1999 Subaru Impreza Turbo Wagno 2.0 turbo


Fast, fun, reliable but VERY thirsty. FSH is essential.


Vibration at 100mph was traced to sticky joint in the prop-shaft. Replaced under warranty. MAF and oxygen sensors failed at 57k. Parts alone cost over £200. Drivers side seat wearing. Lots of rattles!

General Comments:

Excellent car on performance. Puts a big grin on your face every time you floor it. Very expensive to run though. Fuel consumption is BAD, you will be luck to see much over 25mpg, but then again these cars weren't built for economy, but for speed. Insurance is high to. Group 17. A lots of companies insist on a tracking device as well which is extra expense. Car is very reliable though, starts in all weathers. Nice to drive although the interior is a bit sparse. For some reason Subaru installed a button that dims the clock. That's about the only luxury item!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

1999 Subaru Impreza STi version 5 2.0 flat 4 turbo


Absolutely excellent! More bang for your buck


Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

The car is the best Impreza I have owned.

I have owned a 1994 WRX Turbo and a 1995 STI that were heavily modified.

This car was unmodified when I bought it, and it was still quicker than my previous STI. I have put in the usual dump valve, de-cat exhaust and induction, and it eats my mate's Sapphie Cosworth for breakfast! Sorry Cosworth owners, but the Impreza is a far better car - Cossies were good in their day, but too outdated now.

I have had no problems with the car, and with 76000 on the clock, it is still going strong.

I'm looking forward to getting a P1!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2005

15th Mar 2006, 10:49

On a reliability note, my 2004 Impreza RS (the base model) has been extremely reliable except for some minor trim problems. Although I think Subaru should upgrade their interiors for the price they are charging, I think my next car will be a WRX or STI (we don't have ProDrive version in US). They seem to have the whole package (handling, speed, reliability) which seems to be a rare commodity these days.

1999 Subaru Impreza 2.0 Turbo awd 2.0 turbo


Serious Sports car performance at a fraction of the cost

General Comments:

Wow. I thought my 911 was fast. I'm not sure what is scarier? My Porsche losing its grip in the wet, or this cars ability to grip in the wet.

Its true, this car drinks petrol, but it is to be expected from one of the fasted 4 door family cars on the road.

I have been very impressed by this car, and contrary to myth, it's a pleasure to drive. Not too bumpy, not jerky, and no engine troubles.

My other car tends to be garaged a lot now, as I get more laughs from my pro-drive impreza than ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

1999 Subaru Impreza RB5 2.0 turbo


The RB5 is, in my view the best Impreza ever made


The engine blew up 3 times. Replacements were given under warranty.

The gearbox was rebuilt after 4th and 1st gears started to crunch/grind.

The engine management was replaced as this was thought to be the underlying problem with the engines blowing up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2003

11th Jun 2004, 11:38

I would love to know how many other people have had engine go kaput on them. I own a 1999 Impreza an at 62,000 miles lost oil pressure and totally trashed the motor. I never got an indicator light or any sign that something was wrong. Of course it was 2000 miles over the warranty so Subaru said So Solly!

23rd Aug 2005, 19:17

Most dealers will work with you if you are only a few thousand over the warranty. A domestic car dealer replaced a head on a 5.4 V8 4,500 over warranty. I had to be very persistant. I have heard of others getting the same treatment.

1999 Subaru Impreza Turbo 2000 2.0L turbo


A high performance great car!


• Small oil seal leak (fixed under warranty)

• Brake pads needed replacing, they were upgraded to brembo (fixed under warranty)

• Cam belt (fixed under warranty)

General Comments:

The Subaru Impreza has to be by far the best car I have ever owned. The performance through to reliability has been first rate.

I was looking for a car that had the performance of a two seater sports car with the size and practicality of a family car, I FOUND IT.

Within the first 2 minutes of the test drive this car had to be mine. The attention this car creates is great, the looks, sounds and the performance combined have produced a car that is fantastic value for money.

The running costs are not that bad, though the Impreza does like a good drink. Insurance prices are a bit of a myth @ 24 I have insured the car for about £800 after having a tracker fitted. One of the first things people ask is how much was your insurance so hopefully this should help.

My Impreza has had some upgrades.

• Prodrive - Gearbox and Spoiler

• Brembo Pads and Discs

• Motor sport wheels

• Full Motor sport Exhaust system.

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a car that provides performance, looks and practicality.

GREAT CAR!!! :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003