Citroen C3 Pluriel Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 3 of 3

2003 Citroen C3 Pluriel i 1.4

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Seriously flawed and worst car buying decision I've ever made!

Faults:

I have never had the roof off, as it has been with the dealers for most of the good weather.

The roof seals leaked, and have been refitted 10 times, including the "new improved" type.

The last time the "new" seals were fitted, there was so much silicone sealer used that the rubber bulged... causing leaks!

The dealer told me the seals were OK until the roof is removed... not great news for a convertible!

I have also been told not to jet wash the car, as it will interfere with the seals!

I have owned the car for 18 months, and it has been back to the dealers on 15 occasions, the longest being for 2 months. It is due in again this week.

The electric window regulators in both driver & passenger door were faulty.

The seals have been replaced around the driver's door, passenger door, around the boot, and over the rear of the car.

The upholstery requires cleaning constantly, due to the water stains.

The glove box door could be opened by your little finger, even when locked. Citroen replaced the door twice, which did not resolve the problem. Even I could see that the door catch was not meeting properly. It turns out the only way to rectify this is to remove the dash completely, which of course is not cost effective, so they screwed a bit of plastic to the existing catch to elongate it... TOP JOB! It looks tacky and still does not work properly.

Car has had over £2500 of warranty work carried out, and is due for more.

The dealers have been less than helpful, and a number of my returns to them are due to shoddy work.

General Comments:

The car is nice to look at, but doesn't live up to its looks.

I bought it for its quirky design, but this was an error on my part. The quirky design is basically faulty, and the car is not fit for the purpose intended, i.e, as a convertible the design is completely flawed.

Probably great in warmer climates, but should not have been marketed in the UK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

13th Sep 2006, 06:43

I too thought the Pluriel was wonderful until it leaked, again I spent more time in the garage having it fixed than driving until due to the last lot of shoddy work at the garage and our dealer being generous, they asked if I would like to exchange to a C2, I will never again buy a Citroen as even my C2 has had problems and sounds like its about to fall apart, nice concepts, but not good to actually drive, I still wonder if every Pluriel I see has the same problem, as every time I took mine to the Garage there was a queue awaiting some more silicon implants, Please use this as a warning, seriously do not buy! You have been warned.

31st Aug 2009, 08:20

I have a 2008 model and have not had any problems with the roof leaking. Hopefully the design has improved over the years. I am a bit concerned about the "alternative" gear box. It doesn't change very smoothly and I've heard of a guy having to pay AUS$2000 to get it fixed.

2005 Citroen C3 Pluriel 1.4i

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Never drive anything else again!

Faults:

Nothing! most reliable car I've had to date.

General Comments:

We love the convertible roof, but don't get to use it very often unfortunately. car handles like a dream and manages to turn a few heads in the meantime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

2004 Citroen C3 Pluriel SX 1.4i

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1400 miles
Most recent distance14250 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Makes me feel like a proud parent!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I know I've only had my Pluriel for 5 days, but so far she is a dream. Handles beautifully, looks fantastic, gets me where I want to go in style.

What do you mean, the weather stops you taking the top down? We flick the switch every time we go out! If rain comes you flick the switch again - no problem!

The kids particularly like how the windows disappear completely when you put them all down...

I haven't quite worked out how to operate it, but I also love the display, which you can switch between mpg, mileage, and trip mileage. Maybe I'd love any new, digital-age car, but you've got to admit the Pluriel is special.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2005

2003 Citroen C3 Pluriel 1.6

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Summary:

A fun unique car

Faults:

Roof leaked after heavy rain, causing water marks on the interior trim.

Alarm seems very sensitive.

Light grey coloured seats seems to mark too easily, needs constant valeting.

General Comments:

A great little car for the time I owned it, unfortunately the British weather lets it down as you don't get enough days in the year to take the roof off.

Was quite heavy on petrol consumption, and I found that the SensoDrive gearbox blunts performance somewhat. Still, it turned heads and boasts the same charm as the original 2CV.

Not particularly practical, especially if you own a dog - still great fun to drive and own and that's what counts in the end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

18th Mar 2005, 11:04

I have had a C3 Pluriel since last August 2004 and although I am generally pleased with it, I do agree with many of the comments here.

It is quite heavy on fuel even compared to my previous car, which was a Saxo VTR which also had the 1.6i engine. The most economical way of driving the car seems to be in the manual mode, reserving Auto for stopstart driving.

The sensodrive has a few issues that can be a little frustrating. For example, if you are in Auto and slowing down for a left turn, it seems to have to "think" about changing down a gear.

Despite this, it's a nice car and different in a quirky way which I like. Provided you use the manual paddle or stick change it seems fine.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews