Opel Vectra Reviews from UK and Ireland

2004 Opel Vectra GTS 2.0 DTi diesel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0 DTi diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80744 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Smooth, but dear to keep on the road

Faults:

Alternator went; cost 240 euros.

Leak off pipe, letting air in. Had to replace; cost 30 euros.

Had to replace fuel pump; cost 700 euros.

Replaced battery; cost 135 euros.

Replaced power steering pump at a cost of 450 euros.

Sump, rocker, and head gaskets had to replaced; cost 150 euros just for gaskets.

I bought this car with only 50k miles on it for 2500 euros, and then spent 1665 euros keeping it on the road. God knows what's next to come. I will not get my money back, so I'll have to drive it until it won't drive any more...

General Comments:

I like the huge boot and the cabin room.

I like the layout of the dash and the seating position.

The GTS version is what I have, and they're a cracking looking car.

GM just need to sort out the engine end of things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2013

16th Oct 2013, 06:52

With that mileage and the stated problems, it sounds like it's been clocked.

16th Oct 2013, 17:19

I agree, 50,000 miles seems a little too 'exact', and I would've expected these problems on a car with more than double that mileage.

18th Dec 2013, 06:41

50000 miles for 2500 euros only, really seems a bit suspicious. I do agree with the previous comment, that it seems as if there was tampering with the mileage.

1997 Opel Vectra GLX 1.6 16v

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired179550 miles
Most recent distance191230 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Passenger's door doesn't lock with central locking.

Radio keep resetting with every start.

Sometimes it pulls left (???).

Seats wearing very quickly.

General Comments:

Despite having 180K miles on clock, the car runs smoothly and accelerates without hassle in any gear.

Top speed 115MPH (could do more, but not tried).

Controls on steering wheel work as they want... Speakers the same.

Seats aren't very comfy on long runs.

Doesn't burns oil (no more than usual).

Like the shape of the car, and bought it for bargain.

Need circa €500 to fix few things, and it'll be OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2011

2003 Opel Vectra Club 1.8

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37600 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carTickford landrover freelander

Summary:

A car to be seen in

Faults:

The link arm joining the window wipers broke.Small and inexpensive to repair.

General Comments:

This is a good reliable family car. Comfortable and relaxing to drive. Not recommended for the boy racer. One problem I found is the roof pillars restricts a lot of your view, as does the rear view mirror. The suspension is a little hard and you can feels those Irish pot holes, but over all it's a good buy for the money. if I was to trade up I think the GTS hatch back is a cracking looking motor and would get my vote.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2006

2005 Opel Vectra SRi 1.8i

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin 75

Summary:

A stylish take on the family car

Faults:

No problems at all with the car.

Everything works perfectly and is design to a high standard.

The indicator stalk takes some getting used to though. after 200km its second nature.

General Comments:

The car is average speed, but then I am not a boy racer. It has good acceleration when necessary.

The spec level is very good. on board computer, cruise control, CD, front fogs, 17 inch alloy wheels, lowered sports suspension, leather steering wheel and gear stick.

Comfort level is very high. the lumber support seats are excellent.

The practicality of the car is amazing. huge boot, massive and easily accessible from the hatchback model. 2 electric sockets, front and back.

Rear cup holders are great for young kids. Rear armrest makes back seat passengers comfortable on long journeys.

The safety level is 4 euroncap stars giving a total score of 88%. it comes with 6 air bags. ABS and EBD with power steering and adaptive breaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

1999 Opel Vectra GL 1.6litre 16v

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6litre 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles

Summary:

Great car for its class when at its best

Faults:

Air conditioning hasn't worked since I bought the car. (I haven't got it repaired)

Coil pack went at 35,000mls (cost 200 euro to replace excl, labour)

Water pump bearing Started to fail at 50,000mls (Complete failure would have meant that timing belt would fail too, meaning serious cylinder head/engine damage)

A few minor electrical faults, Such as:

Fan control/Heating panel lights stopped working at 55,000mls (think it's a loose wire??)

Driver electric window switch gets sticky at times (needs to be taken apart and contacts cleaned)

General Comments:

When car has no problems it drives very well.

Very comfortable on long journeys, nice smooth ride and good handling.

Very reliable if looked after, and as long as any faults are repaired before they become too serious.

Can be a bit heavy on petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews