1997 Acura CL Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1997 Acura CL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carAcura cl

Faults:

Drivers window just went out on me today. use to have problems with the check engine light coming on (after it was repaired), but no longer a problem.

General Comments:

Car still rides and handles like a new car. at 90K still smooth solid and extremely fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

1997 Acura CL Premium 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I hate this car!!!

Faults:

Bought car new. Had more squeaks and rattles than you can possibly imagine from day 1. This problem has plagued the car throughout its life.

Replaced engine fan at 70,000 miles.

Replaced brake master cylinder at 75,000 miles.

Replaced transmission at 85,000 miles.

Replaced transmission again at 104,000 miles.

General Comments:

Worst initial quality of any car I have ever owned.

Was quite reliable until 70,000 - then the car started to fall apart.

Interior has held up very well.

Thin sheet metal - very easy to get dings and dents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

17th Jul 2004, 02:04

My transmission and ABS pump went at 86,000...front hubs too... power seat motor went too..$1000 to fix that.. window motor went on driver side. passenger side window motor on its way out... also BOSE CD player stopped working also... all of these problems the dealers only solution was to replace the VERY expensive parts.

1997 Acura CL 2.2 V TEC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 V TEC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66300 miles
Most recent distance66300 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A must buy! actually don't buy, I want to be the only one who owns one

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the car, but it does appear to need new brake pads and rotors. Also needs Shocks and Struts.

General Comments:

I love the interior of the CL, its fully loaded w/leather interior power everything, digital displays, except for the dash board. It is a lovely car to view because it has a new millenium look, espacially in Black.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

1997 Acura CL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Better than most cars on the market and fun, but too expensive

Faults:

Check engine light has come on and have been told it is the EGR valve that needs replacing though I have not done so yet. It came on at about 70,000 miles.

Starter died on me suddenly at about 68,000 miles. Thankfully I was almost home since it would not turn over or make any sound when I got back into the car. Had to be pushed to the house.

Passenger power window died due to a piece of plastic breaking that controls the up down mechanism. I could make it go down, but not up. Cost to fix was the entire motor and bar etc. About 75,000 miles.

Warped rotors are making the car shake. It was super smooth when I bought it and is likely my driving and some of the roads I had to drive on. Not been fixed yet. Started at about 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has a poor turn radius so getting into and out of a parking spot can be difficult. I hear that Acura fixed this since the 1997 was made.

Overall I love the power and the comfort.

I love the way it looks.

It hugs the ground on curvy roads.

It is fun to drive.

It is a disappointment over my previous car. A 1988 Acura Integra. I had that car also used from 1995 to 2000 and never replaced a single thing in the car. It was 12 years old when the driver door handle broke off in my hands. Everything else was a little wear and tear. The cost was also over double to buy the CL from the Integra. I paid 18K for the CL and 8K for the Integra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2003

1997 Acura CL from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carAcura Honda Prelude

Faults:

The Power Windows on this vehicle fail about every 33,000 miles. I have replaced the regulator and/or the motor in my driver's side window twice and the passenger side window once, within 101,000 miles. The dealer charges an outrageous $290.00 US dollars for this service. Acura has never issued a recall on this defect. I consider this a factory defect, because unlike brakes, tires, belts, etc. this is not a part that should fail as often as it does. This is the only vehicle I have ever owned whereas I have had to replace the power window mechanism three times within 5 years. I have the vehicle serviced regularly as preventive maintenance, but that is expensive as well. The dealer charges from $525.00- $1000.00 for the scheduled services, but that is for checking many items, not repair or replace. If indeed an item needs repair or replace there is an additional fee for such. I think the service cost is as expensive as the service on a Mercedes Benz. The car is comfortable, and stylish, but the service cost, and amount of money I have put into replacing a factory defect; which I will have to continue to replace as long as I have the car, is unreal. Also if you ever take the car to service anywhere, but an Acura dealership, it voids the warranty.

General Comments:

This car is Comfortable, and stylish, but the power windows are defective. I have replaced my power window mechanism which is the regulator, and the motor every 33,000 miles. I cost of this is $290.00 plus tax each time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

17th Oct 2003, 09:10

I have a '97 3.0 CL which is now going on it's second power window failure in less than a year at a cost of $300+ per repair. In my opinion this is a factory defect and should be addressed by Acura.

22nd Dec 2003, 07:42

1997 Acura 3.0.

Same here. Both Power Windows have failed in the last year.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 23 reviews