2000 Mitsubishi Galant Reviews from UK and Ireland

2000 Mitsubishi Galant GLS GDi 2.4 petrol

Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance96800 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Decent, fairly reliable and comfortable

Faults:

Radiator leaked coolant; needed replacement.

Rear passenger side suspension spring needed to be replaced.

Lambda sensor was faulty, replaced with genuine part.

Suspension strut replaced.

Rust appeared on rear wheel arches.

Dent on rear boot, my fault.

Front passenger side headlight washers ripped off by a vandal.

General Comments:

Not the most economical car, but the mileage is decent.

Bodywork repairs can be expensive.

Very comfortable seats, especially on long journeys.

Electronic A/C and climate control system was very good at keeping the chill Scots winter out.

These cars didn't sell overly well, so it's easy to pick one up cheap due to steep depreciation. You get a car in the size class of an E Class Merc. for far cheaper prices, though it does not have the prestige value of a Merc. badge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2012

2000 Mitsubishi Galant GDI 2.4 petrol

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Cheap, comfortable, reliable and exclusivity; what more do you want?

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The GDI has a known fault with carbon build up, which is probably why the technology was ditched by Mitsubishi.

It, like my previous Galant GLS, was 100% reliable. The standard spec is impressive for the price you pay now, and the peace of mind of knowing that when you want to go somewhere, the Galant will get you there is worth more than what you will pay for the car. In 4 1/2 years of Galant ownership, I have not had a single breakdown, and I have just taken delivery of my 3rd Galant (V6 Sport).

A car is essential in my line of work, so reliability is of utmost importance, and I can't see me being swayed from them. Nothing else comes close for looks, performance, comfort and reliability for the money these cars are currently changing hands for.

Fuel economy does suffer in urban environments, but when you buy a car that only comes with a petrol engine, the basic being a 2 litre, you are not buying a car for economy anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2010

2000 Mitsubishi Galant V6-24 2.5

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

If God needed a car..

Faults:

Only had car 6 months, but so far not one tiny complaint.

General Comments:

What a beautiful mix of power and comfort.

Dawdle along at 70, or rip past the boy racers at 120. This car will do it all and ask for more.

Just like driving an armchair. Quick, easy response. Yet an overwhelming feel of safety even at speed.

All coupled with a roomy, easy to drive cockpit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

25th Aug 2004, 08:59

Ha ha, I liked your review :) "driving an armchair".. It's true though. I'm so satisfied with my G8-V6

/adrian.

2000 Mitsubishi Galant V6 Estate 2.5 V6-24

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6-24 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

An underrated, reliable, economical, fast, entertaining luxury car

Faults:

Brakes start to judder every 30,000 miles needing disc skimming. Known defect but not expensive. Nothing else in over 3 years.

General Comments:

I bought the car from new after having owned a BMW 740 which was far too expensive to run (servicing and parts) and unreliable. Prior to that I have owned Mercedes 230E and a Lexus LS 400. Pound for pound I regard the Galant V6 estate the best car I have ever owned.

It is very comfortable, fast, economical (routine servicing £100 - £150), extremely reliable, and a joy to drive.

I achieve over 30 mpg on long runs and overall it gives me 27 mpg.

This is the top of the range model which has leather, climate control, heated seats, an enormous sunshine roof etc.

The tiptronic auto gearbox is excellent combining the benefits of both a manual and automatic shifting.

It does roll a bit on corners, but the ride is very gentle on the straight. Not everyones taste, but I prefer it.

It depreciates in value very quickly so second hand cars are remarkable value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2003

2000 Mitsubishi Galant Sport 2.5 24v V6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 24v V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance23500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

A serious car for under twenty grand!

General Comments:

I like the Galant Sport because of many things, firstly the looks, no other car on the road looks so aggressive, so many other drivers on the motorway simply pull in when they see me in their rear view mirror, then stare as I pull away.

I added a spoiler to the car which in my view finishes it off completely, however at nearly £450 it is not cheap.

The cabin is sporty and the everything is built solidly. The driving position is excellent and the gear box is good, the engine is very responsive and continues to pull even at 5500rpm and at nearly 105 MPH!

Motorway cruising is easy and it is very easy to exceed the speed limit, without even noticing it!

On the down side the boot space is not as large as it could be, but it's ample for a big shop at the supermarket.

Another great thing about the V6 Sport is the noise, there is a nice growl under the bonnet and it is just enough to let you know that you have a seriously good car. Many other V6's like the Lexus IS200 are only 2 litre engines and are very "whiney" and under powered.

I love the Galant, I only wish I could afford the VR4!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

14th Jul 2001, 12:21

The Lexus has an inline 6 cylinder, not a V6, get your facts correct.

2nd May 2003, 08:50

You say: "and continues to pull even at 5500rpm and at nearly 105 MPH!" as if this is something astounding - I'd expect ANY reasonably capable family saloon to still be able to pull quite well at that speed nowadays. And 5500rpm seems an awful lot of revs at that speed - what gear were you in?! ;-)

I've recently been driving an old (1994) Mazda 626 2.5 V6 which still drove like new - solid, smooth and no rattles - and still pulled like a train when you put your foot down at 120 (this was genuinely on the Autobahn) topping out at just over 140 at approx 6500rpm...

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 5 reviews