1993 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Acura Legend LS 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

A very fast reliable car

Faults:

The radiator was replaced around 90,000 miles.

Leather in the driver's seat is worn. All other seats look brand new.

Replaced regulators and motors in all doors.

Replaced the temperature gauge at 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is quick for being a big family sedan.

This is my second Legend I've owned, and will always buy Acura for the rest of my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2003

1993 Acura Legend LS 4 -Door from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carAcura Eclipse GST

Faults:

Minor things have gone wrong with this car. The fuses on the electric windows have been replaced. A new battery and a water pump were just replaced within the last year. The driver seat is starting to show a little wear, but it still looks great for 118,000 miles! I don't think this car will ever die!

General Comments:

I love this car and I'm having a difficult time getting ready to sell it for a sports car. My Legend has been awesome and I have had so many compliments on how great it looks. The Momo wheels are gorgeous as well.

The car was just painted last year at 110,000 miles. I put in a six disk cd-player a couple of years ago. My Legend has a spoiler, electric seats, seat warmers, moonroof, leather seats, lighted floor board interior dimed lighting and a great Bose stereo.

My car is black with tan interior and it's wonderful! If they made more of them I would buy another one after the sports car that I want. Acura sure did make a great car, buy in my past experiences they always have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

1993 Acura Legend LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance221000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

It has been a great car

Faults:

Radiator replaced by dealer at 60,000 miles (no charge, defect noticed by dealer).

Antenna mast replaced at 48,000 and 215,000 miles.

Transmission mount replaced at 180,000 miles.

Drivers master window switch replaced at 180,000 miles.

Ignition switch replaced at 195,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very reliable car. Has no squeaks or rattles at 225,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2002

1993 Acura Legend L 3.2L Type II from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2L Type II Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car. Besides small things, such as regular wiper blade changes... some interior light replacements. Regular care, etc...

General Comments:

Drive is perfect.

Powerful and swift engine.

Best interior design.

I honestly believe this car to be amongst the best ever built. Some people say these cars are for people who can't afford a BMW, or Mercedes. I purchased a 525, but loved my Legend more and have given the 525 to my wife. It is truly sad the "Legend" has become the RL. Its sibling cars, the CL and TL, lack the styling of the Legend.

Long live the true Legend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1993 Acura Legend Coupe L 3.2 liter V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 liter V-6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

One of the fuel injector o-rings came off at 80,000 miles, allowing gasoline to be squirted all over the engine. The problem was easily fixed, but could have resulted in an engine fire.

The stereo's factory-installed compact disc changer sometimes stops functioning for a week or so at a time.

The mechanism that presents and retracts the seat belts works only sporadically.

General Comments:

For the most part, I love this car. I coveted this model for quite a while, but it took me over a year to find a 230 horsepower model with a manual transmission. Fortunately, the first one I found suited me perfectly. The car only gets better looking with time, and the interior is a model of ergonomic excellence. Moreover, the driver enjoys a panoramic view of the road thanks to the deceptively steeply sloping hood.

The only downside, which I'm surprised no one else has failed to mention, is the lack of cup holders -- a serious flaw particularly in a car with manual transmission. What's more, the dash and door designs will not accommodate any of the after-market cup holders I've tried to use. It's maddening. I had no idea this would turn out to be such a problem. Note: the automatic version of the Legend Coupe has a cup holder that springs conveniently from the center armrest, but apparently Honda didn't want to go to the trouble to design an alternate one whose use wouldn't prevent you from reaching the gear shift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2001

23rd Sep 2002, 10:41

I recently purchased a 1993 Acura Legend GS ya know the with the type 2 engine. I em amazed with the features performance and the over all quality of this vehicle. The car is 10 years old and has 106,000 miles on it and it runs like a stallion. I am impressed on how the interior has held up so well over the years. I haven't found a car that can keep up with the raw acceleration and top speed this car has to offer.

11th Nov 2002, 10:56

I have the same model and I found that the cup holder is on the center console.

22nd Apr 2003, 00:54

I bought a '94 L 4 door Sedan about 18 Months ago with 104K miles. Drives, runs, looks wonderful. I got rid of a 3 series BMW that spent a lot of time in the shop for a Legend that is an engineering marvel. No problems. I just wish I had purchased a Legend years ago.

17th Sep 2005, 20:01

I would like to know because I am in the market for a 1993 Acura Legend L Sedan, if the glovebox has a lock on it. If someone figures this out, can you please post it. Thanks in advance.

11th May 2006, 23:18

Hello

I own a '93 L coupe, 6 speed, double black.

I am thrilled there are no cup holders.

This baby is for driving.

If you want to eat and drink in your car get a mini-van!

Tom

Huntington Woods MI.

6th Jul 2008, 03:46

I'm thinking on buying a 93 Acura Legend for 3500. What things should I ask about besides the mileage? Is it worth the price?

1993 Acura Legend LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance81200 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

A luxury liner

Faults:

My window makes a sound when it is going up or down.

General Comments:

OK, I have just bought my dream car. Yes, some may say my dreams are small, but I can tell you I love this car more than my girlfriend.

This vehicle is so well built, the way it works, the interior design, the engine. I could not find a better car with so many options for the price that I liked.

The vehicle looks as if it was just made today. Any one who abuses a Legend should be jailed or punished, this vehicle is still alive and should be treated that way. It was sure a big mistake for Acura/Honda to get rid of this line of cars. OK, I am going to kiss her good night, no not my girl, THE LEGEND.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

21st Jan 2004, 19:43

I agree! My '93LL with 191,000 miles has been reliable from the start. My seats are showing wear and something is wrong with my strut bearings. Besides this, it runs great. If anyone is familiar with the strut problem, please post.

24th Jun 2007, 21:18

I just bought a 94 Legend Ls 2 door with 6 speed trans, and the type 2 engine. This car is a rocket, but is is reliable. It only has 115xxx miles on it and seems to run perfect. The interior is a little worn, but can be easily fixed.

1993 Acura Legend L 3.2 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carHonda Legend

Summary:

Best car ever built

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Never have I seen a vehicle with the style, comfort, reliability and power of the Legend. I purchased it previously owned, with 56,000 miles in mint condition. Paint and leather interior are both showroom quality. The engine compartment also appears untouched. It drives better than the RL's and CL's and I plan on having it forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews