2004 Opel Zafira Review

2004 Opel Zafira 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

A car to be wary of - total failure with no warning

Faults:

Until recently, nothing.

On Fri 7th Dec - driving and the car stops - told by the Opel dealer where the car was also serviced on 31/7/07, that engine the had seized and needs replacing due to no oil at all.

No warning light to indicate oil problem, and also despite a complete service in July, the dealer says no responsibility lies with them re no oil in engine - apparently quite common to need to update the oil every 4 months!

General Comments:

Grand car until the engine fails at 40000 miles.

Spacious interior; comfortable and flexible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

17th Dec 2007, 12:23

It is your responsibility; I check my oil level before any long journey and regularly otherwise.

After 4 months of use, although very rare, it is possible for a car to use all its oil, and the warning light on the dash is for low oil pressure, not oil level. If you read your owner's manual, you'd know this.

In my experience, Vauxhall ecotec engines are quite oil thirsty, but you've been very unlucky.

15th Jun 2011, 08:35

This shouldn't have happened in any modern car. gasoline Opel engines are crap and the manufacturer knows it, but refuses to install a proper oil level sensor. A lot of people I know are complaining about the very high oil consumption in their gasoline Opel vehicles.

23rd Nov 2012, 08:04

I bought a 2004 Zafira a little over a year ago. It seemed to be in good condition, but now strange things are happening. Seems to be something wrong with the wiring maybe. And now it seems like it uses a pint of oil every month or so. There is no sign of an oil leak or smoke from the exhaust. As time goes on, the car seems to be falling apart. Not sure if there is something the used car dealer covered up, or it's just time for a 2004 car to fall apart.

9th Apr 2013, 10:51

I bought a second hand Opel Zafira 2004 model automatic gear (full option), 1.8 UK at Cotonou City, Benin Republic on 23th January, 2013 conveyed to Nigeria.

Since the point of purchase, after paying for the car, I have observed that it has an electrical problem that makes it drive in 4th gear without changing, but no with stopping we managed to drive the car to my country, Nigeria.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 1 review