1997 Acura CL 2.2 2.2 from North America


Great car, cheap and fast


The only things that have gone wrong this year are both window motors on the driver and passenger side. This is okay though, because this is a known problem on these cars.

Other than that, the car is extremely reliable.

General Comments:

This car is great. At 149k miles, it still runs like a champ.

The 2.2 liter, inline-four VTEC engine is extremely reliable and fast.

Transmission is very reliable, although I would complain about the VERY hard shifts. But, this is another problem on these cars, it was resolved on the 3.0 model, but Acura never released a fix for the 2.2.

Leather is still in great condition considering it is never really taken care of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

1997 Acura CL 2.2 from North America


It's a reliable car, but costly to maintain


I purchased a used 1997 Acura CL 2.2 in 2002. I wish the car had more power during acceleration.

I have had problems with the air conditioner failing twice in the past year.

There has been water leaking from under the passenger dash which ruined the carpet.

My driver side window motor had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I agree with the others about the window motor needing to be recalled. I take very good care of my car, but it seems like since I purchased it there has been one minor, but costly thing after another.

The car rides smoother than any other two door car I have had in the past.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st February, 2005

28th Sep 2006, 11:02

I agree about the window motor that need to be recalled. I had 97 Accord EX with same motor and have to replace it when it was only 40K miles. Then I got this 97 2.2 CL, and I have to replace the same motor (driver side) at 95K miles.

The reason for replacement is the same, the plastic part that holds the wire was broken. This things are cheaply made, very disappointing.

1997 Acura CL 2.2 2.2 Vtec from North America


A very nice car that has a good blend of luxury and performance


The Daytime running lights ( stopped working while driving for about 15 minutes and then came back on randomly. This has happened about 5 times now.

Also the remote entry mode sometimes does not work.

General Comments:

It is a very smooth ride and has a quiet interior.

The leather is of good quality and is supportive.

The 5 speed manual mated to the 2.2 Vtec engine is the best way to get maximum torque and performance. There is some torque steer if you push the car too hard.

ABS seems to be a little sensitive. It will acitivite when it's not really necessary.

Homely looking alloy wheels.

There is now rear folding seats, just a pass through for skis.

The turning radius is way too big. It makes this car somewhat unmanuverable.

This car is best viewed from the back. Very sport and stylish, however the same cannot be said for the front end.

It has a flimsy "scooter" like sounding horn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

1997 Acura CL from North America


Ignition control switch failed--factory warranty--only after I had a wreck in park and appealed to the national company, did it honor my request. found the recall on internet.

Electronic switch on window failed at approx. 90,000 miles. is currently ailing after a 300 $ "fix".

General Comments:

Nice ride, but finicky in it's electronic controls; engine warning light appears without major problems in engine performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th October, 2004

1997 Acura CL 3.0 6 cylinder from North America


Usually reliable


My passenger side window has fallen, the CD player will not play, but the radio does work.

General Comments:

The only service I usually get done is an oil change, so I feel this car is usually reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

1997 Acura CL 2.2 gas from North America


The car handles well, is economical, comfortable and is nice looking

General Comments:

Having trouble with shifting into 5th gear. Sounds as if not depressing the clutch when shifting into 5th gear. Dealer is recommends replacing Clutch master and slave cylinder (what ever these are) for $ 420.00. This seems to me to be an unusual repair.

Road noise seems excessive, have been told that noise is caused by low profile tires. Have received a recommendation to replace tires with Michelin. Hope this does the trick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

30th Jul 2005, 23:55

It is not unusual for a car with a hydraulic clutch.