Toyota Picnic Reviews from UK and Ireland

2000 Toyota Picnic GLS 2.0

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carToyota Starlet

Faults:

Absolutely faultless.

Replaced tires at 42000 miles.

Replaced battery at 40000 miles.

General Comments:

The Picnic handles very well.

The Toyota CD player is very good.

Acres of space in the back.

It has now been all around France 3 times with 2 Adults & 2 children, roof box required.

The car is so comfortable over long mileage.

The auto version is a bit heavier on petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2005

1997 Toyota Picnic GL 2.0

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Space Wagon

Summary:

Comfortable, reliable and responsive

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very pleased with every aspect of the Picnic. Very comfortable, responsive and reliable. The boot space when the back 2 seats have been removed is excellent when transporting items of furniture, rubbish to the tip etc. The only problem is lack of boot space when 2 adults and 4 children go on holiday - a roof boot is a must. A small price to pay.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

31st Jul 2006, 19:13

Toyota Picnic... also known as the "Ipsum" in Japan, is as the comments say, a very good versatile workhorse. Not a sports handler, but family-friendly, quiet and smooth. I am getting 29mpg most of the time, though this falls to 23mpg when towing on open roads. A small trailer assists when taking all the family for a holiday.

14th Nov 2006, 19:19

I bought a 1996 Ipsum 6 months back. It is a great car. My children love it, as it has a good seating view.

Engine is nippy, though lags in acceleration, but can't complain for a 2.0 litre 7 seater. Very comfortable cruising on full load.

6th Dec 2006, 20:24

I think my toyota Ipsum is really a very good car. It is the best Mid-Size MPV I have used. So far after 8 years, I do not encounter any problem with my car. I love it and I think all of you can look and try this car. It is really good and spacious. For people with a few family members, it is recommended.

2001 Toyota Picnic GL 2.0

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carToyota Picnic

Summary:

Probably the best MPV for the money ever

Faults:

As with previous Picnic the Fuel Gauge is, to say the least, temperamental.

Apart from this nothing has gone wrong at all, which is fantastic as this vehicle does approximately 30,000 miles per year on the motorway at speed, usually with 4 or 5 adults.

Radio is ample, but not brilliant.

General Comments:

A spectacularly fast MPV, fun to drive, comfortable, reliable, unfortunately has one hell of a stupid name.

I would recommend this vehicle to anyone, it may not have the flexibility of some of the more expensive in its class, but it definitely worth a try.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

15th Jul 2004, 12:43

Good basic review.

Indeed the name is the only real problem.

Bought a new one in 1999 (6-seater/automatic + cruise-control), still drive it.

No technical failures or repairs until now.

Runs like new, very smooth. Most comfortable car I rode. Hope to keep it another 5 years.

1997 Toyota Picnic GL 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carToyota Picnic

Summary:

Very reliable and fairly capacious, good to drive, but not quite as flexible as it could be

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

It drives very well and has good performance with reasonable fuel economy (33 mpg) for the size of vehicle.

All six seats are comfortable and suitable for adults, although with more limited headroom in the third row. It is necessary to shuffle the seat positions to maximise leg room. With only four passengers there is loads of room and the second tier of seats partially recline.

My only quibbles are that the second row of seats do not remove from the vehicle for load carrying, and that items placed in the 'boot' area have a tendency to roll forward between the seats to the front of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2002

1997 Toyota Picnic GL 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 416 SLi Tourer

Summary:

Good, reliable car

Faults:

Intermittent fault with the alarm.

Crankshaft replaced under 3 year warranty.

Sony CD/radio replaced after 3 months of ownership.

General Comments:

Underrated vehicle, probably because it has a silly name.

Very easy and simple to drive, although the steering is too light for my tastes.

Extremely reliable with good service provided by the main dealers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2001

1999 Toyota Picnic GLS 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Excellent mini-MPV with good handling

Faults:

On delivery there was a loose earth connection on the alarm which meant it kept going off. Took the Toyota man 10 seconds to fix. Apparently the alarm is the only bit fitted in the UK...

Occasionally the radio tunes off the station...

Otherwise nothing at all. No snags, nothing.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car. It may look like an MPV, but it drives like a car handling well under most conditions. Narrower than most family estates, it is relatively easy to manoeuvre.

The 2.0 engine is remarkably nippy, equipment levels are good and although the seating is not as flexible as other MPVs, it still offers tons of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

22nd Jun 2001, 01:40

I have owned and driven, a huge variety of cars over a period of 30 years or so. I now own a Toyota Picnic and love it. The comfortable ride outstrips, most including the Jeep, Vitaras, etc. I find the power brilliant when required and the petrol consumption very pleasing. There's loads of room, and the height makes it easy on my stiff back. My next car is definitely going to be the same.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews