1996 Acura Integra GS-R 1.8 VTEC from North America


Reliable sporty daily transportation


Brakes had to be replaced, including front rotors at 30,000 miles.

The car comes standard with a full stainless steel exhaust system. There is a flexible stainless pipe that cracked coming off the engine that needed to be replaced at about 40,000 miles. The cover over the catalytic converter came loose and is rattling, possibly I hit something.

The salesperson never told me about the 15,000 mile valve adjustments that require the car in the shop for a day and cost several hundred dollars.

Original equipment tires worked good for 5,000 miles.

Excessive amount of door dings, sheet metal seems thin and easily dented.

General Comments:

Few problems for a car 6 years old.

Excellent pickup and great gas mileage all from a four cylinder.

I use Pirelli P7000 in the summer and Michelin Pilot Alpin's in the winter for excellent traction and performance year-round.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

13th Mar 2004, 16:59

About the 15,000 mile thing that puts the check engine light on is there anyway to reset that? That would be a lot cheaper and easier than having to go to the dealership?

16th Apr 2004, 19:05

I love my GSR, but have had problems with the clutch - replaced x2 and now the master cylinder (again). Car is a 96 with 80k on it. Also, the radiator "wore out" at 60k. For such a fun car to drive, these things have sure been a hassle.

9th Dec 2005, 16:17

Had identical problems with the clutch, master cylinder, and radiator. HOWEVER, I have never put brakes on it and it has 94k on it. It runs like a top and it's fun to drive. The car has never stranded me. The only major complaint I have is that it's "door-ding city" given the way the side panels are designed. Anyway, I'll keep it until it dies.

1996 Acura Integra SE from North America


A Fast Performer With Lots of Annoyances


After 7 experts and dealers looking at car, it finally got diagnosed as having a bad differential carrier in the transmission at only 71,000 miles.

Also, car rattles like crazy all over the place, very rattly body.

Leather seats are hardened and chapped. So hard your butt kills when you're in it for an hour or longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2002

23rd Nov 2004, 21:33

I personally think you just got a lemon or a Friday car. That's really too bad because this is really a sweet little car to zip around in.

1996 Acura Integra from North America


Most enjoyable car I've owned


Timing belt recommended for replacement at 90,000 miles, even though I have noticed nothing wrong. Very expensive repair.

General Comments:

Excellent handling.

Tight steering.

Seat comfortable for me.

Surprising amount of cargo storage with back seats down.

Good visibility.

Black interior heats up too much.

I don't like that the timing belt is recommended to be replaced at 90,000. Very expensive repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2002

1996 Acura Integra RS 1.8 from North America


The most fun I've had in a daily driver!


The radio display is intermittent.

The starter solenoid very gradually went out.

Brakes squeal.

General Comments:

A comfortable exhilarating ride. Lots of fun to handle, very quick on terms.

The temperature controls can be cumbersome.

Sometimes has a bumpy and loud ride, yet I wouldn't consider any other car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

1996 Acura Integra LS 1.8 from North America


My rotors are warping at 44,000 miles, my power windows are starting to die, the arm rest on the door wrinkled up, my valve cover gasket leaked at 40,000 and needed to be replaced along with the oil pan gasket, my rear shocks needed to be replaced at 40,000, my rear motor mount needed to be replaced at 40,000, and my control arm disks in the rear needed to be replaced at 40,000.

General Comments:

Other than these problems, I love the car and would buy another one any day. Most of the problems I have are common problems with the car that many people have had. But you will see things like that with all cars. I had a Ford before buying my Acura, and I would never buy another Ford, but I would buy another Acura in a minute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2000