Proton Proton Reviews from UK and Ireland

1990 Proton Proton 1500GLS 1.5 OHC 8v

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 OHC 8v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Motoring's best kept secret!

Faults:

Radiator was leaky and replaced with one from a breakers for £10 Same with drive shaft and CV joint, carb was replaced with a 1991 item, sunroof leaked, before a terminal electrical failure.

Excluding petrol and consumables, I had 53000 miles of motoring in 18 months for less than £200 including the purchase price.

General Comments:

I bought the car for £100 with a long MOT, it always ran beautifully with a surprisingly eager engine, the fuel economy dropped off and I replaced the carb with one off another proton that I had bought for £20 for parts, normal service resumed once more, apart from replacing the rad and the drive shaft, she was boringly reliable and sailed through an MOT, until one night all electrical power was lost, the MOT was nearly up and I had just bought another car so I left her and walked away, I had no losses to cut!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

13th Jun 2003, 05:35

Left her where?

Hopefully in a scrap yard and not at the side of the road to become a dangerous eyesore.

6th Nov 2007, 17:51

Left it where it lay down, but phoned the scrappy and it was away within the hour, even the AA doesn't recover that quickly!

1992 Proton Proton GLS 1.5 triple valve

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 triple valve Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122332 miles
Most recent distance126661 miles

Summary:

Good family saloon

Faults:

The radiator leaks, and has done since I owned the car, but I plugged it with barr's radiator seal.

The gaskets are creating too much pressure, resulting in the radiator hose blowing at 125000 miles.

Sunroof leaks.

Driver's side window won't go down.

Passenger side window will go down, but falls off the tracking.

Doesn't like going into first gear.

General Comments:

Although I have a rather large list of faults for my Proton, I bought it because family members have owned the same model, and never had any problems.

Personally I found it very average to drive, with poor acceleration, but good power from 15-60mph.

The interior is nothing special, and the seats are comfortable. There is plenty of room inside the car, but head room is lacking, and that's coming from someone who is 5'9.

The car handles reasonable well, but shifts its weight poorly in corners.

It's unleaded.

Does 100 miles for 13.35 liters.

Low tax group.

Group 8 insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

25th Mar 2003, 04:34

Not a bad review, had the same problems with my own proton.

The person who sold it to you was running it with no water in the radiator.

20th Jan 2006, 14:08

My 1991 Proton 1.5 GLS Aeroback has been in our family from new as I inherited it 4 years ago from my Mum who bought a Mercedes. The car has been converted to LPG and has now clocked 146,000. It has a few minor problems with a leaky sunroof and corroded window mechanisms, otherwise it is fine with very good bodywork. I drove from Cornwall to Worcester last week and it cost less than £30 return. They are great reliable cars with absolutely no image or street cred! The only things I have replaced are the clutch and the gearbox (from a scrappy). Provided you service them they will go on forever. I am hoping for another 50,000 miles out of mine!

1992 Proton Proton GLS 1.3

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFiat Multipla

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, although the windscreen wipers smear a little!

General Comments:

This is a really average car that handles averagely, brakes averagely, accelerates slowly and will always start and get you to work and back.

It used so little fuel that it is actually cheaper than walking!

I've done 12,000 miles in 4 months and it's great - I bought it for £200.00 from a guy in Stevenage whose number I got on the Internet. Had to unsieze the rear brakes (it'd been stood in a driveway for 1 year) and drive it back to Nottingham for the MOT - I thought I had a bargain (and the tank was full), but the fuel gauge was broken and reads 'full' all the time. Still think I've got a bargain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews