Yugo 45 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Yugo 45 A 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance10345 miles

Summary:

A cheap but good car

Faults:

The rocker cover gasket seal went and was only £2.54 to replace. Other than that, there is nothing else wrong.

General Comments:

This car is very good and cheap, my car has not a single spot of rust and it is very comfortable. I do not see how people can think that these are bad cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

1990 Yugo 45 0.9 from Greece

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A wild small tank..

Faults:

Bad suspension, low performance, engine noises, small trunk, very sensitive seats (like a Jeep), general noises (from screws & trunk), mechanical & electrical problems like an Italian car. The Yugo 45 is a Fiat 128 with a new face...

General Comments:

Small nice car, cheap & not expensive! Best choice for cities with roads or not roads! (like Athens - Greece).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2001

1989 Yugo 45 Power 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

A free high performance car

Faults:

Petrol pump.

General Comments:

I have had two more Yugos before this one. I have got to say the second Yugo was a bit rusty, but still they are very strong cars.

As I have said, the only thing that has gone wrong is the fuel pump, but that is not bad for a Yugo.

We are going to put a 1500cc engine in the car, and that is out of a Fiat, that will give us a bit more power.

And if you think that Yugos are not very good, then think they are just Fiats!

If you are a Yugo fan, then email me at coolyugo@talk21.com

My website is available at: http://www.jasyugo.homestead.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

4th Aug 2002, 11:31

Why on Earth would you want to have a Yugo anyway? If you have the means, I seriously suggest picking up something better (for your own safety).

2nd Oct 2002, 10:57

Congratulations on your wonderfull Yugo's, I saw your site, you got some great high performance cars there! Cheers.

30th Dec 2002, 16:48

Please refrain from driving or buying any more of these cars I implore you, they are not safe for todays roads. you may think you are clever saving a few quid, but you can't take it with you when you go (no pun intended)

12th Jan 2008, 11:17

If it has a 1.3 litre, it's not a 45; the 45 has the 0.9 litre, and the 55 has the 1.1 litre, and the 65 has the 1.3 litre.

1985 Yugo 45 0.9 petrol from Greece

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen GSX

Faults:

Almost everything.

General Comments:

Low priced but very low quality car. Isn't even worth it as a cheap, second hand car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2000

1986 Yugo 45 0.9 gasoline from Greece

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 0.9 gasoline
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Lights, accelerator pedal, direction system, ignition system, generally many things, radiator, but for a 15 year old car they aren't so many. And the good thing is that anyone can repair it and with little money!

General Comments:

Not so bad for the city, plenty of acceleration from 0 to 40 km's, the direction system is not good enough but the braking on the other hand is not bad. It has never left me due to engine problems (only over heating problem). It is a car from another era so that's why I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2000

1988 Yugo 45 0.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 0.9 petrol
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10

Faults:

Allmost everything, from engine to the seats(!).

General Comments:

Very cheap car, with a lot of repairs, but extremely low-cost (example: for 200$ you can generally repair it). I have driven 200,000 km with it, and have never been left on the road! And every mechanic can do the repair. The consumption of petrol is suitable: 6l per 100 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 1998

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews