1997 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1997 Acura Integra LS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance84900 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Excellent performance and quality in an affordable package

Faults:

Had to replace the muffler; it cracked at the input flange. Replaced front brake pads and rotors recently. I would consider this a normal wear and tear item.

General Comments:

This by far has been the best car that I've owned. The only complaints that I've had with the car: the temp control for the heater was sticky, and when the car was cold, the auto-trans tended to hunt between gears. Once it warmed up, the problem went away. This car has plenty of zip. Excellent fuel mileage (about 31 mpg).

Sadly, the safety features of the car were put to the test last week. My daughter was in a "T-bone" accident that totaled the car. Both air bags deployed. None of the passengers were injured, and the Acura held up well considering the severity of the collision. I am planning to buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

1997 Acura Integra LS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A great car that is a value for your investment

Faults:

Nothing other than normal wear and tear. I do complete teh regular services at the dealer.

General Comments:

Suspension is generally very hard, but the car has worked like a charm for the last 6 years that I have owned. I plan to keep it at least for another 5 years!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

1997 Acura Integra RS 1.8L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles

Summary:

Good little car with great handling

Faults:

Radiator cracked and had to be replaced at 65K miles due to a faulty thermostat. It was about $500 to repair.

Power Antenna jammed at 60K miles. I chose not to replace it and instead opened it and removed the plastic cable connecting it to the motor. The antenna goes up and down, but you have to push it manually with your hand.

General Comments:

Car has been quite reliable, but the check engine lamp does turn and give false readings.

Michelin Pilot tires are great for this car.

Good little car with great handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

1997 Acura Integra GS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

The price tag is a little high, but the quality is well worth it

Faults:

The only major thing that has went bad on the car is the clutch. This was a result in using nitrous oxide with a stock unit with 65,000 miles on it.

General Comments:

The car is quick for a non turbo 4 cylinder application.

I chose the LS over the GS-R because it has more bottom end torque. This will be a better start to the addition of a turbo.

The interior is very comfortable and the accessories are easy to reach. The shifter is perfect and you don't have to lean to reach it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

1997 Acura Integra RS B18B2 1.8L Non VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission B18B2 1.8L Non VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Although it is fairly pricey in its range, still a great car for the money

Faults:

Noise in the dashboard.

Squeaks in the driver seat seatbelt socket.

OEM tires build up cracks after 4 years.

Windshield washer fluid nozzle get clogged.

General Comments:

It is very reliable compare to my Corolla, and I have not yet found a major problem in the car.

However, transmission does not response as smooth as others out there and I would recommend a manual transmission instead.

Make sure you get good tires to go with this car, I couldn't believe it makes such a difference in terms of performance and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2002

1997 Acura Integra LS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

I love this car!

Faults:

My sunroof started to shake when opened at around 80,000 miles. It needed to be greased.

General Comments:

This is a lot of car for the money.

It really holds its value.

The car is sporty, quick and dependable.

It's small, but it's a sports car, isn't it?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

1997 Acura Integra v-tec 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carPorsche 914

Summary:

The wanna-be fast and the not so furious

Faults:

Distributor went out shortly after purchase. Overheating problems. Clutch problems along with transmission. CV joints. I think the engine has just about had all the abuse it can handle.

General Comments:

I got this car as a Graduation gift from my Parents. A boy racer dream car. Toys R Us should sell these.

V-tech engine is willing and screams to redline, but the car is too flimsy to take any kind of real abuse.

GT car wanna be. Underneath it all a sporty looking Accord.

I'll take my Porsche to the track and let mom use the V-tech to get the groceries.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

25th May 2002, 19:52

If you were looking for a fast Acura, you should have looked for a Type R. Put about 5k into these cars, and you will be smoking most cars on the road.

24th Jun 2002, 16:20

You went from a Porsche to an Integra (a graduation gift car that was lesser than your previous)? No wonder you were disappointed.

27th Sep 2004, 08:22

Is there an actual Integra V-Tech motor? Please let me know if possible.

29th May 2005, 22:47

It seems to me that you aren't very happy with a gift that you didn't even have to pay for. Maybe if you had to work for it you might think about it differently.

16th Jul 2005, 00:08

It's actually built on the civic frame not the accord.

1st Nov 2005, 16:16

Are you saying that you have a V-tech phone in your car. Dude take a look at your car, you will find out that it's a vtec. And hey integras are not suppose to be race cars. Its not even rated as sport coupe, it's a high end compact car.

21st May 2007, 13:17

Another case of some kid ruining a perfectly good Honda product by trying to turn it into a drag racer.

It's so sad. It makes it increasingly difficult for people like me who are looking for a reliable older Honda to use the way they were meant to be used - as reliable, economical transportation.

Seriously. This is supposed to be a commuter car with a little bit of a fun to drive sporty edge. It's not for racing. Sigh.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews