1994 Toyota Picnic LX 2.4 from North America

Summary:

The best of the best

General Comments:

15 years and still like new. Paint, interior, transmission, engine, suspension and any fanny noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2009

1996 Toyota Picnic S - Ipsum 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

The Toyota's strength is its marvellous versatility!

Faults:

Nothing has broken down. Automatic gear quadrant lights intermittent; drive indicator light not going. Park brake light comes on when accelerating, goes off when desired speed reached. Recent service showed a loose air-con drive belt. One tyre replaced due to front wheels misaligned when car purchased.

General Comments:

The Toyota Picnic sold in New Zealand is made in Japan under the model name "Ipsum". The S version has twin sunroofs, alloy wheels, ABS, twin airbags, air-con and generally upmarket ambience's of metallic exterior and veluer interior. The vehicle is exceptionally quiet on the road with a high degree of comfort. Economy from the 2 litre Rav 4 motor is excellent with 32mpg city and 38mpg touring. Handling is of a 'laid-back' nature and suits its design use. Lounging room for five plus an additional rear seat more suited to two children. Seats can be converted to picnic tables or two full length beds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2007

2000 Toyota Picnic GLS 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Absolutely faultless.

Replaced tires at 42000 miles.

Replaced battery at 40000 miles.

General Comments:

The Picnic handles very well.

The Toyota CD player is very good.

Acres of space in the back.

It has now been all around France 3 times with 2 Adults & 2 children, roof box required.

The car is so comfortable over long mileage.

The auto version is a bit heavier on petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2005

1997 Toyota Picnic GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Comfortable, reliable and responsive

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very pleased with every aspect of the Picnic. Very comfortable, responsive and reliable. The boot space when the back 2 seats have been removed is excellent when transporting items of furniture, rubbish to the tip etc. The only problem is lack of boot space when 2 adults and 4 children go on holiday - a roof boot is a must. A small price to pay.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

31st Jul 2006, 19:13

Toyota Picnic... also known as the "Ipsum" in Japan, is as the comments say, a very good versatile workhorse. Not a sports handler, but family-friendly, quiet and smooth. I am getting 29mpg most of the time, though this falls to 23mpg when towing on open roads. A small trailer assists when taking all the family for a holiday.

14th Nov 2006, 19:19

I bought a 1996 Ipsum 6 months back. It is a great car. My children love it, as it has a good seating view.

Engine is nippy, though lags in acceleration, but can't complain for a 2.0 litre 7 seater. Very comfortable cruising on full load.

6th Dec 2006, 20:24

I think my toyota Ipsum is really a very good car. It is the best Mid-Size MPV I have used. So far after 8 years, I do not encounter any problem with my car. I love it and I think all of you can look and try this car. It is really good and spacious. For people with a few family members, it is recommended.

1992 Toyota Picnic LE 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Top Shelf

Faults:

Nothing to comment on.

General Comments:

The Previa is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned.

I would recommend the Toyota Previa as a reliable family vehicle.

I sell Toyota vehicles for a living and prefer my old van to the new 2004.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

2001 Toyota Picnic GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Probably the best MPV for the money ever

Faults:

As with previous Picnic the Fuel Gauge is, to say the least, temperamental.

Apart from this nothing has gone wrong at all, which is fantastic as this vehicle does approximately 30,000 miles per year on the motorway at speed, usually with 4 or 5 adults.

Radio is ample, but not brilliant.

General Comments:

A spectacularly fast MPV, fun to drive, comfortable, reliable, unfortunately has one hell of a stupid name.

I would recommend this vehicle to anyone, it may not have the flexibility of some of the more expensive in its class, but it definitely worth a try.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

15th Jul 2004, 12:43

Good basic review.

Indeed the name is the only real problem.

Bought a new one in 1999 (6-seater/automatic + cruise-control), still drive it.

No technical failures or repairs until now.

Runs like new, very smooth. Most comfortable car I rode. Hope to keep it another 5 years.