2008 Daihatsu Sirion Reviews from UK and Ireland

2008 Daihatsu Sirion S 1.0

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carPeugeot Partner

Summary:

Cheap but practicable

Faults:

Steering rack started knocking at 20,000 miles. Main dealer wanted £850 with VAT and two weeks delivery date, as the part has to come from Japan. Went to a local car part suppliers and had a reconditioned part for £266, and it cost £72 for two hours labour to remove and fit the part at a local garage, and the tracking was £20, so a cheap repair...

General Comments:

The 1.0 3 cylinder engine is underpowered on motorway journeys and it doesn't do anywhere near 56 combined mpg as the manufacturer says. This 1.0 engine is OK in a Citroen C1 as it's a much lighter car overall; probably better having the 1.3 version.

Seats are comfy, cabin is cheap but practicable, no electric mirrors on the S model, so have to manually adjust the mirrors externally...

Body roll is excessive for a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2011

2008 Daihatsu Sirion SE 1.3

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Jimny

Summary:

Problematic!

Faults:

Gearbox bush failure (ongoing fault), steering rack-knocking/rough, rear lamps - moisture ingress, clutch cable/pedal-noise.

General Comments:

Drives and handles well.

Good economy.

'Roomy' for class.

Very comfortable.

Light and bright inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th October, 2009

8th Jan 2012, 13:37

Same here, I live in Malta. My Daihatsu had the steering rack changed 3 times, but for free, and now I have the modified version, which works well.

Lots of knocking comes from the caliper pins, which must be replaced every 1000 miles or so. Same problem with the rear lights also, although it sleeps in the garage and never outside.

Mine is a Sport 1.3 automatic.

2008 Daihatsu Sirion SE 1.0

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance6200 miles

Summary:

Very good buy, only cost me £7300, saving over £1000

Faults:

No faults as yet.

General Comments:

Easy to drive and park.

Very economical, have just come back from France, 1500 miles over 2 weeks. Going out with a large roof-box and 3 adults + 2 kids, average MPG was 42. Coming back with no roof-box, average MPG was 47.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2009

1st May 2009, 06:27

Is that fuel economy good? I must say that I've recently come back from Belgium to the UK and I've averaged 54mpg out of my heavy (though super comfortable) Volvo S60 with a 2.5 5-cylinder diesel engine... I know it's diesel, but with loads of power and safety, I think that 54mpg is excellent. And by the way, I'm 27 with a slightly heavy foot...! Surely driving a 1.0 litre car with no power or safety to France couldn't have been fun? Especially with those poor fuel figures... many new cars would beat them easily!

1st May 2009, 10:25

A good point-

Small, upright, light petrol cars make most sense in stop/start work, whereas higher geared aerodynamic diesel cars work best at long distance, fully loaded cruising.

I found my Sirion 1.0S would do 58mpg on a run and 48ish around town, which is laudable for a town car.

If I used your big car around town, it would not make sense - just like the Sirion is not best at long, fully loaded distance work. But the Sirion does cope admirably with this type of use, and makes sense as a daily town car and occasional distance car. Using a big car every day is not justifiable.

Good point, though!

2008 Daihatsu Sirion SE 1.0

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance2590 miles

Summary:

Easy to drive, and park

Faults:

Windows steam up a lot when the weather gets cold.

General Comments:

Good inside space. I am 6ft 2in and fit in with no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2009

2008 Daihatsu Sirion SE 1.3 petrol

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carSuzuki Ignis

Summary:

Good, but not quite as good as claimed?

Faults:

Automatic gearbox faulty on delivery (fixed).

Steering wheel not true (not fully fixed)

Puncture - not the fault of the car!

General Comments:

Have only owned this Sirion SE Automatic for 4 weeks, and initial impressions were that I'd made a terrible mistake. I'd driven 2 different demos (both automatics) at the dealer, and had been happy, but the gearbox on the car I bought whined loudly and idle was also noisy.

To cut a longer story short, I took it back and this is where I must take my hat off to Daihatsu and the dealer. It was decided to change the automatic gearbox, which was all done straightaway (over 3 days) while they lent me one of the demos I had previously tested. Brilliant service and the car is much better!

So now I'm reviewing what seems to be a normal Sirion 1.3SE Auto!

One could never call it the quietest car, but it's no worse than several others in this sector. The new gearbox still whines but you don't notice it much (I think they all do it), and it is smooth.

The engine gives adequate power - I was prepared for a drop in performance after my Ignis 1.5 auto, but it's not noticeable at all. The ride is quite nice for a small car (at this price), but it still crashes in and out of potholes, causing a front suspension thump/knock. Handles speed humps OK though. The steering is light and it's a very easy car to drive and park. Pity the steering wheel isn't true at straight-ahead position - the garage didn't quite manage to fix that - but it's closer than it was. I find it annoying but appreciate most probably wouldn't.

Economy is very good for an auto. Early figures indicate over 40mpg on a town & country commute of 25 miles a day. Haven't had it on a run yet but obviously it'll do better than that. It's lightness probably helps performance and economy - the brochures said it was 210kg lighter than the Splash. That's virtually 3 adults!

Interior-wise, it certainly is roomy, the boot is a good size and shape (considering the size of the car) and the seats are comfortable. Legroom is good, more so when you remove the huge lumps of polystyrene from under the front carpets. I've replaced the passenger side with thinner sound deadening material, cut to shape, and freed up a couple of inches of footroom. Why on earth is it there? It certainly has nothing to do with soundproofing, just disguises a beam in the floor, which can be done with alternative materials. Overall though, I can't see how they get so much room out of a car that's 4" shorter than the Splash and 6" shorter than the Ignis!

I agree with fellow-reviewer Geoff about the headrests moving when you don't want them to! Don't totally agree with him re build. The interior plastics scratch with a fingerail, the exterior paint's not much better. Many are similar, though, at this price. The keys needed a going-over with emery cloth - sharp edges caused the scratch on the plastic door trim which I managed on the day I bought it. Talk about offensive weapons!

The aircon seems adequate - a good compromise between draining too much power from the engine and reasonable cooling ability. But something I didn't notice on the test drives - the heater is incapable of any 'warm to the feet, cold to the face' facility. As every Japanese car I've owned has had this bi-level ability, I didn't even look for it. This to me is a huge snag. Neither am I impressed with the heater output. These days a volcanic heater is a given - not so with the Sirion. The output is moderate and - for the driver - warms your right leg but not your left! Only after about 10 miles does the whole footwell become warm enough not to notice, and by then the cabin is stuffy and all you can do is open a window. I know I should have tested the heating/ventilation before buying, but I didn't. My fault, but I'm not happy with this design.

There are certainly plenty of toys (which you can read about on the specs) and one or two nice touches. Eg: the interior lights all go off after you've left the doors open for 10 minutes - saves the battery! The dash is neat and everything works well. Much nicer since they put the rev-counter into the speedo pod on this face-lifted model. The stereo is far better than the Ignis - not that that's saying much!

Externally, I like the height of the tailgate. Unlike the Suzuki Splash (a serious contender for my money) which is a taller car but has a lower tailgate, you can't bang your head unless you're very tall. If you want a small van - as I often do - you've got it. The rear seat fold is easy and gives you a virtually flat loadbay. Generally, the car's an easy shape to clean, and the doors close nicely. Strange as it seems quite tinny otherwise.

To conclude, I would have bought the Splash had the boot been bigger, the tailgate lifted higher, the dash not had that distracting rev counter in a pod, and the A-pillars not affected vision at junctions so much. One or two of these points would not be a deal-breaker, but the combination was. There was also an internet review that said the auto gearbox was inclined to whine, and the dealer didn't have one to try. It was otherwise a nice drive, but the demo Sirion pipped it in the these areas. If they facelift the Splash in a couple of years, stretching it like they did the Ignis, I may well return to Suzuki...

I know everyone raves about the Sirion, and I'm sorry to disagree, but there are some less-attractive aspects of the car which probably need to be mentioned. Some will probably just think I'm being picky, but it's a review - that's what the site's for!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2008

29th Apr 2008, 12:25

Thanks for the response, Geoff - I thought I'd be torn to shreds! Although of course there's plenty of time yet - every other reviewer seems to love it...

Steering-wise, I didn't want them messing around with the geometry as it steers fine. I suggested they move the wheel round a spline or two. Don't know whether they did this but it obviously should have been a spline more! Have worked on cars extensively in the past and would do it myself, but am slightly concerned re airbag - does it need disturbing to unbolt the wheel and move it...?

I just missed the £500 increase, so paid £9620 (with champagne metallic paint). Got £5k p/x for the Ignis (no haggling required), which was over Glass's top price of £4600-odd and a lot better than Suzuki's offer of £4k. Not that I was too worried about the price - I was intent on the Splash until I had a good look round it. Pity - I liked a lot about it and like Suzuki as a brand and my local dealer are nice people (even though head office is a joke).

Agree that it's a great buy for £6500, but I'm happy with what I paid. If only the odd snags I've mentioned weren't there...!

Cheers - Peter.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews