Yugo 45 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1985 Yugo 45 0.9 from Greece

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Fulvia

Summary:

It is good for city use, but it is not for trips

Faults:

Many things : head gasket, gearbox, brakes, engine blew at 160.000 km.

General Comments:

It's a cheap, reliable car, with very cheap spare parts.

It is not very fast, but very good for its cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2009

1985 Yugo 45 Zastava 903cc from UK and Ireland

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 903cc Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Good if you are on a budget

Faults:

Rust on doors and inner wings.

Front wheel bearings.

Bad paint.

General Comments:

Very good cheap car, not quite as much fun to drive as the panda, but more comfortable. Dash board and heater were very old fashioned. It finally died in a crash, I came out of it un hurt. If they came back to the UK with a few updates I would consider another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2007

1987 Yugo 45 A 903 ccm from Croatia

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 903 ccm Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired113700 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Best car for the money you will pay for it

Faults:

Main brake cylinder and water pump failed after 114000km

Poor quality electrical system (ventilation is not working), it is sometimes wet inside the trunk. Because of that it is rusty on some places.

It burns a lot of oil.

You can have problems when shifting in the reverse.

General Comments:

Spare parts are easy to get and almost everybody can fix it. Fuel consuption is reasonable (about 8.5L in the city and 6.5 on freeway).

It would be better if it had 5 speed gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

1989 Yugo 45 A 1.0 from Malta

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carHolden Gemini

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

Nothing major has happened to this car, cylinder head was the major component replaced at 120000K.

Window winders and fuel tank replaced.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable car that I have owned. Well done Zastava.

The major plus point of this car is that it was extremely affordable and considering the amount of mileage it has, it's still going strong.

Considering the bad state of the roads in Malta, my Yugo 45A handles them well and has never had the shocks or suspension changed.

Overall, a very reliable car at an affordable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2004

1988 Yugo 45 A 0.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 0.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

Too obscene to say on a public website!

Faults:

It would be quicker to explain what didn't go wrong! This said, it later came to light that the car had been used by a dealer as a courtesy car - maybe this review reflects the quality of the (now defunct) dealership from which the car was purchased.

Wheel bearings needed replacing after about 2500 miles.

Clutch went after about 5000 miles.

Major rust problems on the sills.

Driver's window fell out!!!

Lots of electrical gremlins.

Eventually the piston rings gave up, the engine burnt ridiculous amounts of oil and the car was sent to the scrapheap.

General Comments:

This car handles like a house brick on an ice rink - the highish centre of gravity coupled with poor suspension results in shock if you try to corner at a speed which would be considered reasonable in any other car.

For a car designed as a "shopping trolley" the boot lip is ridiculously high for loading/unloading.

The tank-like build wrote off a Ford Escort with only bumper damage to the Yugo - however this lack of any crumple zones would be disastrous in a motorway pile-up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2001

5th Aug 2002, 15:57

No offense mate, but you did buy a Yugo. It's hardly going to handle like a rally car.

5th Jan 2003, 07:21

I drove one for a year it was utter crap. I was given it for free though so that was the best thing about it!

It was so bad you can actually change gear without the clutch.:)

14th Mar 2005, 10:51

What is the name of that club and where is it?

8th Aug 2005, 17:50

But placing a Lancia lump in it isn't the same as driving a Yugo. No offence, but I have driven rear-engined skodas, and driven them hard, and they handle.

I could put a 5-litre engine and decent springs on a Land Rover 109 and say that it was a sporty little number.

28th Mar 2006, 19:13

Alright already, You're talking about a Yugo, not a Porsche! The car was never intended to do what you complain about! I love mine and I wouldn't trade for anything! The looks and such people give you when you drive or stop at fueling is priceless. I also own some very hot cars including a 928, but receive far more enjoyment going to car shows with my YUGO. Thks, Bro.

1st Nov 2008, 17:23

"It was so bad you can actually change gear without the clutch.:) "

A competent driver can change gear without a clutch anyway!

Since I wrote this review I am older and wiser and am now seriously considering buying one of these quirky but charming cars again.

30th Jan 2010, 16:51

I would say if you can change gear without the clutch, it just shows how good the synchro is in the gearbox.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews