Dacia 1310 Review from UK and Ireland

1986 Dacia 1310 Roadster 1.4

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carLeyland Sherpa Van

Summary:

A good cheap run-around

Faults:

I had to do a lot of welding to the floor and around the joints.

I had trouble replacing the exhaust as they are not listed in any manufacturers catalogue in England.

The brakes let me down when they got stuck on and caused a fire on the rear hub which in turn made the rear wheel explode in flames.

General Comments:

I found the car cheap to run, but at high speeds the canvas roof made a deafening noise with the rattling of the clips.

I solved the rattling roof by applying a layer of foam matting below the canvas, this also helped to keep the heat in during winter.

The seats were like sitting in an arm chair, everyone that sat in the car found them to be comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

5th Sep 2001, 09:51

This is the truth. I would say it too.

2nd Sep 2002, 14:41

Spending much time in Romania and being very keen on Eastern European cars, I always look at the cars around me and I have seen a huge array of different variations on the Dacia theme, but I have never seen - or heard of - a Dacia 1310 Roadster. Please put me right- is it a proper convertible like, for example, a Mazda MX-5 or a Porsche Boxster, or just a normal saloon or coupe with a hole covered with canvas on the roof?

Thanks.

28th Apr 2004, 06:37

Really, how does a Dacia roadster look like? I never heard of this - Dacia roadster.

I'm from Romania, I've seen a million of these cars (?!) but never a roadster. Please describe it. If possible, add a photo or something. Thanks.

3rd Jun 2004, 02:42

That depends on what do you mean by "roadster".

There IS a...somewhat roadsterish Dacia model that was produced in quite limited quantity. It is called Dacia Sport or Dacia 1125 (don't remember exactly, but I guess there was a "25" in the number). It has only 2 doors and the back is not as tall.

22nd Jun 2004, 06:18

I must add this: it seems that actually it was sold a convertible in UK under Dacia name - only that it was not the car the most of us know, but Aro 10 - one of its variations.

2nd Dec 2009, 00:57

I have a car Dacia Duster Roadster (ARO 10.4 4x4 soft top). 'This is a great car!

Answer any questions.

Who can help you find technical documentation about this car?

It is very necessary!

Best regards

novikkost@rambler.ru

14th Jun 2011, 09:07

I was the proud owner of a Dacia Duster aro 10 roadster, convertible 4x4 ragtop way back in 1978.

The gearbox fell off and I sold it to a Dacia dealer in Leigh-on-Sea southend UK. They would have a manual.

Boohoo.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 1 review