/H exhaust manifold cracked at 153000.

Crank pulley replaced at 173000 km.

General Comments:

Very torquey from low revs all the way to 5000 RPM.

Interior still in excellent condition, no marks or cracks on leather seats, carpets still like new, interior can definitely withstand time and weather. Paintwork still good, full of stone chips though.

It's a vehicle that is a pleasure to own, thirsty when driven hard, but handles well. I fitted 205/65/15 tyres that improved the economy, and the speedometer is now only 2 km out. Will not easily get rid of this vehicle. LOVE IT TO BITS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2011

26th May 2013, 08:32

I too own a CD 380i. The problem that I have is that my speedometer jumps around all the time, and I'm not sure what the problem is. Can you advise?

Must agree with you that this car is an absolute pleasure to drive. It's heavy on fuel if driven hard, but what the hell.

You can mail me at shamiel.samuels@uct.ac.za

Brgds

Shamiel Samuels

0789245994

1980 Opel Rekord GL 2.3 from South Africa

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Distance when acquired59642 miles
Most recent distance90164 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

They don't build cars like these anymore

Faults:

Manifold gasket kept blowing even after being skimmed and would only last for 1500kms. Now that I replaced the manifold, it seems fine and hopefully not just time being.

I believe that it is fitted with and original carburetor. I experience that the vehicle does surge on pull away.

General Comments:

My Rekord is still badged as a Chevrolet. It belonged to an old lady who drove really little. After 28 years it only has 91 000km on the clock. I could not believe my eyes when I went to inspect the vehicle. It even still had the original blue water pump fitted when I bought it.

The car is mostly still in original condition and the back seat hardly sat on... No not for that!

I have received numerous offers on the car and am wanting to keep it though for sentimental reasons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2008

18th Aug 2009, 09:35

Nice that you enjoy this car so much, I own a 1991 S.A. Rekord 200i and like it for all that it is.. (own a few german Rekords as well).

Do you have some info on the 2.3 liter engine? I would like to see some pics of your car too (very curious, I'm an Opel Rekord fan!).

Thanks!

Ps: I found out that it is very hard too find a workshop book on these S.A. Rekords as well on any technical info on the web.

13th Jan 2010, 07:31

Seeing that my dad once owned the 2.0 GL way back, I received a workshop manual in 1992. I shall gladly send photo's to you, should I have an e-mail address provided by yourself.

We could even then exchange photo's of the vehicles.

1979 Opel Rekord Luxus 2.0 from Germany

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen K 70

Summary:

All the transportation you'll ever need

Faults:

Apart from normal wear (brakes, clutch, shocks etc.), the only major problem was a leaky fuel tank because of serious corrosion.

Rust is also a problem at the body, but it is manageable when you don't wait too long.

General Comments:

This was one of the best-selling cars in Europe in the late 70s and early 80s, because of its many virtues:

It wasn't expensive, neither in purchasing nor in maintenance (and it still isn't).

It is very roomy and comfortable.

With the top engine (110 hp), it really was a fast car.

It was available in many different versions from basic and simple to luxurious or sporty (in Germany even a version for hunters or forest wardens was available)

Although its overall appearance is hardly modern, it still has a rather timeless look (most people estimate the age of my car at 10 to 12 years, while in fact it is 28 years old!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews