2002 Acura RSX Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2002 Acura RSX Premium 2.0 litre 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance8500 kilometres

Summary:

A beautiful looking, fun to drive, reasonably priced car!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great car for the money!

Performance on this model (not Type S) is enough for anyone to appreciate and enjoy.

The real value comes in the options this car comes with: heated leather seats, sunroof, alloy wheels, automatic climate control, etc... for less than you would pay for the equivalently equipped Celica.

Interior and exterior are beautiful... the interior looks especially great with the dash lit up at night.

Seats can be a little uncomfortable after long trips, but what do you expected from firm sport seats.

A highly recommended car... all my friends are jealous!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

1st Jan 2004, 13:27

How did you get heated seats in your RSX? I noticed that you are in kilometers. Does Acura put heated seats in RSXs that go to other countries besides the USA?

28th May 2004, 12:24

Canadian RSX premiums and type s all come with heated front seats... ununderstandably enough...spend a winter here you ll understand.

2002 Acura RSX Premium 2.0L i-VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L i-VTEC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great little fun-mobile

Faults:

Drivers side leather seats started to crack on the side just after a year of ownership. The dealer replaced the covers right away.

It smells bad.

General Comments:

Great little car, peppy, sharp looking both inside and out. It took me a while to get used to revving the engine high for performance. My previous car was north-american...not quite the same :)

My only complaint is that the car smells like rotten eggs. I thought it was only because it was new, but there's over 30,000 Km's on it, and it still smells! It used to be only when the car was idle, but has become more prevalent. I called the dealer, and Honda Canada to get this fixed, and they say there is nothing they can do about it, but try using better gas. They didn't even try anything. So, I've gotten really used to the smell of rotten eggs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

23rd Nov 2003, 15:29

Finally! I'm not the only person who has an RSX that smells like "rotten eggs"...I've taken it to the dealer for the smell and the said to use better gas. Whatever. It still smells terrible, regardless. It is so embarrassing when people ask why your NEW Acura smells the way it does.

2002 Acura RSX 2.0 I-VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 I-VTEC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10100 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

The best front wheel drive car you can buy for the money

Faults:

The cloth on the seats headrest tore from little use and abuse.

The side airbag sensor seems to mess up when a passenger is present.

The car has been very reliable up to this point in its life.

General Comments:

The car is very peppy and also gets good gas mileage even when you are beating the living crap out of it!

The car handles the curves excellent, because of the weight distribution.

The front seats are comfortable for short rides, but the back seats are very cramped for adults.

The chicks will jump in this because of it's styling interior and exterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

2002 Acura RSX from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles

Summary:

Fine if it smelled good

Faults:

My car smells like rotten eggs. I assumed it was the catalytic converter, but they checked it and said it was fine.

I contacted the Service Dept and Acura and they said it was normal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd November, 2002

6th Mar 2003, 20:38

Your RSX is running rich (too much fuel, too little air). Take your car to another dealer for service.

9th Mar 2003, 10:05

Change brand of gas some have more sulfur in than others.

19th Oct 2003, 23:01

I have a 2003 Acura RSX base type and I notice the same pungent odor from the exhaust. Did anyone have any luck with seeing a dealer or changing fuel brand?

2002 Acura RSX Type-S 2.0 Liter, 200HP from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter, 200HP Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Very fast, very clean, very fun!!!

Faults:

White nylon string found dangling from a door panel, a little snip and it pulled itself back into the door.

General Comments:

I purchased this vehicle in Sept. of 2001 with the full ground effects/spoiler package as I feel without them the car looks kind of silly, and with them it gives the vehicle a more aggressive style.

The vehicle accelerates very quickly and at about 5000 RPM the power really kicks in. If there is a downside to this, it is that the drive wheels can break loose easily, which is great if you wanna burn out, not so great if you are trying to get a hole-shot.

The car handles great around town and on the highway, and with the 6-speed transmission it is easy to find yourself running 90-100 MPH with little effort.

The interior noise can be a bit loud under high RPM, but it is a nice throaty sound.

The interior practically wraps itself around you with good side support and average lower back support. There is plenty of leg room for tall people as well, though only small children will be comfortable in the back seat.

The trunk is a very roomy hatchback which was a surprise to me at first, but I have grown to enjoy it. When the rear seats are folded down there is ample room for most anything.

The stereo system comes with a 6CD/Tape player and a nice sub-woofer, and sounds excellent though the sub could use a bit more bass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

19th Mar 2003, 22:16

Umm, I dunno how you compare a RSX to an NSX. I don't own either, but as far as I can tell their pretty unrelated vehicles... with that said, I do think RSX could be a lot better...i'd rather have a Prelude.

31st Mar 2003, 20:37

True that. The RSX will never replace a nice preLude SH or Integra Type R.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 20 reviews