1999 Acura CL Reviews

1999 Acura CL Premium 2.3 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Reliable FWD version of a BMW

Faults:

Owned it for 3 months and put 9k miles on it, so I'll be back updating as long as I keep the car.

- Passenger side window motor blew "recall", free at the dealership

General Comments:

It's better built than a Honda, feels like it and looks like it.

One of the best suspensions Honda made, very stable and performs like a BMW. Beware that it's very stiff and uncomfortable in the city.

Has the same 2.3 engine as the Accord, but it's better tuned for performance. A V6 is a great performer on those cars, but it only comes with 4 speed automatic that's not sporty and fails every 25000 miles!

Gear shifts are smoother than the Accord, even though they share the same manual transmission.

Decent space in the back and the trunk; the same year Accord is bigger though.

Same MPG figures as the Accord: 21/29 official, and 25/35 is what I get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2013

20th May 2013, 02:28

UPDATE: Rear brake caliper was leaking, changed $75 part.

Mileage now 158000.

31st Jul 2013, 00:11

UPDATE: 163k, had no problems, sold the car, got another Accord :D

31st Jul 2013, 16:29

Doesn't handle like a BMW at high speed with FWD. I had the TL Type S.

1999 Acura CL 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Pretty good, other than the transmission problem

Faults:

Since it has gotten cold outside, the transmission is going bad. It doesn't want to shift out of first, and when it finally does, it neutrals for about 3 seconds, then jerks into second. Then jerks into third. Fourth gear is soft, and as it is supposed to be.

Most of the button lights in the interior have burnt out, but they are going to be replaced soon with LEDs.

General Comments:

Overall, I am very happy with the car. The unfortunate part is that I will have to have my transmission rebuilt soon. Many people have this problem from what I have read up on www.acura-cl.com, which is a forum for these cars and many other Acura's.

But other than the transmission, it handles well, and I was not too worried about the car always taking me places. It never left me stranded, and gets decent gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

29th Dec 2005, 09:56

Thank you for this review. I just replaced the transmission on my 99 CL... Acura paid for the part, I paid for the labor. Since this was a know issue wonder why Acuda did not pay for total fee. Will never purchase a Honda product again!! Very disappointed in customer service.. have totally lost faith in this company.

22nd Jun 2007, 02:22

I have a 99 3.0 cl 103,000 miles no trany problems.

21st Nov 2010, 12:18

Purchased a 99 3.0CL with 60K miles a few days ago. Honda had a transmission problem which may affect the car, so I am being very pro-active: changing ATF fluid at intervals three times with Honda fluid, adding ATF radiator, and if I can afford it, will have the transmission inspected. Honda spokesman said in LA Times article that the four-speed tranny may have a bad bearing, which caused metal particles to clog passages, leading to failure.

1999 Acura CL 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Worth the wait when looking for the 1999

Faults:

The service light does go on and off - started at 99,000 miles.

General Comments:

Rides great - looks beautiful.

I love the radio/CD controls on the steering wheel.

Accelerates quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2005

27th Jul 2009, 15:51

Yes, this is all true, except the service light on and off.

We didn't have that problem.

27th Jul 2009, 23:38

This vehicle is absolutely under-rated. I have just bought this car and fell in love with it instantly. Driving in this car is the most comfortable ride I've ever felt. Overall, this car is an awesome car.

1999 Acura CL 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Caravelle

Summary:

A classy and sporty car!

Faults:

The check engine light started to come on at about 85000 miles. The car runs fine and the light will go off at times, but then came back on - so who knows.

The heating and cooling system is stuck on air conditioning at the moment and doesn't change to heat even if you crank it up to 90 degrees (it is all digital).

Even though the tires are in perfect alignment they continue to wear horribly on the inside rear tires... the tire dealership says this is due to it being a high performance car and so it is manufactured with the toe in a slight bit more, causing the tires to wear out quickly. I am currently on my 3rd set of tires in 2 years of owning the vehicle.

General Comments:

I love how the car drives and how luxurious the inside is. I also LOVE the heated seats!

It has great pick up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2004

30th Sep 2004, 08:57

I love my 1999 3.0 CL. However, the ABS light goes on and off and I can't understand why.

Average review marks: 9.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews