2002 Porsche Boxster Reviews from UK and Ireland

2002 Porsche Boxster

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Excellent in the dry, rubbish in the wet

Faults:

Funny engine signs keep coming on and I have to take it to the dealer to turn them off.

General Comments:

From looking at all the reviews, you'd think this was a great road holder - I disagree, my car has spun twice in the last 2 weeks. The last spin was on a minor bend doing about 50mph, where the back end went. Being in the slow lane, I could not pull it straight without hitting something, so I let it go with the result of completely smashing the front side and rear off the barrier. One of the poorest handling cars in the wet that I have had.

Also over 100 mph, the car feels very insecure running at these speeds. It's like my son's Punto when it does about 75.

Maybe there is something wrong with it, but I had it tested about 3 weeks ago and it came out clean.

I don't trust it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 2006

5th Mar 2007, 12:18

Yes, if you don't have traction-control then the 3.2S can certainly bite you if you over-cook it in the wet. In the wet you definitely need to get those wheels straight before accelerating! A couple of times my rear-end has given me a suprise with a quick 'shimmy' when I've been day dreaming! You definitely need to get used to the car's wet weather limits; keeping the revs steady through the bends helps too.

In the dry it is fantastic, being very predictable and easy to judge. As far a stability at speed; I live in Germany and have had a GPS indicated 161mph before I had to lift-off for traffic ahead. No prblems with stability, cross-winds notwithstanding. That's the Manufacturer's top speed!

I think on the 100RON fuel we have out here now, it will make 165mph on a long quiet stretch. Not bad for a car you can now get for well under £20k! Something an M5 or E55 won't do if it's governed like most are in Germany!

Don't try it it in the wet though! Unfortunately most Germans don't bother slowing down on the Autobahn in the rain. They like tailgating too...fools.

9th Apr 2007, 01:47

Rather funny comment as I drive boxter as a daily driver and I live in north part of Finland where we have snow about 5-month a year. I don't have PSM and I have never been in a skid that I could not correct. Perhaps there is something seriously wrong with your car stability.

23rd Jan 2008, 09:43

Let off the gas in the turns. This car comes with Z rated tires and handles very well my uncle has one. I've never heard anyone complain about its handling in the rain. In Canada I see people driving Boxsters in the snow.

31st May 2008, 08:10

Drive an Audi Quattro; it is great in the rain.

28th Dec 2008, 00:18

You might need wet traction tires; Michelin Pilot on my Mercedes and they work well. 'Z' tires are great if you are driving at high speed in dry weather. Please let us know if they make a difference.

19th Oct 2009, 15:53

"Maybe there is something wrong with it,"...

Well there probably is now since it was smashed into a barrier, possibly due to that old standby problem "driver error" :)

1st Feb 2011, 19:30

"my porsche's tail goes out in the wet..."

Please don't take this the wrong way, but you might benefit from some advanced driving lessons. You also have to understand what kind of car you're driving.

No offense intended, just telling the truth.

2002 Porsche Boxster S 3.2

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SLK

Summary:

A bargain

Faults:

Creaks from soft-top: seems to be common fault on 2003 model year (mountings come "dry" from factory) solved by dealer lubrication. Radio sometimes re-sets its self for no apparent reason.

General Comments:

A rare thing in the motoring world: something which lives up to the hype. The Boxster comes with a big reputation and a fair price tag so it's a pleasure to be able to report it is actually a bargain.

Firstly, it is a huge amount of fun to drive, far more so than many similar competitors. Handling and road feel are excellent and performance from the 3.2 litre engine more than adequate (although the chassis could probably take more power without alteration), the engine is very flexible and will pull from 10mph in 3rd without complaining, it is also very smooth and refined without being too quiet.

Oddly enough, it's not the sporting side of the Boxster which impresses the most because you'd expect it to be good at that. What surprises is what a very accomplished long distance, everyday car it is. The car is very refined on the motorway (03 models now have a glass screen) and the soft-top cuts out more noise than you'd expect. It is a very undemanding long distance car.

Bad points: Some of the fixtures and fittings are a bit cheap and nasty for the price, some of the (expensive) options really should be standard, the 2 year warranty is mean, the cabin is a bit short of leg room and its prone to stone chips.

Costs wise 28mpg can be achieved, 26-27mpg in regular driving although fuel consumption can increase considerably when driving hard.

Recommended.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

14th Nov 2003, 07:47

One problem with the boxter is constantly having to explain to people why you haven't bought a 911.

16th Mar 2004, 07:01

The reason we didn't buy the 911 is that we probably couldn't afford one! But, wait a minute, not only is it half the price, the 911's engine is hanging over the rear wheels, not in the middle of the car where it should be. Hence the limited legroom in the Boxster cabin. Don't bother with the Porsche upgraded sound. Very, very disappointing and not a patch on the standard equipment in my 5 Series. Save your money! Not too upset though! I find I prefer to listen to all that fantastic engineering whirring away under one's bum. Then there's that lovely exhaust note when you stretch her legs. This is how sports cars should be!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 2 reviews