Maserati 3200 GT Reviews from UK and Ireland

1999 Maserati 3200 GT

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Most recent distance79000 kilometres
Previous carMaserati Spyder

Summary:

You wouldn't print it

Faults:

First the steering rack came away from the chassis, the dealer told me that I must have had a crash, I had not, they refused to pay for a new on so I paid 4000.00 pounds and had one fitted. one year later Maserati wrote to me explaining that I would need to come in for the rack recall.

They put a new one on, no refund for the old one.

They found a problem with the front chassis, needs a new one, you must have crashed, I did not. after complaining they removed engine and fixed the chassis, no charge.

I have had many electrical problems mainly knock sensors and engine light problems, I have had to go to the main dealer to clear faults and replace sensors, two months ago the steering column had to be replaced, no warranty ยจ.

Update 2nd March 2007:

After my last report, it appears that I now need a new gearbox this will be gearbox number three.

Back to the dealer again for more sensors.

No sign of Maserati recalling the car for the front chassis cracks, that most people don't know about.

Maserati Barcelona refuse to buy this nasty machine back as they say that this model was to problematic.

General Comments:

My car looks fantastic, When it goes it drives really well.

The only problem I have is the build quality, there are some problems with the manufacturing of this car, but once the recalls have been done, and unfortunately the recalls that we don't yet know about. it will be a perfect car to keep.

After spending 3 out of four years with the dealers and spending so much money on it, I will keep this machine.

Maserati could do more for the owners, but it all comes down to cost, but it seems they don't have any money to spend on their customers.

Update 2nd March 2007:

I still think this car looks and sound great, but after spending three years in the dealer, and at least 25,000 on the engine and steering, I have finally had enough and am putting her down, RIP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2006

12th Sep 2007, 04:21

Well the engine has now gone bang, I have been told it will have to be replaced, I really don't know what to do now, Maserati won't help and its just sitting in my garage.

I give up.

28th Nov 2007, 12:27

So you wouldn't recommend buying a 3200 then? I've been considering buying one for the past year due to the stunning looks - but if reliability is really that bad... perhaps I should reconsider?

25th Aug 2009, 09:59

Do you think these are one off's I would hope as I really fancy buying a 3200 GT, are there any happy stories out there ?

25th Dec 2009, 13:36

It sounds like a bit of a Friday afternoon car. Never heard of gearbox problems on any other 3200! I had one for 4 years and it was superb... still miss it. You can't run them for Fiesta money - but they're a supercar and it comes with the territory. Nothing ever broke on mine - so it was just servicing; tyres, clutch etc.

14th Apr 2010, 03:36

It's me again, I finally sold my car to a man from Holland. He paid 7,500e for it, and although I lost so much money on this car, I was happy to see the back of it. I do know that he has spent a further 18,000e on it, and is now happy with the results.

For me I would never go near one of these cars again, but it's possible I just got the bad one??

Great looking and sounding car, a bit heavy, but for me I'd rather look at one and not own it.

Happy hunting.

4th Jul 2012, 10:48

This sounds typical. Mine is in the repair shop every few weeks. Do a search of Maserati recalls, and you can draw your own conclusions.

1999 Maserati 3200 GT 3.2 V8 twin turbo

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 V8 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 164

Summary:

Four seater racing car

Faults:

Exhaust manifold cracked at 10,000 miles, replaced under warranty.

Rear suspension wishbone split. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Before buying I was a bit worried about variable road test reports. The car is a bit unusual to drive, drive by wire throttle and a slight lag on the turbo followed by ferocious power at around 2400rpm. It takes about a week to get used to, but after that it is simply glorious to drive.

370hp and 362ft/lbs of torque coming in at low revs is a lot to handle, and I leave the traction control on except when on track.

This car is a true racing car on the track and a 4 seater Grand Tourer on the road. I combined both this year around Europe, a very memorable 3500 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2003

9th Dec 2004, 21:12

Sounds like a bad car the way you put it.

13th Jan 2005, 00:10

Any more comments on reliability since your post? I know they have a dubious reputation (like most italian cars) but I'd be interested to know if the reputation is based on historical reasons rather than current build quality? Also, what are the servicing costs like compared to "mere mortal" cars...?

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 2 reviews