1997 Acura 1.6 EL Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1997 Acura 1.6 EL Sport 1.6L VTEC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6L VTEC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Reliable!!!

Faults:

Timing belt had to be replaced at 150 000 km.

Driver's side headlight had condensation build up since I owned it.

Started burning way more oil just recently.

Replaced wheel bearings at 170 000 km (had to do it twice because I ordered the wrong ones!)

Catalytic converter rubber gasket needed to be replaced at 165 000 km.

General Comments:

This car has proven to be quite a deal.

I bought it for under $6500 and it has done more than just getting me around. It is a way better car than the Volkswagen Golf I used to own. (It lit on fire. No joke. That's how I was able to get this car.)

I'm a kid with a heavy foot and I realized right away that it has little power, but I love the response of the V-TEC once it hits 5000 RPM.

I have double clutched with this car very often amd the transmission feels as firm as the day I bought the car. This thing outruns most civics easy and has good jump off the line.

I learned how to drive manual way better with this car because the transmission and clutch are more sensitive than most other cars so I got a good feedback.

I drive this car hard most of the time and the only setback was the front wheel bearings.

The stock handling in this thing is great. Rev-matching around corners, especially off ramps, is tons of fun.

This car is a great car to learn to drive with. I think I'm ready to move on to something with a little more kick and more aftermarket base like an Integra.

A lot of people complained about uncomfortable interior, but I liked it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 18:18

How much extra did you pay to get the Acura badge on the hood of that Civic?

3rd Nov 2005, 21:00

And not to mention, the leather interior too :)

10th Nov 2005, 10:14

The car is actually made in 1996, making the model a 1997 so what are you talking about?

1997 Acura 1.6 EL EL premium 1.6 vtec from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 vtec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This car drives and handles awesome

Faults:

After putting on over 140,000kms on my Acura 1.6 EL, I cannot find anything Wrong with this car. It has been one solid car.

General Comments:

The thing that I would like to change about my Acura 1.6 EL is the tire size. The 195/55/15's are really expensive. I recently had to buy new tires (after 160,000kms. on the original) and I thought that it would be nice to change the rim size to 16's, maybe a 205/60/16.They would be cheaper because of the profile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2004

1997 Acura 1.6 EL Sport 1.6 litre VTEC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre VTEC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120127 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Dependable, dependable dependable

Faults:

The cup holders suck. rating -10 out of 10. My friend's pop spilled all over the front seat on the first day I had the car because these holders are worthless.

The speakers went after the first year and were replaced on warranty. (I rarely used the stereo and never had the volume up past 1/4)

The original tires that came with the car were terrible in the rain and wore out after 60000 km (Michelin's). I replaced them with cheaper radials from Cost-co and now they are fine.

The driver's side automatic window was V E R Y slow to open/close. The dealer blamed it on a lubrication problem, but the problem was occasional and got really bad after the warranty expired.

The automatic lock on the driver's side door, broke in the 3rd year after the warranty expired. $300 to fix the actuator (spelling?) (including fixing the window issue).

The windows fog up easily on the sides and do not defog very quickly even with the fan blowing at full.

General Comments:

This car is very dependable.

It's alright on acceleration and excellent on fuel. I get about 14 km / litre in the city.

The car is a tiny bit lacking in horsepower at times, but if you're not a teenager with a lead foot this won't matter.

The seats are comfortable for everyday use, but not for long trips. Sleeping in them is like sleeping on an old wooden chair.

At 120, 000 km, 7 years later... I still haven't had to replace my brake pads, clutch or the battery! (front pads have 20% left still)

The dealerships aren't cheap. Some of them add up to $800+. The routine maintenance schedule includes useless and costly things like their 101 point checks..., but then again, all dealerships regardless of Make try doing this Jedi mind trick on people. Just make sure the oil changes are done on time.

Service at dealerships is hit and miss. Some give great customer service other ones are mediocre at best.

Overall a great car. If you can pick up a used one that's been properly maintained, I'd definitely go for it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2004

17th Apr 2006, 20:47

That is no friend, no one eats in my cars.

11th Aug 2008, 13:12

Thanks for your info, I think I'll buy this one for sure tomorrow!!!

25th Oct 2008, 18:24

I think this is a very accurate review. Both the good points and bad are consistent with my EL.

2nd Apr 2011, 23:55

14 liters / km is brutal fuel economy...

3rd Mar 2014, 01:32

It's 14 KM per LITRE... that's like 7 litres per 100 KM, which is over 30 MPG.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews