1999 Subaru Impreza WRX STi RA V Limited 2.0 turbo petrol

Summary:

It's like jumping out of a plane

Faults:

Oil pump failed at 31000 miles.

Lack of oil to crank, through shell's warped crank.

Full engine rebuild.

Turbo, turbine blades 40% worn away, reconditioned.

HKS coil over suspension semi seized, replaced.

Exhaust manifold heat shields fell apart.

Radiator pipes popping indiscriminately, replaced.

Melted spark plug heads, more fuel to keep engine running.

General Comments:

This is one of the finest cars ever thought up.

Unbelievable takeoff speed and all out acceleration.

Still waiting for someone with balls to race, HA!!

Closest thing to a real rally car, just as vicious.

Very clever Japanese!!!

They sorted out the dash on this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2007

7th Mar 2007, 09:25

My ST24 would blow you away... only joking bud, but we ll have to see how it handles the corners at Combe in April. Hope you do racing lines and don't end up drifting.

I can confirm everybody that this Subaru is "F"ing quick and well worth buying if you see one.

1999 Subaru Impreza Turbo Wagno 2.0 turbo

Summary:

Fast, fun, reliable but VERY thirsty. FSH is essential.

Faults:

Vibration at 100mph was traced to sticky joint in the prop-shaft. Replaced under warranty. MAF and oxygen sensors failed at 57k. Parts alone cost over £200. Drivers side seat wearing. Lots of rattles!

General Comments:

Excellent car on performance. Puts a big grin on your face every time you floor it. Very expensive to run though. Fuel consumption is BAD, you will be luck to see much over 25mpg, but then again these cars weren't built for economy, but for speed. Insurance is high to. Group 17. A lots of companies insist on a tracking device as well which is extra expense. Car is very reliable though, starts in all weathers. Nice to drive although the interior is a bit sparse. For some reason Subaru installed a button that dims the clock. That's about the only luxury item!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

1999 Subaru Impreza STi version 5 2.0 flat 4 turbo

Summary:

Absolutely excellent! More bang for your buck

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

The car is the best Impreza I have owned.

I have owned a 1994 WRX Turbo and a 1995 STI that were heavily modified.

This car was unmodified when I bought it, and it was still quicker than my previous STI. I have put in the usual dump valve, de-cat exhaust and induction, and it eats my mate's Sapphie Cosworth for breakfast! Sorry Cosworth owners, but the Impreza is a far better car - Cossies were good in their day, but too outdated now.

I have had no problems with the car, and with 76000 on the clock, it is still going strong.

I'm looking forward to getting a P1!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2005

15th Mar 2006, 10:49

On a reliability note, my 2004 Impreza RS (the base model) has been extremely reliable except for some minor trim problems. Although I think Subaru should upgrade their interiors for the price they are charging, I think my next car will be a WRX or STI (we don't have ProDrive version in US). They seem to have the whole package (handling, speed, reliability) which seems to be a rare commodity these days.

1999 Subaru Impreza 2.0 Turbo awd 2.0 turbo

Summary:

Serious Sports car performance at a fraction of the cost

General Comments:

Wow. I thought my 911 was fast. I'm not sure what is scarier? My Porsche losing its grip in the wet, or this cars ability to grip in the wet.

Its true, this car drinks petrol, but it is to be expected from one of the fasted 4 door family cars on the road.

I have been very impressed by this car, and contrary to myth, it's a pleasure to drive. Not too bumpy, not jerky, and no engine troubles.

My other car tends to be garaged a lot now, as I get more laughs from my pro-drive impreza than ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

1999 Subaru Impreza RB5 2.0 turbo

Summary:

The RB5 is, in my view the best Impreza ever made

Faults:

The engine blew up 3 times. Replacements were given under warranty.

The gearbox was rebuilt after 4th and 1st gears started to crunch/grind.

The engine management was replaced as this was thought to be the underlying problem with the engines blowing up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

11th Jun 2004, 11:38

I would love to know how many other people have had engine go kaput on them. I own a 1999 Impreza an at 62,000 miles lost oil pressure and totally trashed the motor. I never got an indicator light or any sign that something was wrong. Of course it was 2000 miles over the warranty so Subaru said So Solly!

23rd Aug 2005, 19:17

Most dealers will work with you if you are only a few thousand over the warranty. A domestic car dealer replaced a head on a 5.4 V8 4,500 over warranty. I had to be very persistant. I have heard of others getting the same treatment.