1985 Yugo 45 Zastava 903cc

Summary:

Good if you are on a budget

Faults:

Rust on doors and inner wings.

Front wheel bearings.

Bad paint.

General Comments:

Very good cheap car, not quite as much fun to drive as the panda, but more comfortable. Dash board and heater were very old fashioned. It finally died in a crash, I came out of it un hurt. If they came back to the UK with a few updates I would consider another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2007

1988 Yugo 45 A 0.9 petrol

Summary:

Too obscene to say on a public website!

Faults:

It would be quicker to explain what didn't go wrong! This said, it later came to light that the car had been used by a dealer as a courtesy car - maybe this review reflects the quality of the (now defunct) dealership from which the car was purchased.

Wheel bearings needed replacing after about 2500 miles.

Clutch went after about 5000 miles.

Major rust problems on the sills.

Driver's window fell out!!!

Lots of electrical gremlins.

Eventually the piston rings gave up, the engine burnt ridiculous amounts of oil and the car was sent to the scrapheap.

General Comments:

This car handles like a house brick on an ice rink - the highish centre of gravity coupled with poor suspension results in shock if you try to corner at a speed which would be considered reasonable in any other car.

For a car designed as a "shopping trolley" the boot lip is ridiculously high for loading/unloading.

The tank-like build wrote off a Ford Escort with only bumper damage to the Yugo - however this lack of any crumple zones would be disastrous in a motorway pile-up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2001

4th Aug 2002, 11:32

Amen to that!

5th Aug 2002, 15:57

No offense mate, but you did buy a Yugo. It's hardly going to handle like a rally car.

5th Jan 2003, 07:21

I drove one for a year it was utter crap. I was given it for free though so that was the best thing about it!

It was so bad you can actually change gear without the clutch.:)

14th Mar 2005, 10:51

What is the name of that club and where is it?

8th Aug 2005, 17:50

But placing a Lancia lump in it isn't the same as driving a Yugo. No offence, but I have driven rear-engined skodas, and driven them hard, and they handle.

I could put a 5-litre engine and decent springs on a Land Rover 109 and say that it was a sporty little number.

28th Mar 2006, 19:13

Alright already, You're talking about a Yugo, not a Porsche! The car was never intended to do what you complain about! I love mine and I wouldn't trade for anything! The looks and such people give you when you drive or stop at fueling is priceless. I also own some very hot cars including a 928, but receive far more enjoyment going to car shows with my YUGO. Thks, Bro.

1st Nov 2008, 17:23

"It was so bad you can actually change gear without the clutch.:) "

A competent driver can change gear without a clutch anyway!

Since I wrote this review I am older and wiser and am now seriously considering buying one of these quirky but charming cars again.

30th Jan 2010, 16:51

I would say if you can change gear without the clutch, it just shows how good the synchro is in the gearbox.

1990 Yugo 45 A 0.9

Summary:

A cheap but good car

Faults:

The rocker cover gasket seal went and was only £2.54 to replace. Other than that, there is nothing else wrong.

General Comments:

This car is very good and cheap, my car has not a single spot of rust and it is very comfortable. I do not see how people can think that these are bad cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

1989 Yugo 45 Power 1.3 petrol

Summary:

A free high performance car

Faults:

Petrol pump.

General Comments:

I have had two more Yugos before this one. I have got to say the second Yugo was a bit rusty, but still they are very strong cars.

As I have said, the only thing that has gone wrong is the fuel pump, but that is not bad for a Yugo.

We are going to put a 1500cc engine in the car, and that is out of a Fiat, that will give us a bit more power.

And if you think that Yugos are not very good, then think they are just Fiats!

If you are a Yugo fan, then email me at coolyugo@talk21.com

My website is available at: http://www.jasyugo.homestead.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

4th Aug 2002, 11:31

Why on Earth would you want to have a Yugo anyway? If you have the means, I seriously suggest picking up something better (for your own safety).

2nd Oct 2002, 10:57

Congratulations on your wonderfull Yugo's, I saw your site, you got some great high performance cars there! Cheers.

30th Dec 2002, 16:48

Please refrain from driving or buying any more of these cars I implore you, they are not safe for todays roads. you may think you are clever saving a few quid, but you can't take it with you when you go (no pun intended)

12th Jan 2008, 11:17

If it has a 1.3 litre, it's not a 45; the 45 has the 0.9 litre, and the 55 has the 1.1 litre, and the 65 has the 1.3 litre.

1988 Yugo 45 0.9 petrol

Faults:

Allmost everything, from engine to the seats(!).

General Comments:

Very cheap car, with a lot of repairs, but extremely low-cost (example: for 200$ you can generally repair it). I have driven 200,000 km with it, and have never been left on the road! And every mechanic can do the repair. The consumption of petrol is suitable: 6l per 100 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 1998