Opel Zafira Reviews from UK and Ireland

2006 Opel Zafira Design 2.2 petrol

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

I'd buy another

Faults:

Electronic issue related to engine timing at about 5,000km, which resulted in misfiring and engine warning light coming on. Fixed in 24 hours under warranty.

Immobiliser on key occasionally temperamental, meaning the key is turned but nothing happens. Fixed by taking the battery out, fiddling with it, and putting it back in.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable, solid and has been incredibly reliable. The seating is flexible, ideal for when the grandparents come to stay and the kids can use the third row in the seats. But it isn't really possibly to transport 7 adults given the very limited foot room in the 3rd row.

It handles very well - much more like a car than an MPV. And it is not very long, making parking pretty straightforward.

On the less positive side, the four speed auto box means you can occasionally want for more gears, especially on some steep gradients where 1st gear can be too low and 2nd too high. Petrol consumption is average - 30-35 MPG on motorways, 27-30 MPG for enthusiastic town driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2012

2004 Opel Zafira 1.6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

A car to be wary of - total failure with no warning

Faults:

Until recently, nothing.

On Fri 7th Dec - driving and the car stops - told by the Opel dealer where the car was also serviced on 31/7/07, that engine the had seized and needs replacing due to no oil at all.

No warning light to indicate oil problem, and also despite a complete service in July, the dealer says no responsibility lies with them re no oil in engine - apparently quite common to need to update the oil every 4 months!

General Comments:

Grand car until the engine fails at 40000 miles.

Spacious interior; comfortable and flexible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

17th Dec 2007, 12:23

It is your responsibility; I check my oil level before any long journey and regularly otherwise.

After 4 months of use, although very rare, it is possible for a car to use all its oil, and the warning light on the dash is for low oil pressure, not oil level. If you read your owner's manual, you'd know this.

In my experience, Vauxhall ecotec engines are quite oil thirsty, but you've been very unlucky.

15th Jun 2011, 08:35

This shouldn't have happened in any modern car. gasoline Opel engines are crap and the manufacturer knows it, but refuses to install a proper oil level sensor. A lot of people I know are complaining about the very high oil consumption in their gasoline Opel vehicles.

23rd Nov 2012, 08:04

I bought a 2004 Zafira a little over a year ago. It seemed to be in good condition, but now strange things are happening. Seems to be something wrong with the wiring maybe. And now it seems like it uses a pint of oil every month or so. There is no sign of an oil leak or smoke from the exhaust. As time goes on, the car seems to be falling apart. Not sure if there is something the used car dealer covered up, or it's just time for a 2004 car to fall apart.

9th Apr 2013, 10:51

I bought a second hand Opel Zafira 2004 model automatic gear (full option), 1.8 UK at Cotonou City, Benin Republic on 23th January, 2013 conveyed to Nigeria.

Since the point of purchase, after paying for the car, I have observed that it has an electrical problem that makes it drive in 4th gear without changing, but no with stopping we managed to drive the car to my country, Nigeria.

2001 Opel Zafira Comfort 1.8 Automatic

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

Reliable versatile vehicle

Faults:

From 60,000 miles the engine maintenance light (amber light with a spanner) comes on after driving approximately 8 miles. The light stays on until the ignition is switched off, and resets and will then come again after approximately 8 miles.

The local Opel garage diagnosed a faulty throttle body and advised that a new one would cost almost 600 euros. I checked the Internet and found a reference to a similar problem where the throttle body was cleaned and the fault did not re-occur.

On removal of the throttle body, it was clear that the air-flow was being restricted by gunge that built up in the throttle body. This appeared to originate from the breather pipe on top of the engine. On cleaning this gunge from the throttle body, I have not seen the engine maintenance light after 100 miles. Here is hoping!

Regards.

General Comments:

Very pleased with the car, very flexible seating arrangement which is why I purchased it. Very lively in this guise with automatic transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews