1992 Volkswagen Golf CSX 1.8

Summary:

It's mind blowing good build

Faults:

The waterpump failed after 171000km.

Body has dents.

General Comments:

The car has a lot of pulling power from 0-100Km in 9.2 seconds (is standard).

It gives me 18km per liter.

The interior is still like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2010

2002 Volkswagen Golf TDi 1.9 turbo diesel

Summary:

A fun car to drive, but unreliable, and I seemed to select a poor dealer

Faults:

The turbo unit started malfunctioning at 30,000 km.

The dealer was unable to identify the fault until the turbo unit failed completely at 45,000 km.

This left me with uncertain power (i.e. major problems overtaking) for over a year.

The driver's window winder broke at 60,000 km early in December. The dealer took until the middle of January to get the part and repair it.

The front passenger window winder broke at 90,000 km.

The water pump broke at 125,000 km, and it took the dealer a week to repair it.

The car now has power "flutters", suggesting the turbo unit may be on the way out again.

General Comments:

This is a fun car to drive, but one of the less reliable cars I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2010

2nd Sep 2012, 16:04

Check the vacuum line to the turbo.

1986 Volkswagen Golf City 1.3

Summary:

It's a good car, but need to sort out the problem

Faults:

I was driving and the car suddenly just cut out. It won't start and the dash board lights don't go on when switching the car on. There was no noise or shutter when the car cut out. It didn't over heat, as I know it has done before when I am stuck in traffic. The engine seems fine. I think it might be an electrical problem, but can't really place where.

If anyone has had a similar problem, please tell me what you did to fix the problem, as I am wanting to sell the car, but can't do so when it won't start.

General Comments:

Car runs fine.

Over heats when in bumper to bumper traffic.

Uses a lot of oil.

Everything else seems to be fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2009

1980 Volkswagen Golf GL Diesel 1.6 litre diesel (non turbo)

Summary:

A reliable workhorse!

Faults:

The clutch was replaced under warranty at 40000 km. At 210 000 km the clutch was replaced again and I also fitted a rebuilt gearbox at that stage.

General Comments:

One of the best cars I've ever owned. Reliable, extremely economical, and it was always a pleasure to drive. Dealer service was used throughout the life of the car and it was a pleasure dealing with the VW dealers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2005

1997 Volkswagen Golf CTi 1.8 8v petrol

Summary:

A Demon

Faults:

Cluth gives problem. stiff and tears through fire wall..

Water leakage at the rear window..

Noise comes through front windows when driving...

General Comments:

Dam quick.. can take most cars in pull off, in the same engine range aswell as some cars with higher engine capacity..

Standard bucket seats comfortable..

Handles pretty good.. but better now as I dropped the suspension..60mm front and 40mm back..

Fuel consumption not too bad considering the engine is in good condition..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2004

10th Dec 2004, 01:35

If you know how much kw does the CTI push out.

24th Dec 2004, 17:42

I believe it is the best golf 1 ever made. You should see the ones with 17 inch mag wheels, it's a small haven.

28th Dec 2004, 03:39

My CTi has got 260 000 km on the clock and is still going strong. I firmly believe it is one of the best cars ever produced. So much fun to drive and the power is amazing!!

1997 Volkswagen Golf GTS 1.8i

Summary:

Value

Faults:

All these things were replaced between 220000km and 250000km.

Original clutch was replaced (Gearbox seals perished leaking oil into the clutch plates)

Brake equalizer valve (Failed)

Front brake disks and pads (Worn)

Water pump (Failed)

Driver door lock (Failed)

Oil pressure sensor (Leaking oil)

Exhaust front pipe (Broke off)

Engine mountings (Worn)

Tie rod ends and ball joints (Worn, rough driving conditions)

Electric starter coil (Cracked)

My right bolster on the drivers side has worn badly. (Common)

Suspension has an irritating knock which apparently is a loose assembly spot weld. Probably caused from the many potholes I have hit.

I seem to replace my rear wheel bearings every year and no one can tell me why.

General Comments:

Although I have spent a small fortune on repairing this car I still feel that these cars offer good value, since other vehicles (apart from Toyota) do not have the same comfort and qualtiy of a 7 year old car with 300000 K's.

The car has aged beautifully, it still has a very modern look and not a spot of rust.

OEM Parts from the dealer are ridiculously expensive, especially if there is no pirate part available. 2nd hand spares are also relatively easy to come by.

This car is reasonably fuel efficient.

Brakes are not the greatest, but that has been VW's fault even before the MK3's.

The engine uses very little oil.

All in all a good quality vehicle which bears testament to the saying: "They don't make them like they used to!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

27th Aug 2008, 08:04

I own a 1996 GTS, had a 1993 GTI before, best trade I ever made.