Dacia 1310 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1980 Dacia 1310 1.300 gasoline from Romania

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.300 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23 kilometres
Most recent distance146000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

A good car after all

Faults:

Well...of course as you can see, I'm from Romania and maybe I can't be objective, but everything what gone wrong whit the car was easy and cheap to fix even for a Romanian, about 90% from repairs I made, I didn't use a service workshop!The max amount summa for repairs in all these years is under 2000$...20 years!!!

This is not a sport car... but if you are interested you change your carburetor whit a double one and you might have some performance... of course you will use around 20l/100Km fuel.

General Comments:

Very cheap and reliable!

Not so comfortable.

You might have problems whit the heat in winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

1987 Dacia 1310 TX 1289cmc gasoline from Romania

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1289cmc gasoline Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72250 kilometres
Most recent distance98700 kilometres

Summary:

A medium performance for money less people

Faults:

No real problems experienced with this car.

General Comments:

Very cheap car, but you will get a performance car if you buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

2001 Dacia 1310 Confort 1.4 from Romania

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3200 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

A good car for the price

Faults:

Engine coolant started leaking, but I've found out it's a common problem of this model.

Trunk fails to lock, needing some effort.

The bodywork has some annoying vibrations at certain speeds.

General Comments:

It is a good car, fast, comfortable, but a little too light for the engine.

The engine and gearbox are excellent, probably the best parts of the car.

The suspensions need to be stiffer, because at high speeds the car is unstable, and if you drive a little spoty, you could have some unexpected surprises.

The interior is comfortable, well finished, but a little too "dark" for my taste.

In conclusion, it is good for a small, quiet family, but if you want some real performance a little tuning is needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2002

1997 Dacia 1310 TLX 1.4 petrol from Romania

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310 TLX 1987

Summary:

If you have a Dacia... sell it

Faults:

Almost everything.

The spare parts are cheap, but this will never make me buy another model of this car.

I changed the disc brakes three times (in warranty - which is limited to 10.000 km or one year) because it vibrated and the people from Dacia told me the reason is the cold water on rainy days.

The bodywork starts to become damaged after only 2 years.

General Comments:

It is a bad car!

I will never buy such a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

13th Jul 2004, 13:57

The Dacia is a fine car. I have a 1985 Dacia 1310 and it hasn't had one problem and the body integrity is nearly perfect. I've never seen an American car like a Ford or Chevy last that long while still holding it's body integrity and cleanliness. Even though Dacia's aren't the best car in the world, they can get you from point A to point B comfortably. Plus the 55 horsepower engine can take you to 144 km/h quickly. All the American cars have about 250 horses, but only go up to about 200 km/h. It doesn't matter what anyone else says, the Dacia is still the most popular car in Romania.

1996 Dacia 1310 TLX 1.4 petrol from Romania

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance43000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

A cheap, easy to use and repair car

Faults:

The main problem with this car was the gearbox. Although it has been repaired several times it makes strange sounds, especially when the first speed is selected.

Small problems with ignition - easily fixed.

The left rear shock absorber needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is based on a completely obsolete technology and it has very blocky shapes. The cabin is almost bare, but the seats are quite comfortable.

No attention to finish details and the paint is very thin.

Reliability was quite good for a 3500$ car. Also the spare parts are very cheap and easy to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1986 Dacia 1310 Roadster 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carLeyland Sherpa Van

Summary:

A good cheap run-around

Faults:

I had to do a lot of welding to the floor and around the joints.

I had trouble replacing the exhaust as they are not listed in any manufacturers catalogue in England.

The brakes let me down when they got stuck on and caused a fire on the rear hub which in turn made the rear wheel explode in flames.

General Comments:

I found the car cheap to run, but at high speeds the canvas roof made a deafening noise with the rattling of the clips.

I solved the rattling roof by applying a layer of foam matting below the canvas, this also helped to keep the heat in during winter.

The seats were like sitting in an arm chair, everyone that sat in the car found them to be comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

5th Sep 2001, 09:51

This is the truth. I would say it too.

2nd Sep 2002, 14:41

Spending much time in Romania and being very keen on Eastern European cars, I always look at the cars around me and I have seen a huge array of different variations on the Dacia theme, but I have never seen - or heard of - a Dacia 1310 Roadster. Please put me right- is it a proper convertible like, for example, a Mazda MX-5 or a Porsche Boxster, or just a normal saloon or coupe with a hole covered with canvas on the roof?

Thanks.

28th Apr 2004, 06:37

Really, how does a Dacia roadster look like? I never heard of this - Dacia roadster.

I'm from Romania, I've seen a million of these cars (?!) but never a roadster. Please describe it. If possible, add a photo or something. Thanks.

3rd Jun 2004, 02:42

That depends on what do you mean by "roadster".

There IS a...somewhat roadsterish Dacia model that was produced in quite limited quantity. It is called Dacia Sport or Dacia 1125 (don't remember exactly, but I guess there was a "25" in the number). It has only 2 doors and the back is not as tall.

22nd Jun 2004, 06:18

I must add this: it seems that actually it was sold a convertible in UK under Dacia name - only that it was not the car the most of us know, but Aro 10 - one of its variations.

2nd Dec 2009, 00:57

I have a car Dacia Duster Roadster (ARO 10.4 4x4 soft top). 'This is a great car!

Answer any questions.

Who can help you find technical documentation about this car?

It is very necessary!

Best regards

novikkost@rambler.ru

14th Jun 2011, 09:07

I was the proud owner of a Dacia Duster aro 10 roadster, convertible 4x4 ragtop way back in 1978.

The gearbox fell off and I sold it to a Dacia dealer in Leigh-on-Sea southend UK. They would have a manual.

Boohoo.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 15 reviews